We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great hotel in Kodai - that's value for money”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 21, 2013

We stayed in one of the Classic rooms of this hotel. The hotel is at an excellent location - adjacent to the Coaker's walk. The lake, gardens, and the main town are all within walking distance from this hotel. Still it is tucked in towards the edge of the valley - which makes the ambience peaceful and relaxing. The garden overlooking the valley is a perfect place to have a hot cup of coffee in the evening. The hotel itself, and the rooms are small and built in a compact setting. But the location and the views make up for it.

The room was well made and clean. The classic rooms - which are part of the older block of the hotel - are the best. The attached bath was quite good, though a shower cubicle would have been better. The bed, though a bit hard, was comfortable. There was no coffee-maker in the room, but since coffee was served in 10 minutes any time we called, we did not mind. Both the room and the bath, though not extra-ordinary, were good considering the category of this hotel.

Coming to food, I found a lack of good dining options in the whole of Kodaikanal. Either you eat in budget restaurants with metal chairs and tables, or at the lone five star hotel. I would say that food at Villa retreat was a notch better than most other places we ate during our 4 day stay. The menu had a long list of options, and most of the dishes we ordered were good. Nothing out of the world here, but not bad either considering other options in Kodai. I have to mention that in our first meal at the hotel, a lot of green chillies were added, and I just had to mention it only once, and the food was alright for all other meals we had here - small things like this make the hotel's service stand out.

The service was warm and personalized, and better than what I expected. The waiters were attentive, and unobtrusive. Food was served always on time, and all the staff were genuinely concerned that the guests are kept happy. They kept asking whether things were alright many times again and again, that I felt that was over the top sometimes. However, I had nothing to complain, which is a good thing. The hotel calls itself a home stay with personalized service. I am sure it lives up to what it claims.

I took two sightseeing trips with a cab arranged by the hotel. These were to Berijam Lake, and Mannavanur dam. In both these trips, I had good drivers, and a pleasant experience with the cab service. The hotel has free wifi, lots of parking space, and a common hall.

Overall, I would rate this hotel very good for a couple looking to have a memorable holiday. I would definitely recommend this hotel for anyone visiting Kodaikanal.

Room Tip: Choose the classic rooms for the best experience
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank d4dpak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,159)
There are newer reviews for Villa Retreat
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

667 - 673 of 1,159 reviews

Reviewed October 20, 2013

I stayed at Villa Retreat (best place in Kodai!) during 11th to 13th Oct 2013 with family and had a wonderful experience.

Perfect location, best services, very much friendly staff (Javed, Dina, Mohamed among others). Room no.108 (Classic room) is the best room to stay as it gives you complete valley view.

I would strongly recommend this hotel if someone is visiting Kodaikanal....

Room Tip: Classic Room no.108
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rakuhere
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

"Villa Retreat" has its uniqueness due to it's locality which right next to the valley, which would set perfect ambience for those who are looking for honeymoon for not more than 15k Rs. Although this was not my honeymoon place, this gave me n wife a special atmosphere. I would suggest to opt for classic valley room for the stay as it is right next to the valley which is visible from big size window. The food is very good as commented by others. And, finally the service is at top notch. I would also recommend for having the local trip arranged by the hotel as they make sure that service is not compromised. My special thanks to Javed & all staff for being such a nice host. Last but not least, ask for Stephen for the local trip as he is one of he best tour guide I have come across.

  • Stayed: October 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sid198323
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

First a heartfelt thanks to Javeed, Deena, Mohammed, Noel, Murugan and Mani for making our stay memorable. Guys we would be back soon.

Great views, food, location, beds, rooms and courteous staff what more can one ask for.

The property is a pre-independance bungalow which has been converted into a hotel with some new constructions. The thing which strikes you the most is the property has been kept as it is but it has modern facilities. The property is beautifully decorated with small plants and flowers all around. One can hear birds chirping all day long. The location of the property makes it irresistible, it is on the Coakers Walk and bang opposite the Bryant Part. It overlooks the valley on one side and city on the other. The restaurant is facing a lawn which doubles up as a view point and juts into the valley. You can literally see clouds floating by from this lawn. If one wants to spend some quite evening in Kodai this restaurant is the place to be.

Rooms :- We stayed in two different rooms, standard and delux. The standard one didn't have any views as well advertised in the website but was quite good in terms of beds, bathrooms etc.
The delux ones on the top floor had a view to die for. The night view of the valley is like a jewel box and the mornings start with mist/fog with birds/squirrels around your windows.

Service :- Impeccable, to say the least. Mani the room service boy needs a special mention, he always has a smile while serving right from dawn to dusk.

Food :- "Quickgun" Murugan. This guy runs the restaurant and is good and frank, ask him what you want he will make it to perfection. He generally runs around a lot hence the first title :-) The food in the restaurant is simple basic but very tasty. Special mention Chinese/Indian food. Also they make fresh food so be patient you will not be disappointed.

Staff :- Javeed the GM, he is a friend now. He helped us to get the room with the best view in the hotel. Deena, Mohammed and Noel are front desk guys who are very helpful too.

This property is one of the best hotels that we have visited and is rightfully placed in the number one position in Kodaikanal. It is also a quick 10 mins from the main market place. Try to book a delux room early and enjoy a couple of days of pure bliss.

Room Tip: This hotel has a separate lawn for valley view which also has the restaurant any room is perfect for...
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank INomad80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 15, 2013

Villa retreat is the best resort to stay in Kodaikanal,especially the hospitality and amazing view both day and night.The rooms are neat and clean and with all facilities..We had a very good time and awaiting another visit ....The staff's are highly professional.Restaurant is maintained neat and food is of a very good quality.

Room Tip: Please choose room number 108 ...great view..dont miss.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank poornima1310
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 14, 2013

Hi, Villa Retreat offers a great nature view from it 'Valley View' rooms. This is possible due to the stratergic location of Villa Retreat - just beside Coakers Walk.
We had an overall excellent experience during our 3-day stay and the entire team was very helpful.

Regards,
Kunal

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank KunalSD
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hi
First of all I should say I am very disappointed for choosing villa retreat. Because of the rave reviews in trip advisor I decided to stay at this hotel. I went with so many expectations only for them to be shattered. Hotel is tiny, very old and the maintenance is very poor except the well maintained Garden. We stayed in a standard room as the other rooms were full.
This room is at the basement level facing the roadside which is partially visible through a divider. Since there was no compound wall we felt insecure at nights. You cannot keep your windows open as it was unsafe without grills especially at nights.There was no ventilation at all. The room has bigger Glass partitions which questions our privacy as there is nothing to view through the gully. Wooden flooring is of poor quality it is swollen in so many places, the bed and mattress were of very low quality. The only saving grace was the very clean bathroom. The reception staff were indifferent and they will treat you differently according to the rooms you book.
The restaurant was spic and span. The food was of good quality and tasted good. the restaurant staff were very courteous and always there to help you.
The view from the very small garden is great so is the view from Coakers walk which will cost you only rs.3 per person.
Overall the Hotel is sub standard,with no excitement , let down more by too many expectations.

Room Tip: don't choose standard rooms they are sub standard for rs.2878
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank senthil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
671 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
2.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#11 of 78 in Kodaikanal
553 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $52 - $257 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing