We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“good stay” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Hotel Mount View

Hotel Mount View
Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 3 more sites!
Hotel Mount View
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
“good stay”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 7, 2013

The hotel is situated very near to zion school and in front of Kodai international. Hotel is descent and has good facility. Hot water is provided 2 times a day and they have a restaurant also which serves very good food. If you are on a budget hotel search then you can go to this hotel.

Room Tip: •"Corner suites are large and sunny"
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChennaiScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

42 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    5
    10
    7
    6
    14
See reviews for
20
15
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    3 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    2.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    3 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (9)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 29, 2012

When we arrived there was no one at reception. The receptionist was outside the hotel chit chatting with staff. We were received with blank faces. The feeling I got from the receptionist's face is.. his salary is constant and arrival of any guest would only add work for him. There are two big posters at reception.

1. 3% extra if you are paying by card
2. Check out time is 9 AM.

Room was ok. There was no drinking water in the room and glasses were dirty. However, when we asked for hot water, service was quick.

Hot water is scheduled for 7:30 to 9:00 am. However, it is never on time. Dinner is good but if you need non veg, you need to order at least 4 dishes and in advance (few hours). We tried veg dishes and it doesn't matter which 2 or 3 dishes you order, all have the same taste. As I said, taste is good but it is same for all dishes.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank PraveeNegi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

Go for this hotel only when you are not left with any other option. I stayed there for three days. Room was cramped and there was not a single window. We had to depend on electric light which was dim due to low voltage. Room service was ok. Room service didn't step in for once in three days. However, food was very good, though was priced on a higher side.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
Thank Sanya1811
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2012

I was impressed with the hotel MountView Kodaikanal. The rooms were excellent and cleanliness was well maintained. The services were excellent. I would definately recommend my friends to stay in the hotel.As soon as we reached the Hotel, we went to reception where the Manager welcomed us warmly and gave us the room keys which we booked. The Manager gave us some good advice on planning for the sightseeing. Room: We entered the room and we were very happy to see the room as it was very much spacious, clean and cozy.The bathroom was clean. We were served very delicious food. Sightseeing: They arrange different trips daily by bus. But since we had been by our own car, we went on our own. Overall: On whole, the stay at the Hotel was a nice memorable time.

Room Tip: Dlx room are good for cold
See more room tips
  • Stayed July 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ChennaiScreen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 18, 2012

I stayed here along with a friend from April 28th to April 30th 2012. This probably is the worst location for a hotel. The last 0.5 kms is what I can best describe as "surface drainage". Forget driving, walking this stretch is like walking on tight rope. If you slip and fall you will stink like a drainage for next seven lives (only this life if you don't believe in after-life). I didn't fortunately but after driving here my car definitely started smelling bad for a long time.

It has a very tight parking space and its by the road-side. This hotel doesn't even have a compound!

Hot water for bathing is available in limited timings only (7AM to 9AM) and this is totally impractical in a place like Kodaikanal.

This place just doesn't deserve to be open for business. Avoid this place at all costs.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with friends
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NitinGirish
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 4, 2012

I had the worst experience of my life, staying in the Hotel Mount View for 2 nights 26th May & 27th May. Let apart the distance from the city center,the entire false ceiling of the 1st floor room, was infested with hundreds of rats, which made it their highway to travel through the roof to different parts of the hotel. I & my wife spent sleepless nights & when I went to complaint at the reception at the middle of the night, they did not pay any heed to my predicament. I suggest you should never choose this hotel, unless you have love for oversized rats.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank aghoshbph
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Indore, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 20, 2012

Tip For Honeymooners never ever book this hotel and for the other travelers too the worst that a one can get all rooms in pethetic condition...... the photos swon on the site are all taken when hotel was new........ there is nothing like mount view its all hotel view...... stinky rooms....... bed sheets not clean for the Super delux room and also for the honeymoon suite room...... Totaly Disssatisfied had to change the hotel the very same time and the manager too rude.......

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank NS12o3
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.4 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#58 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 17 reviews
0.4 mi away
J's Heritage Hotel
J's Heritage Hotel
#62 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 50 reviews
0.5 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#22 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 196 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
#63 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#47 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 91 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Hotel Pleasant Stay
#48 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 81 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Mount View? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Mount View

Property: Hotel Mount View
Address: 5/324 & 5/325 Laws Ghat Road | Close to Zion School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #59 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Hotel Mount View 3*
Number of rooms: 27
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Mount View, situated at the entry point and is close to all tourist attractions within Kodaikanal. The Hotel maintains a homey atmosphere with impeccable hospitality and flawless service equal to international standards of star quality and comfort having well-furnished rooms, family and honeymoon suites. Hotel Mount View can suit every taste with all its modern amenities and facilities including conference hall, restaurant, gym, sauna and Ayurvedic massage. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Expedia, Priceline, Hotels.com and Travelocity so you can book your Hotel Mount View reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing