We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best place in kodai to stay”
Review of Villa Retreat

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Villa Retreat
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“Best place in kodai to stay”
Reviewed February 20, 2012

I think this is the best and very worthfull place in kodai to stay. Me n my wife stayed there for 3 days and hospitality and service was just more than excellent.... not to forget that they were sufferring from bad power cuts( Load shedding) by the government of tamil nadu and still they never disaapointed in any means..

Room Tip: Depends on traveller.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
17 Thank Shubhakar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

1,144 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    727
    332
    55
    20
    10
See reviews for
476
516
9
4
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (463)
Date | Rating
  • Chinese (Simplified) first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 10, 2012

Excellent Hospitality, Delicious and wide variety of Food, Valley facing rooms with great ambiance and ever smiling and greeting staff crew members! We had our long awaiting awesome 2nd honeymoon at Villa Retreat! They really made our stay worth to the core. Me and my wife will never forget the experience and we're whole-heartily thankful to the Villa Retreat (Ashok & team) for such a wonderful arrangements! This was one of the best hotels i have been in. There are many Positives about this hotel. The support staffs are so friendly and helpful. The facilities are exactly the same as mentioned in their website. This hotel is located in centre of kodaikanal. The Valley View of this hotel increases its beauty. On the whole it was a very memorable stay and the memories would stay fresh for a long time to come. On the whole a true value for money. I would recommend this to all who are thinking of this hotel.

Roopesh Kumar

Bangalore

Room Tip: I would recommend to take 108 or 107 for good value view.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Roopesh4U
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Malmö, Sweden
Level 3 Contributor
15 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 46 helpful votes
Reviewed February 7, 2012

Oh what a lovely stay we had here! We were only planning to stay for a few days initially but extended our stay and ended up staying for three weeks.
The garden is beautiful and well kept and has breathtaking views of the mountains and valleys, it's a lovely place to have breakfast or tea, or just relax.
The staff are very courteous, helpful and friendly. They even bought presents for our kids (the sweet cleaning ladies!) and a gift when we left! We felt thoroughly well looked after by them all.
We stayed in a deluxe room and it was very comfortable, comfortable beds, enough space, very clean and with a view over Kodaikanal.

Villa Retreat is a real treat for the soul, thoroughly relaxing in a breathtakingly beautiful and serene surrounding.

A big thank you once again to all the staff for looking after us so well!
Lots of love to you all from the Swedish family :)

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank LetThemEatLotsOfCake
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed February 4, 2012

We stayed here for 3 days and it turned out to be a very memorable holiday. Comfortable rooms, clean, great food and a very helping staff. Having breakfast or tea in the garden with a beautiful valley view, was an unforgetable experience. I should say its one of the best view points in kodaikanal.The location is also good, the lake, coalkers walk, bryant park and the city center including the bus stand are a walk away. The service is great.On the whole it is 'the place' to enjoy a holiday with your loved ones.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
29 Thank Hejje
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 43 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

We stayed here from 17-20 Jun 2011. Villa retreat has to be one of the best hotels i have stayed in. The rooms were fantastic. The view from the room was fabulous. The service was prompt and above all the staff were very courteous. I would like to mention Mr. Ashok from the front desk. He was very helpful and also gave us information when needed. He knew a lot about the history of the hotel and also about kodai.

Overall the stay was very memorable and whenever i come back to Kodaikanal i would definitely stay at this hotel.

Room Tip: Call the hotel and book if you can . They give you a good deal. The view from the room 104 is fabulo...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
34 Thank DHL_80
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 28 helpful votes
Reviewed February 1, 2012

I drove all the way from Bangalore (around 460KM) and stayed in the hotel for 3 days (I didn't take the package deal as I used my own car for sight seeing). The hotel has a nicely laid out valley-facing lawn with benches to sit on where you may have your morning tea under the warm Sun or your hot lunch while you overlook the serene valley filled with mist. I was thrilled as I entered my room. It was the best room they had, with two big windows both having different views of the valley below. The staff is well mannered and friendly and serves you with a smile. In case you are not a winter person you make ask for a room heater at 250 bucks per night. Though they may say that you may use it only between 7:00PM to 7:00 AM but use it anytime you want as nobody comes for inspection.

The points on which the place scored:
1. You get free Wi-Fi in the reception and the dining area of the hotel and if your room is near you may also catch it in your room. I comes handy for quick Facebook picture uploads :D.
2. The breakfast, though repetitive, is good and so are the other continental dishes on the menu. I found it better to have my platter here as the other eateries around were not clean enough. (If you are not very tight on pocket don't go to Astoria as they have serious cleanliness issues. I don't know how others are rating it good.)
3. During the misty afternoons you may find the hotel room (if it is 108) or the hotel garden better than any other crowded view point.
4. Staff is friendly.
5. Pretty near to Kodai lake where I spent most of my off-hotel time.


Having praised the place a lot let me come to the nots.
1. The region faces a 3 hour power cut in a day. During this period the heater and the geyser don't work.
2. During full power cut you get to watch only DD channels and during partial power cut some Tamil channels.
3. They charge you for the heater.
4. Chinese dishes are a lot oily.
5. No recreation room. They say that they are bringing it up.

For me the ayes outrun the nays with a huge margin.

Room Tip: Try to book a room in the older building if you are interested in a nice view from your room. The be...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
28 Thank Mudit_Krishna_Mathur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, Gujarat, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

The stay at the Villa Retreat has become lifetime memory for us... good room service.. really good food.. people from north can really enjoy food at the Villa.. dont go anywhere just give treat to your eyes at villa retreat valley view garden table.. Wants to mention one name here.. the waiter Murgan.. he made a feel better at dining table...

Room Tip: Classic room in old block
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
27 Thank Vasimkhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#5 of 78 in Kodaikanal
665 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
318 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#11 of 78 in Kodaikanal
530 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
3.0 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Villa Retreat? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Villa Retreat

Property: Villa Retreat
Address: Coakers Walk | Noyce road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #1 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Savour the magic of Kodaikanal from the comfort of your room. We are situated at a Perfect location in kodaikanal with an awesomatic view and excellent walkable access to all sight seeings places. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Villa Retreat reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing