We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Nothing to do :(”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
Hill Country Kodaikanal
Ranked #19 of 81 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed June 10, 2011

Being a club mahindra resort, this place is big, well designed, clean and green, but all these are given for such a property. Since its a little away from th city, it will leave u little choice to do anything outside the resort. The resort has a badminton court, TT table, a few other games and shows a movie every evening on a big screen TV. But despite all that, the place leaves u bored. The food was ok, but again you had no choice but only to eat in since you can't travel to the city, unless you had your own vehicle. Nothing exceptional we experienced here.
We did have a bad experience with th in-house tour operator. Be cautious while ordering their services

  • Stayed: January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Richa1909
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (396)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

353 - 359 of 396 reviews

Reviewed March 31, 2011

Simply Relaxing

Second time in Kodai. This time booked through my office.

Was worried as I was going there with my wife & in-laws. My thoughts - If anything goes wrong, my wife will kill me. She would say “Why did you not take us to same place as we had gone last time”. But I was saved….Everyone of us liked the place...There was something for everyone…

For me…I like to stay in a cottage than a room so I was happy. Then the food was very good…service at restaurant was surprisingly attentive & professional (it is a rear thing to find professional manners in restaurants in TN. Most of the places make customers follow their own rules)..also resort is away from main town so there is complete calmness around you.

For my wife…First of all, her parent were there (half battle won there)...Charges for 2 nights package were to her satisfaction…Best thing for her was the Ayurvedic Massage/Spa…that too was reasonably priced…

For my father in-law…cottage & food (all men think alike)

For my mother in-law… All of us were happy so she was too…above all this place was far better that where my in-laws has stayed earlier through a package tour by xyz travels.

Must Do - Get up late...take brakefast...go for some sightseeing...have light lunch in town...come back & go for massage...siesta for at least 2 hours....wake up & go for a stroll at Coaker's walk...come back for a game of Tabel Tenis....Cheers to drinks till late night and have sumptuous dinner before you hit the bed...Am I dreaming....:-)

Best attractions I would say are- Location, Pay room with TT table (played TT after years)…layout is also nice.

Improvements – Room service needs improvement…when I called they seemed to be surprised that I was ordering something chargeable in room service. (All of their package include BF & Dinner.)

Room Tip: Take the cottage...rooms are for business trip.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Amit_on_highways
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 14, 2010

A great place to spend the holiday in Kodai. I was happy with the surroundings and the view that this property had to offer. Amenities such as shuttle, TT, library were available at this place. The staff were courteous and tried to make us comfortable. The food served was excellent and on the whole the upkeep of the resort is excellent. Our stay here was worth value for money, we spent.

  • Stayed: May 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kolgan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 21, 2010

We booked the hotel through Club Mahindra - where I hold a corporate membership.

This hotel is around 6 kms from the Kodai city and has a panaromic view of the valley. The climate was cold & rainy at times with mist at arms length. The view from the hotel was just fantastic.

The hotel service as good and more than anything else, the staff & local people were really honest. We lost a mobile and resort staff helped us find out in less than 15 minutes. My spouse & kid were taken care of even when I was not around. The food, especially the south indian veg food was really lip smacking.

The travel arrangements made by the resort were also really good & on time, giving our trip an added flavour of comfort. Kodai is a place I woudl like to come back and I would really recommend this resort. Thanks so much for the pleasant stay.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank mahaveerbagrecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 29, 2010

it is one of the best hotels in kodai. we used to stay regularly here.
In off season months like september - there is little crowd in kodai. it is right at the centre of the town, so - much easier to cover the places by walk.
it is close to lake, spencers, coaker's walk, bus stand and the market.

With variety of cuisines, it provide multiple options to dine in kodai right from “filter coffee to cappuccino".

The rooms here are spacious and very clean, the breakfast is good.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank GG123Pune
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 25, 2010

Nice location in kodai kenal, nice service, they have faclity to arrange site seeing in best value.You should try if you are going in couple

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Service
Thank Jitendra_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 13, 2010

spent 2n 3d, ant thought it was less. Beautifully maintained although a bit away from the city, very calm & serene locale with a backdrop of several cloud kissed hills .Taxi is arranged by the travel desk for pick up & drop to the city.The staff is extremely friendly, polite & gave me the best possible service. My son, 12, had a fabulous time in the arcade area with pool , snooker, air hockey, fooseball , and i dont remember what not! food is average but clean and healthy.Rooms are neat with a balcony but the put off is the bathroom- bad shower curtains, geyser takes too long to heat. overall a v good experience. will definitely visit again.

  • Stayed: July 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank harish_kinger
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hill c, Guest Relations Manager at Hill Country Kodaikanal, responded to this reviewResponded November 24, 2014

Thank you sir for the review, it is highly appreciated. We are glad that you enjoyed your stay at Hill Country. Looking forward to serve you again soon.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
2.8 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.6 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 81 in Kodaikanal
687 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#9 of 81 in Kodaikanal
591 reviews
0.4 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
1.9 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 81 in Kodaikanal
462 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hill Country Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hill Country Kodaikanal

Address: Attuvampatti, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#3 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#8 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $60 - $197 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hill Country Kodaikanal 3.5*
Number of rooms: 61
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Step into a world of timeless charm at the Hill Country Holiday Resort, Kodaikanal. Indulge in a luxurious escape to this exquisite 5 acre, country-style retreat set amidst lush greenery, with a breathtaking view of the breathtaking Palani Hills. Prepare to be inspired and don't forget to pack your cameras! Delight in our pampering facilities and traditional Ayurvedic Wellness Center and Spa. Flexible when it comes to offering comprehensive variety of tours and tailor made packages. From adventure to romantic getaways, M.I.C.E (Meetings, Incentives, Conferences, Exhibitions) or just some quality time away with the family, you'll find everything you need right here at Hill Country Kodaikanal. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Priceline and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hill Country Kodaikanal reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal Hotel Kodaikanal
Hill Country Hotel Kodai

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing