We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Awesome place, excellent staff”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilly's Valley Resort
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 3, 2013

I had a great stay with my daughter ,the staff are friendly and professional, the complimentary breakfast is excellent, the only thing I missed was espresso coffee, a rarity at the best of times in India,
I highly recommend lilly's valley resort for a quiet stay !

  • Stayed: January 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Superduperpaul
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

555 - 561 of 711 reviews

Reviewed January 31, 2013

The stay over there was very comfortable and memorable. Good view, good rooms, good service, good arrangement and excellent staff especially Mr.Ali. It is not too far from centre of the city and tourist spots. , has rest l will chose the same resort for my next visit. I give it 5 stars.

Room Tip: Its very cold in winter even for people from Northen India, so carry enough warm clothes.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Raj K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

Stayed at this resort during a business trip. Was very sceptical then found good reviews on Trip Advisor and booked a room here. The reviews did not let me down!
The property is big and well landscaped. The rooms are clean and maintained well. Thouugh they do not have a running kitchen, they provide complementary south indian breakfast with the option of dinner (if you choose to eat at the resort).
Also, I must add that the staff are very helpful and kind. The only complain that I have is that the hotel wifi was not strong enough to reach my room :-(
Overall, good stay!

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank R0N0S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 29, 2013

In February 2011 our eco-rock band Solar Punch was on its 3rd tour to India. Having heard about Lilly's Valley Resort from an audience member at one of our gigs in New York before the tour, we wound up at Lilly's for a several nights stay when we passed through Kodaikanal. We received the most welcome hospitality and our team cherishes the interactions we had with owner Raj Sukumar about renewable energy and sustainability. Our stop in Kodaikanal was a relaxing and serene experience, a peaceful sanctuary, which was perfect for us as we were just half way through our rigorous tour. We highly recommend Lilly's Valley Resort to any traveler who really wants to get away from it all and get close to fresh spring water in the misty mountain tops in Tamil Nadu! Though this review is about 2 years past due, we will always remember the overwhelming hospitality and care that we received at Lilly's. Solar Punch has since returned to India two more times (Delhi-to-Kashmir in Nov. 2011 and Mumbai-to-Gujarat in Jan. 2013). If our future track takes us back to Kodai, we will stay at Lilly's Valley Resort!

Room Tip: We were shown several rooms to choose from. We opted for the rooms up the long stairs from the (mai...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AlanBigelow
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 22, 2013

We, the newly married couple, visited this place for my husband's birthday. It was 3 nights stay. The best part of stay at this place was the management ambiance towards the guests. They have arranged a trip to local site seeing as well. The breakfast which was inclusive of package really worth it and the food was well cooked. The dinner as per the order also turned out well. I was really excited when they put a camp fire within the resort to kill the chillness. It was very romantic in fact. I requested them for a surprise birthday cake and candle light dinner on my husband's birthday, I was totally thrilled by the arrangements they made on my request. The place is surrounded by beautiful trees and plants, takes you away from your busy life.

On the flip side, the rooms which they provided were not up to the mark. We noticed the bites of bed bugs on our body on the very last day. There was trouble with hot water ever since we checked in. Since the temperature was drastically down, they should have taken measure to provide this basic facility. And, lacking room heaters made us shiver to the core. They couldn't arrange for the same.

Otherwise, the stay was really pleasant and unforgettable.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank RajSuji
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Customer service at it's best. Friendly and hard working staff impressed me from the minute I entered the resort. Wonderful quiet location yet not too far away. Clean rooms, well kept exteriors, delicious free breakfast, fast wifi in the reception, board games to keep the kids busy and the list goes on. Would go back and highly recommend to others. Ruban and Ali took care of everything for us. Price was right. I wish internet services are made available in rooms in future.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank CalRaRa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 9, 2013

A stay for 3 nights 4 days @ Lilly's Valley Resort, was completely memorable. I met the most co-operative and helpful staff. Daniel, Ruban and Hari Krishan to name a few among the entire staff of this Resort.
We really didn't have to worry about anything thing they had everything planned and ready for us, be it Candle light dinner, Bed Decoration or Sight seeing. We had received services that we did not expect.

The food served was cooked in coals, I can tell by the taste. It was very tasty. So was the service. We took Breakfast and dinner mostly in the Suite.

The ambiance of the Resort is beautiful, a pity that Kodai was covered with Fog when we arrived. The resort is fondly called Jungle Resort by the local Tour guides :)

The Rooms are clean and comfortable. The beds the wooden flooring, bath tub, hot water supply clean towels, bed sheets curtains and smell in the room, everything is just as it must be in a hotel.

We received a 5 star hotel treatment in this resort which is rarely seen in 5 star hotels as well.

It's worth every penny I spent.

I will visit again and stay in the same resort.

Room Tip: Take the last Honeymoon Suite in the corridor. Ask for Pushparaju as your guide and driver. He is ju...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rip-a-trip
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 82 in Kodaikanal
1,195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#9 of 82 in Kodaikanal
342 reviews
1 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 82 in Kodaikanal
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#10 of 82 in Kodaikanal
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 82 in Kodaikanal
473 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 82 in Kodaikanal
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilly's Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilly's Valley Resort

Address: 17/178 Sivanadi Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $40 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilly’s Valley is a uniquely beautiful resort set amid terraced gardens on three acres of wooded land, ringed by towering eucalyptus trees. Its 21 traditional stone cottages are constructed in the colonial British style, with handcrafted woodwork details throughout. It is the rare resort with an eco-focus and no concrete structures: even the furniture is lovingly made by hand by talented craftsmen! Built in 1982, Lilly’s Valley was the first resort in Kodaikanal. Our stone-and-wood cottages, both free-standing and attached, can accommodate couples, small and large family groups, students, and corporate groups. We are located in a quiet suburban neighborhood exactly 2 km from the center of town and the lake. With a short taxi ride or 15-minute walk, you’ll be in the heart of shopping, boating, horse-riding, roller-skating and other tourist attractions. Our style is low-key and customized to you: you can order simple, tasty Western and South Indian dishes from the kitchen, and hold gatherings in the garden gazebo with your own music and programs. We’ll even arrange a cozy night bonfire! We have special rates for long-term stays of one week or more, up to a 50% discount. Discounts are also available for weekdays. Many repeat customers, both Indian and foreign, have been coming here for decades, drawn back by the beauty, peacefulness, and cozy cottages. One Italian child born in one of our cottages returned 25 years later with her husband to stay in the same cottage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Lilly's Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillys Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing