We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Let down by the huge expectations”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed October 10, 2013

Hi
First of all I should say I am very disappointed for choosing villa retreat. Because of the rave reviews in trip advisor I decided to stay at this hotel. I went with so many expectations only for them to be shattered. Hotel is tiny, very old and the maintenance is very poor except the well maintained Garden. We stayed in a standard room as the other rooms were full.
This room is at the basement level facing the roadside which is partially visible through a divider. Since there was no compound wall we felt insecure at nights. You cannot keep your windows open as it was unsafe without grills especially at nights.There was no ventilation at all. The room has bigger Glass partitions which questions our privacy as there is nothing to view through the gully. Wooden flooring is of poor quality it is swollen in so many places, the bed and mattress were of very low quality. The only saving grace was the very clean bathroom. The reception staff were indifferent and they will treat you differently according to the rooms you book.
The restaurant was spic and span. The food was of good quality and tasted good. the restaurant staff were very courteous and always there to help you.
The view from the very small garden is great so is the view from Coakers walk which will cost you only rs.3 per person.
Overall the Hotel is sub standard,with no excitement , let down more by too many expectations.

Room Tip: don't choose standard rooms they are sub standard for rs.2878
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
5  Thank senthil77
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (1,193)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

704 - 710 of 1,193 reviews

Reviewed October 8, 2013 via mobile

I would say villa retreat is the best place to be in Kodaikanal. The room we stayed in had valley view which makes it perfect place to be. The view is fantastic especially in night when the valley lights up. The service is top notch. The rooms are clean and I would say four star facilities. We really enjoyed it and would definitely stay in villa retreat next time when we visit Kodaikanal for sure.

Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
2  Thank Vinod Murugan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 5, 2013

Hi, I am writing this quite late , couldn't stop writing though.
Must tell VILLA RETREAT is an amazing place to visit and stay in kodaikanal.
Had been there in mid July for our birthday celebrations come holiday stay and must say this was one of the best seasons to visit this place. They have a wonderful staff to greet you and help in all the ways possible.
The rooms are clean, spacious and luxurious for a weekend stay. The balcony gives a splendid view of Kodai kanal. This retreat is situated on top of Kodai and is attached to Coaker's walk which is a must for all visitors.

Food also is good and kitchen is maintained neatly which is most important for visitors like us.

All in all this truly is a number 1 ranked place to stay in Kodai. Am def planning to visit this place again.

Regards
Praveen

Room Tip: Deluxe rooms are too good to stay !
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank p2veen
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 3, 2013

Villa retreat is a very very nice place to stay in kodaikanal.everything is beyond our expectations.we didnt face any kind of problems there through the whole stay.staff is very helpful and food is also good.especially the view from the dining is excellent and that will be one of the attaracting things that anyone would like to book this villa retreat.we loved this place hope

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ramya1522
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

We stayed at "VILLA RETREAT" in June 2013. It was nice experience staying in villa retreat. Had been to this place with my family for 2 days,as the name suggest its a real "retreat" in the lap of the nature from all the madness of the daily life.Situated on a strategic location in Kodai & the breathtaking view of the valley makes this heaven a very special place in Kodai. It is adjacent to Coakers walk entry. Valley view is very nice from this hotel garden.Staffs were very humble and active. Room service is great and food is simply delicious try their fish curry and veg parathas you'll relish each morsel as it melts in ur mouth. Overall it was a great experience and value for money.

  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank deepa05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 29, 2013

The word for it is "Fantabulous"... We had booked it online and right from the time till the end of our trip. The whole experience has been beyond our expectations. The Villa Team takes the services experience to the next level, they just pamper you with more of it each time.The biggest Wow is that the property overlooks a breath taking view. Also that since they are in the city, it helps in taking late night walks (A must do, at that weather). Our sight seeing and outing scheduled was very well planned that we not only made it to almost every locale,but also got to go to the mannavanur lake trip was an wonderful nature walk trip. You get to play hide and seek with the clouds... As it was our romantic get away, the naughty villa guys had decorated our room and also made arrangements for a candle light dinner at our room, with the Chef presenting their delicacies personally... We were just Awe struck!!! Alltogether it was a wonderful experience with lovely memories lasting a life time. Thanks to the entire Villa team for making our stay very memorable, special thanks to Javed & Dheena (Excellent host's). looking forward to our next trip at Villa Retreat..!!

Room Tip: Ask for the room that ovelooks a breath taking view.... Waking up to that view... Wow..
See more room tips
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jpravinpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 28, 2013

Had been to this place with my family for 2 days,as the name suggest its a real "retreat" in the lap of the nature from all the madness of the daily life.Situated on a strategic location in Kodai & the breathtaking view of the valley makes this heaven a very special place in Kodai. Above all was literally astonished to see the service level right from the gate keeper to my good friend Javed.Each staff was competing themselves in terms of service and this is the highlight of the property.Neverthless to say the chef and the crew is amazing.Thanks for all the mouthwatering dishes we ordered.To me Villa Retreat will be your place if you are looking for Exceptional service level,Hygienic food & safe place to stay in Kodai.Hats off to Javed and his entire crew for showcassing this wonder.......

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank jacob P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 80 in Kodaikanal
686 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#9 of 80 in Kodaikanal
591 reviews
1.0 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 80 in Kodaikanal
338 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 80 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $51 - $134 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing