We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful Experience.”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 21, 2013

My husband and I had traveled to Kodaikannal for our honeymoon; and we took a chance with Hotel villa Retreat for our stay as we had just chosen the hotel from the internet. I being a hotelier myself by proffession I felt that the hotel was no less than a 5 star hotel. The food was excellent, view from the mini classic room was breadth taking and the hotel atmosphere was very pleasant and pleasing. It was like a home away from home experience for us. We enjoyed our stay at the hotel. Service standards were much above expectation and the hospitality was what needed to be received. They arranged good reliable transportation & Driver for our sight-seeing purpose. Staffs were helpful, kind and very patient which should be there in every hotelier but hard to find in many hotels these days. We were very happy with our stay with them and would definitely recommend the hotel to our friends and family. I wish them all the best for the future and please continue the good work.

Room Tip: We had experience in staying in mini classic room, which i feel is an ideal room for honeymooners as...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kirupals2004
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (1,231)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language
  • More languages

815 - 821 of 1,231 reviews

Reviewed May 18, 2013

Stayed for 1 night & 1 day May 15- beginning of our stay in Kodai. Hospitality is very Good.

Valley view in the property syncs up with Coakers walk Valley view.
Lake is 10 min walk away down the hill.
and bus station is 10 min walk away on same level road.
Palani hills view is near by, 10 min by vehicle. Hence strategic for visiting the places
multiple times to have some good views.

Food tastes good, with just slight above the average prices; Although this does not bother me when considering price and quality factors for any thing in Kodai.

Seems a temporary problem with water color(mud color for Bath). Could not be resolved in 12 hrs. Sure they must be working on it considering the staff's good hospitality.

No Feedback form handed at the end of the stay.

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SasiKiran10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 9, 2013 via mobile

I chose Kodai to celebrate my first anniversary. .and believe me it was the best decision of my life.Then the question was where in Kodai. .and as per TripAdvisor reviews we chose Villa retreat . Being no.1 on TripAdvisor we had many expectations from them and werent disappointed. The view from the dining area was spectacular .The property is really well maintained and centrally located...really a treat.
Would definitely recommend this to all..

  • Stayed: April 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank geetbijlani
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 8, 2013

We had been to Hotel Villa Retreat on 21st April. Everything about this hotel is great - Location, Hospitality, Food, Service. This hotel is just next to Coakers Walk and Bryant Park. So if you stay here these 2 important points on your itinerary list are just next to the hotel.

They hotel takes great care of its guest and goes out of its way to make us comfortable. This itself made the stay quite memorable.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Amitvg
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 7, 2013

Its very nice place to stay when you visit kodaikanal, everything under walkable distance. Rooms overlooking the valley is simply magnificent. We stayed in a valley view room, views from room was superb. Food and Service also very good.

Room Tip: Take a room overlooking the valley for its magnificent views
See more room tips
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Kirubaharan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We stayed there for 3 days from 26/04/13 to 28/04/13. It is an awesome experince and loved every bit of it. Just loved the place, food and fantastic service from the staff. Overall a wonderful expeience.

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Satyajit007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 6, 2013

We planned a family trip to Kodai - and based on tripadvisor reviews, we booked our accomodation for first two days at Villa Retreat.
From tips of other reviewers - I booked Classic Valley View rooms from their website though its expensive of all their offerings.

Staff - very cordial and welcoming. Always available to provide us best service. Excellent.
Wonderful View - - Worth the extra bucks :) - - - We were lucky to see Orange Sky (Sun rise shades) on one side and other side fully cloudy thunder storms. Was awesome.

Food - Could be better and little more spicy.

If you can afford - - Go for Classic Valley View rooms. Otherwise, maybe you will find other normal places at cheaper rates.

Room Tip: Classic Valley View rooms - are the ones you should opt for.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Jagadishsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#8 of 85 in Kodaikanal
883 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 85 in Kodaikanal
513 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 85 in Kodaikanal
638 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.5 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 85 in Kodaikanal
534 reviews
3 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#9 of 85 in Kodaikanal
702 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 85 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $52 - $98 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Villa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing