We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
WINNER WONDERLAND
Win Big When You Book on TripAdvisor

“good stay at kodaikanal” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mount View

Hotel Mount View
Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mount View
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“good stay at kodaikanal”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

excellent service and value for money and front desk staffs are very helpful to us
They have kodaikanal map for which all sight seeing place are easy to locate.food is very good and room service also very good.
we will recommend to our friends

Room Tip: Dlx room are good for 2+2
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChennaiScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

41 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    7
    5
    14
See reviews for
19
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Ahmedabad, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 1, 2013

by website, the building looks good but its very horrible. there is no air circulation in hotel and in any room. they provide very small rooms according to their rate. its location is at the entrance of the city but inside the city we can easily get very good hotel comparative to this one. their room quality is not match with hotel but match with lodge only.

Room Tip: never choose this hotel in future.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank nimisha_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4.5 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
4 of 5 bubbles
Show Prices
Chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 26, 2013

We made our trip during the peak season (end of may) when hotel prices peaked exorbitantly. This hotel gave us an excellent staying experience at that price point. THe room was clean and the room service was pretty quick too.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Antony S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 14, 2013

The Mount View Hotel is Very Terrible Spot. I have Stay in Two Nights But we have Taken Standard Room ,First Problem is hot water available for 7-9 am.I have asked Reception he was told hot water available only for 7-9 am and 7-9 pm but did not working properly for this time,and again next problem mainly For Power shutdown does n't properly working for gen set. Next Problem is continually disturb for reception to way of phone. and One thing Main Problem Restaurant --- One thing name only super Banana Leaf but tasty is not good. Totally No hospitality maintain hotel ???

Room Tip: no commends
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank welcome433
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 29, 2013

Have taken a standard room to stay, hot water is available only from 7-9 AM, even the toilet seat was broken in room 305. TV was not working, on complaint I got response that it doesnt work on gen-set power, eventually realized that TV is out of order and got it replaced.

If you order anything for room service, be ready with cash, they dont accept the payment at time of check-out. even you may prefer to have lunch dinner outside.

Arrangement for Local sight-seeing tour was good..was charged 10% premium than market rate..

Prefer to pay 500 more and stay with better room and services.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
2 Thank Pranjal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is situated very near to zion school and in front of Kodai international. Hotel is descent and has good facility. Hot water is provided 2 times a day and they have a restaurant also which serves very good food. If you are on a budget hotel search then you can go to this hotel.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChennaiScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
53 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

When we arrived there was no one at reception. The receptionist was outside the hotel chit chatting with staff. We were received with blank faces. The feeling I got from the receptionist's face is.. his salary is constant and arrival of any guest would only add work for him. There are two big posters at reception.

1. 3% extra if you are paying by card
2. Check out time is 9 AM.

Room was ok. There was no drinking water in the room and glasses were dirty. However, when we asked for hot water, service was quick.

Hot water is scheduled for 7:30 to 9:00 am. However, it is never on time. Dinner is good but if you need non veg, you need to order at least 4 dishes and in advance (few hours). We tried veg dishes and it doesn't matter which 2 or 3 dishes you order, all have the same taste. As I said, taste is good but it is same for all dishes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PraveeNegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#21 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 190 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#61 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#36 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 89 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
J's Heritage Hotel & Resort
J's Heritage Hotel & Resort
#54 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 48 reviews
0.9 mi away
Hotel Wood Palace
Hotel Wood Palace
#42 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 29 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
#60 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 25 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount View

Property: Hotel Mount View
Address: 5/324 & 5/325 Laws Ghat Road | Close to Zion School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #57 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mount View 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mount View, situated at the entry point and is close to all tourist attractions within Kodaikanal. The Hotel maintains a homey atmosphere with impeccable hospitality and flawless service equal to international standards of star quality and comfort having well-furnished rooms, family and honeymoon suites. Hotel Mount View can suit every taste with all its modern amenities and facilities including conference hall, restaurant, gym, sauna and Ayurvedic massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline and Hotels.com so you can book your Hotel Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing