We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Excellent choice for families who are looking for quality time together” 5 of 5 bubbles
Review of Lilly's Valley Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Lilly's Valley Resort
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
55 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
“Excellent choice for families who are looking for quality time together”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 26, 2013

“Very pleasant and comfortable stay with homely food” at Lily’s Valley resort.

I stayed at Lily’s resort from April 6 to 8, 2013 with my family, in Royal suite # 117. It’s a Very good room with wooden flooring and a small separate living / dining room and big balcony outside. This series of rooms are really good, in terms of privacy, view.

We reached Kodai on 6th evening; I already did some pre checking on trip advisor and found this resort right on top of choices list. So we decided to stay here. It was night, so we could gauge the beauty / serenity of this place, but what a lovely early morning sight. It exceeded our expectations. The front view from this room is fantastic and having morning tea (Served there), in balcony outside the room, which is surrounded by complete greenery, is a fantastic experience.

Also, they serve nice breakfast in cafeteria, with good variety and tasty/ homely food, serene seating arrangements and excellent service.

Location of resort is superb. It’s not on main road and that bring lot of peace, privacy and quality to this place but it’s not far from market as well. Excellent choice for families who are looking for quality time together.

My kids really loved the place as there is ample place to play, roam around and enjoy. They explored every part of the resort. It’s worth every penny spent. Few things which will add icing on cake is, having LCD/ LED TV in rooms instead of old styled CRT, Wi-Fi coverage in the rooms, having more options from north Indian food menu and taste. They prepare the food on order.

Rubin and his team is great host and other can learn a lesson in serving customer from their staff. I strongly recommend staying at this place, for the ones who want to enjoy the serenity, peace of Kodai and Lily’s Valley resort.

I am already looking forward to my next stay here.

Room Tip: rooms in series 117 to 120 are spacious, excellent choice for families for view, privacy.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Hemanttak
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

622 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    367
    204
    31
    11
    9
See reviews for
250
245
4
12
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (184)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • German first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok
Level Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2013

I will Stay with my Family in Lillys Valley Resort in Kodaikanal
Is excellent location and Calm place , Relaxing very nicely and Good view Rooms
And rooms decoration made by wooden and open parking place ,
Lot of Flowers plant in this resort , and Hotel Staffs are very helpfull for every one
what ever we need the staff will fill that,
in this trip my family planing to visit three place kodaikanal, munnar and Alappey
Am So happy with Kodaikanal other Two place little bit upset ,
So our next planning only kodaikanal , staying at same resort in septemper
I recommed to all dont missing to stay lillys valley Resort ,
In this Resort Food is available for south Indian Food ,but food is not a big deal lot of hotels are available in that area , other hotels foods are good but staff and rooms are not good , noneat in the room ,
Best regards
Seyed Mohamed
Bangkok

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank saynabkk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

We stayed for 3 nights. Stay was good. The resort is located in an errotic place. Since we booked a package, we were provided with transport for sight seeing and was worth. The only issue was food. We didn't have choices.

  • Stayed April 2013
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank sha786
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Lily valley does not live up to the hype created arnd it . I booked Double deluxe room from Travel guru after seeing the rating as 3rd best in Trip Advisor .


But sorry to say the the double deluxe rooms are in pathetic conditions. let me describe in details :

Access:
This Villa is remote located and far from city . If you are looking for quiet stay then it may suite you but be warned its remote and not well connected.

Parking:
They have open air parking and no designated parking place. In my 2 day stay , first day i had to wait some 30 mits because the hotel approach was clogged by some tanker and other some bus was parked in front of my car .

Location:

as i have already mentioned , its remote and quiet place . The villa property has good garden and very green with loads of fauna and flowers . But then again be warned , there seems to be a timber workshop running inside the campus and sometime it resembled more of timer workshop. they are building more rooms and so construction disturbance is high . I will not recommend it if this continues.

The Room:
I was utterly disappointed with the room . At 3450+tax for double deluxe ,i would have got far more better room in other guest houses.
The room was small and shabby , there is wooden furniture and guess what no cushions on them . Pillows without cover , bedsheets poorly maintained.
Bathroom had an ancient geyser with wires all hanging out ,i was pretty afraid to operate it but no choice . The toilet had no shower faucets only mugs provided. The whole rooms looked like cheap joke .

I think it would have been better if we would have done packaged deals rather than tarvelguru DD rooms .

worst part is , they ran out of water twice in may stay . On the day of my checkout there was huge commotion in resort as water ran out at 7 in morning . Fortunately we woke early to leave early .
All other guests had to take up management for this . By the time we left like 2 hrs later , water still had not arrived . I am not sure why this resort cannot arrange water tankers in time. But this was really pathetic .

Food & Room Service:
They dont have running kitchen . For breakfast they serve not before 8:30 in morning . in afternoon and evening they will need 4 hrs pre-notice for food . they create new menu ever day . so be warned if you plan to feed in hotel this is not the place to be .

Overall :
Not recommended. I stayed 2 nights in this place for arnd 8000 approx . I sincerely feel that Quality of my stay would have been better if i had chosen some other place .

Room Tip: it is better you ask for Honemoon packages and room photos . The double deluxe rooms are shabby .
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 1 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
6 Thank sumit_verma
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilly'svalleyResort, Owner at Lilly's Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
we have our own water source, a natural spring in our property and during the whole year we never have to buy truck load of water from out side.However,currently the entire town is suffering with a drought and the water is not available even to buy and that too in timely delivery. The current water problem is been mentioned in detail to all our guests by placing a notice boards in each rooms. On this particular day we had a group of 60 people were staying and they had misappropriated the water and the water had ran out after when most of the customers had already taken their baths. Later,the water delivery was made within an half hour.Saying the pillow cover was not placed on pillow is can not be true and if it was the case the guest must have informed us and we would have done the needful immediately. The customer is always right is our philosophy and we will always stand by that. We are very sorry for not satisfying this guest and we regret it very much.we will try hard in the future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2013

The good -
Lovely rooms and greenery in the hotel. We got the queen's suite which is very nice. (note for couples, a lot of the rooms are on the ground floor and face the common walking area, so privacy is a bit less.)

Very nice flowering and fruit bearing plants all over the hotel!
The view is ok, there are much better places for the view here.

Its a bit far from the town. So its good that its quiet, but the walk from the hotel to the town center(around 3 km) is a bit tiring as it is hill station. Also, the road is quite deserted after 730 PM. So i recommend it for the people who are fit or who have their own vehicle.

The bad -
1. There is no food that is prepared in the hotel, so they have to order from somewhere. Also, the breakfast is limited on some items for the same reason. (Eg - They refused to give us extra vada's saying they were running out!!!) Unacceptable for a hotel of this range.
2. They call up at 630-7 in the morning that tea/coffee is ready. And repeatedly call every 15 minutes (read pester) you until you come for breakfast.
3. The people at the reception always seem pre-occupied. In our case, the manager billed us for sight seeing trip even when we were contemplating and asked him to wait for a bit.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip

Helpful?
4 Thank Aditya B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
lilly'svalleyResort, Owner at Lilly's Valley Resort, responded to this review, April 20, 2013
Sir,We have a strong kitchen force with 3-cooks and we cook all our food tailor made to the customers preferred tastes. However, we start cooking your food after receiving the food order.Most of our guests have praised about our food saying it's homely!! We're very sorry for any inconvenience caused from our side and it will be rectified in the future.
Thank you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 9, 2013

A place with wonderful environment, excellent staff and hospitality, good food and Good maintenance Excellent place to stay and spend a holiday with your loved ones. I would recommend this place for all the people who would want to have a peaceful stay taking time out of their busy and hectic schedule.

A wonderful and peaceful place to stay and enjoy the holiday. Worth It!!!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank ManikandanS_13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Thiruvananthapuram (Trivandrum), India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 1, 2013

I have stayed with my family, 4 days in Lilly's Valley Resort during the last week of March 2013. We enjoyed very much with the accomodation and the great food. The location and the rooms are very good and the Hotel staff's are friendly and co-operative. We look forward to go back very soon. Thanks for the Lilly's Valley Resort team...

Room Tip: Family Delux rooms are excellent
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank santhosh8
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.5 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#3 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
2.1 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.7 mi away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
0.8 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.5 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#12 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 176 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilly's Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilly's Valley Resort

Property: Lilly's Valley Resort
Address: 17 / 178 Sivanadi Road, Kodaikanal 624 101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Best Value Hotel in Kodaikanal
#3 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilly’s Valley is a uniquely beautiful resort set amid terraced gardens on three acres of wooded land, ringed by towering eucalyptus trees. Its 21 traditional stone cottages are constructed in the colonial British style, with handcrafted woodwork details throughout. It is the rare resort with an eco-focus and no concrete structures: even the furniture is lovingly made by hand by talented craftsmen! Built in 1982, Lilly’s Valley was the first resort in Kodaikanal. Our stone-and-wood cottages, both free-standing and attached, can accommodate couples, small and large family groups, students, and corporate groups. We are located in a quiet suburban neighborhood exactly 2 km from the center of town and the lake. With a short taxi ride or 15-minute walk, you’ll be in the heart of shopping, boating, horse-riding, roller-skating and other tourist attractions. Our style is low-key and customized to you: you can order simple, tasty Western and South Indian dishes from the kitchen, and hold gatherings in the garden gazebo with your own music and programs. We’ll even arrange a cozy night bonfire! We have special rates for long-term stays of one week or more, up to a 50% discount. Discounts are also available for weekdays. Many repeat customers, both Indian and foreign, have been coming here for decades, drawn back by the beauty, peacefulness, and cozy cottages. One Italian child born in one of our cottages returned 25 years later with her husband to stay in the same cottage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lilly's Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillys Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing