We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“beautiful cottage in a nest of greenery”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilly's Valley Resort
Ranked #4 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Strasbourg, France
1 review
“beautiful cottage in a nest of greenery”
Reviewed June 8, 2010

We discovered Lilly Valley last year, 2009. We came for 2 days and we stayed 7 weeks. We are a french couple, retired, and we have been looking for such a place for a long time, beautifully located in a nest of nature, near Kodaikanal by foot and out of noise and pollution. We were welcomed by a friendly team and we could ask for a specific food that we like for a long stay. It is a very special place for the lovers of nature, a diversity of birds, trees and flowers... Nice cottages aesthetically decorated with wood by the owner who is an artist, so we can feel comfortable. This year, in 2010, we come back for a long satay of 3 months, it is nice to feel at home again.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank squirrels2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

652 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    387
    210
    33
    11
    11
See reviews for
274
251
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (190)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Baroda
Level Contributor
33 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed March 23, 2010

Its quite far from the main mall. The resort is not well maintained. With the same tariff much better options are available.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank nupur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
gurgaon
1 review
Reviewed March 16, 2010

You are in kodaikanal then your trip is incomplete if you are not staying at Lily's valley resort. Neat and clean room and hygenic food and service added to a great location amidst natures lap. The stay was indeed a out of world experience. But it would be not complete without mentioning about the owner Mr Raj sukumar who personally pays attention to every guest. He is supported by a humble team of efficient staff who look upon your need as a family member. For us the stay was a better experience then being in our own home. Once you are inside the resort you are cut from the rest of the world and not influenced by any commercial interest unlike other resorts thanks to the business philosphy of the owner Raj sukumar.We could see that most of the guest coming there are with him for over decades and he is life a family member to them. We are eagerly looking forward to our next visit and strongly recommend travellers to experience the home away from home stay sooner you can
sunita and Rajesh

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kingkong10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
mumbai
1 review
Reviewed February 14, 2010

It was very good time over there.I went Kodai from Ooty and since travel was of 8 hours we were tired.But after going there we feel like we reached at home.Food was like homely prepared.
People were good at service.And rooms interior was awsom.
This place is very good.


Vaibhav Madhav
Mumbai

  • Liked — homely feel
  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank traveller1881
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed February 13, 2010

If you are looking for a leisure trip, close to nature, away from daily noise and pollution of city then you should definitely choose Lily resort for accommodation.
Rooms are nice & cozy, service is also good.
Have a nice time over here.

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vijyta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 30, 2009

When we decided to go on a holiday to Kodaikanal, we browsed the net and came accross Lilly Valley Resort. When we reached the resort, we simply fell in love with the place as it was a cluster of cottages located away from the town, yet near enough to walk to the town. It was not like the regular hotels, or resorts that one would imagine. It was like going home. Each cottage was spaced in such a way that there was a lot of privacy and ample space for the children to play.

If you wish to have a holiday that takes you away from your everyday hustle and bustle, you wish to relax in the lap of Mother Nature, then Lilly Valley resort is the place you must stay. The resort itself is built in a 3 acre land which is very peaceful and serene.

Please remember, this is not a five star hotel, this is a place where you can enjoy as your home. The cook is more than ready to cook the food as per your request and will even let you cook in the kitchen!!

I spent 4 days there and still havent got enough of the place. Is is one of the most beautiful places i have stayed in.

  • Liked — the rooms, the cottage, food
  • Disliked — service is a bit slow
  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Aprilindia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
from kuwait
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed November 11, 2008

We made bookings for this absolutely pathetic fraud of a place called lilly valley thro a website called safe wheels. This jaded place is 5-7 kms away from the town. If anyone feels it is good to be away from the hustle and bustle be prepared to stay in a god forsaken place.

I went with my parents and 2 kids.The only reason i decided to take a chance with such an off located resort(!!!) was that they promised they had adjoining rooms spacious enough to accomodate all of us.

Well to start off , there is no such thing called reception or front desk. Just imagine a timber merchant's premises with a sleepy guy ready to enter your name in his note book. After one look at the various rooms shown to us, I immedietely drove into the town in the same taxi and booked ourselves into Kodai resort hotel near coaker's walk. But unfortunately we could get the booking only for the next day. So we were forced to spend a nightmarish night in this Lilly thing.

The place doesn't seem to have experienced any kind of maintanance for ages. The rooms definitely dont need a make over. They need to be pulled down. The bed linens consisted of torn,filthy,unwashed sheets smelling of bugs and moisture. About the washrooms the less said the better. The open dome which is supposed to be a restaurent offering fantastic views is just a horrible mess.

I would not recommend this place even to my worst enemy. Its a big effort to restrain myself from using harsher language. just one advice. STAY AWAY from LILLY VALLEY at any cost.

  • Liked — the staff who were ready to help with whaterver they could which wasnt much
  • Disliked — everything
  • Stayed July 2008, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank SS_SRI
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#2 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
1.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.8 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.2 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#3 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 361 reviews
1.1 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#7 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 515 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilly's Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilly's Valley Resort

Property: Lilly's Valley Resort
Address: 17/178 Anandagiri Road, Kodaikanal 624 101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#3 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Best Value Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilly’s Valley is a uniquely beautiful resort set amid terraced gardens on three acres of wooded land, ringed by towering eucalyptus trees. Its 21 traditional stone cottages are constructed in the colonial British style, with handcrafted woodwork details throughout. It is the rare resort with an eco-focus and no concrete structures: even the furniture is lovingly made by hand by talented craftsmen! Built in 1982, Lilly’s Valley was the first resort in Kodaikanal. Our stone-and-wood cottages, both free-standing and attached, can accommodate couples, small and large family groups, students, and corporate groups. We are located in a quiet suburban neighborhood exactly 2 km from the center of town and the lake. With a short taxi ride or 15-minute walk, you’ll be in the heart of shopping, boating, horse-riding, roller-skating and other tourist attractions. Our style is low-key and customized to you: you can order simple, tasty Western and South Indian dishes from the kitchen, and hold gatherings in the garden gazebo with your own music and programs. We’ll even arrange a cozy night bonfire! We have special rates for long-term stays of one week or more, up to a 50% discount. Discounts are also available for weekdays. Many repeat customers, both Indian and foreign, have been coming here for decades, drawn back by the beauty, peacefulness, and cozy cottages. One Italian child born in one of our cottages returned 25 years later with her husband to stay in the same cottage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Lilly's Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillys Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing