We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Absolutely Awesome...!!!”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Mumbai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Absolutely Awesome...!!!”
Reviewed March 12, 2014

in simple words :Ideally located,heavenly views, great service, very helpful staff & don't forget the food is very yummy :)
Stayed in the hotel for two days. Kodaikanal by itself is an awesome place and the experience was further enhanced by the hospitality.
Best place to stay....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
1 Thank Anubhav S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,122 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    712
    326
    54
    20
    10
See reviews for
467
506
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (455)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 12, 2014

I always prefer this site in terms of choosing hotel/resort to stay wherever i go. Two things which liked the most are its location and food . One thing i can assure, one will not regret after staying in this hotel. I would strongly recommend this hotel.
Cheers!!

Room Tip: Go for any of the room with valley view
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satvindar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed March 11, 2014

After reading the reviews from trip advisor I have booked 2 days for my first visit and honeymoon. The centre place for all the locations in kodaikanal also near to Bus Stand. But overall it was OK. Have to improve room facilities and service. It is located in nice location apart from that It has not met all my expectations. It has nice views but you cant stay for long time so we have to spent more time inside rooms especially for honey moon couples. The garden view rooms are not at all private which should be improved. Food is ok bit costlier than star rated hotels.

  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MosesMaxwell
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed March 10, 2014

first time thought to book a hotel based on TripAdvisor ratings despite my travel agent suggesting other alternatives. Just can say the hospitality offered by the hotel is at par with a 5 star. The hotel team member John Nova and his team just ensured we had a comfortable stay for 2 nights.
If at kodaikanal, this hotel cant be missed for location and hospitality....

  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank verma_24
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
82 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2014

This is probably one of the best rooms that I have ever got in any hotel considering the view, especially at night. I had read several reviews on Tripadvisor and was suggested the room right at the edge/end of the hotel. This room has a magnificent view of the valley on both sides. Its completely transparent glass so your view wont be obstructed unless you pull the curtains. At night you can see the entire valley and the plains with the shimmering street lights. We could also see lightning striking far far away. We did try to take a couple of night shots. The food is nothing extraordinary but rather above normal. Very prompt and courteous service.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Debayan R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
88 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 117 helpful votes
Reviewed February 26, 2014

I went to villa retreat on my honeymoon.we went there after a 2 day stay in ooty which was awesomme !!! i had selected villa retreat after going through trip advisor.undoubtedly i had sky high expectations.i asked for the room with best view (as per the reviews ;104 ??!!!) and i got it.the view from the room is just too good .technically the room was in first floor.the window had a slab .so u can sit on the window hanging ur legs on the slab.my favourite part of the trip was to enjoy morning tea sitting on the window.i just can not forget the moment even now. the hotel is situated in one of the hot spots of kodaikanal,the coaker's walk. but i found the room size was a bit too small for the money you spend.food was good.staff were cordial.overall a fantastic haliday ,but lacks a bit in value for maney.

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank gourahari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed February 25, 2014

this is the best hotel in kodaikanal. It is located on coacker's walk and u can see a very good view from its restaurant,
food is awesome(being a food lover its hard to find)
room service is also great
staff is very helpful
near to all the attractions
cons:
extra charges for room heater (its necessary in winters)

AND special thanx to tripadviser to help me selecting the best hotel

Room Tip: all rooms are good but if you want nice view go for valley view rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank petu_traveler
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 76 in Kodaikanal
655 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#3 of 76 in Kodaikanal
372 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#8 of 76 in Kodaikanal
524 reviews
2.7 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
1.0 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#10 of 76 in Kodaikanal
297 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Property: Villa Retreat
Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Villa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing