We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“a must place to stay in Kodaikanal”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Lilly's Valley Resort
Ranked #5 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 24, 2012

we stayed in Kodai for 5 days from 24th Dec 2011 in a Queen's suite. The resort is located in a calm and serene location with a wonderful view of the mountains. The Manager, Mr. Ruban alongwith all the staff are hospitable, friendly and co-operative.You have to order the food little earlier but is is awesome and economical too. The room was neat and tidy and very beautifully decorated. If requested the resort staff even arranges for a bonfire. They even arrange for a forest trip at an extra cost, which is a true value for money. The breakfast, which came complimentary with our package was awesome with hot idly, dosas, ukma etc. On the last we had to arrange for a check out at 7 am in the morning but to our surprise the hotel staaf served us tea with brad toast, jam and butter....thanks lilly's valley for making our visit to Kodai such an wonderful and memorable experience.

Room Tip: all the rooms are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sabari D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (711)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

664 - 670 of 711 reviews

Reviewed January 13, 2012

We were in Kodai in the first week of Jan 12. It was so chilly out but we had these wooden rooms where it was so cozyyyyy tht we hardly felt the cold weather out.
The breakfast of hot yummy idlys and dosas was awesome. Overall the location was good. The area of the resort was designed with a british colonial architecture in mind. They have used the level differences of the land very well to develop beautiful garden. What else.... you have to visit the place to experience it...!

Room Tip: Go for the wooden cottages.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kpp97
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 8, 2012

Its a very good place for a group of 15 to 20 people to visit the ambiece is good and the staff were very hospiitable the food was good as well. though the resorts a little hard to find the location was great for photography they also had a bungalow which was apparently 110 years old. Very peacefull place to spend a weekend.

Room Tip: the suite on stilts are good
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Zeal1989
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 20, 2011

we stayed in Lilly's Valley resort for 3 days and it was a wonderful place, the food was great and the staff including the manager Mr Ruban Manohar were really friendly and helpful, i would suggest anyone visiting Kodai to stay here for a wonderful experience...

Room Tip: we stayed in Honeymoon royal stay, which was true to its name...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank nvarunk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We stayed at Lilly's Valley resort for 4 days and it was overall excellent stay. The Manager, staff of this resort made our stay effort less and at our convenient. To name it...trasport, accommodation, food, ambience and everything was great. Good view for couples and familes to relax. Rooms were well decorated and safe. Mainly food very really tasty & good.

  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Omganesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 4, 2011

We stayed at Lilly's Valley resort for 2 days and it was overall excellent stay.
The Manager, staff of this resort made our stay effor less and at our convenient. To name it...trasport, accommodation, food, ambience and everything. Thus as I subjected..it 'Value for Money' stay and we are completely amazed about the trip.

Room Tip: anyside would be fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank sekhar s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 26, 2011

We stayed at the Lilly's Valley resort for 3 day/2 nights during our Nilgiris tour in Oct 2011. We were two families and had booked the royal family suite. The suite had two bedroom and a drawing room, but the bedroom was too cramp for 4 adults and 2 kids; also the drawing room was small and couldn't accommodate all of us for breakfast or dinner. I would highly suggest for large families to go for two separate rooms instead of the family suite. The food was average and offered limited options. The resort was very clean (in spite of the fact that there was some constructions undergoing during our visit) and it was very close to the center of the town.

Our worst experience came from the regular electricity failure (load shedding) that occurred frequently during our entire two days stay. Also we learned that the resort have not yet invested in any power backup and to our repeated plead agreed to think about it (so please verify this before your visit).

I recommend this resort for only couples and leisurely travelers. I found it a little unsuitable for families with kids because of the electricity problem and limited options in food (breakfast/lunch/dinner).

Room Tip: Royal suites have good furniture and a lot of space outside the rooms for sun basking.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank amukhe
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 82 in Kodaikanal
1,195 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#9 of 82 in Kodaikanal
342 reviews
1 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 82 in Kodaikanal
691 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.6 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#10 of 82 in Kodaikanal
818 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 82 in Kodaikanal
473 reviews
1.6 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 82 in Kodaikanal
515 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Lilly's Valley Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Lilly's Valley Resort

Address: 17/178 Sivanadi Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#2 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Best Value Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $40 - $82 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 26
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Lilly’s Valley is a uniquely beautiful resort set amid terraced gardens on three acres of wooded land, ringed by towering eucalyptus trees. Its 21 traditional stone cottages are constructed in the colonial British style, with handcrafted woodwork details throughout. It is the rare resort with an eco-focus and no concrete structures: even the furniture is lovingly made by hand by talented craftsmen! Built in 1982, Lilly’s Valley was the first resort in Kodaikanal. Our stone-and-wood cottages, both free-standing and attached, can accommodate couples, small and large family groups, students, and corporate groups. We are located in a quiet suburban neighborhood exactly 2 km from the center of town and the lake. With a short taxi ride or 15-minute walk, you’ll be in the heart of shopping, boating, horse-riding, roller-skating and other tourist attractions. Our style is low-key and customized to you: you can order simple, tasty Western and South Indian dishes from the kitchen, and hold gatherings in the garden gazebo with your own music and programs. We’ll even arrange a cozy night bonfire! We have special rates for long-term stays of one week or more, up to a 50% discount. Discounts are also available for weekdays. Many repeat customers, both Indian and foreign, have been coming here for decades, drawn back by the beauty, peacefulness, and cozy cottages. One Italian child born in one of our cottages returned 25 years later with her husband to stay in the same cottage! ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Lilly's Valley Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Lillys Valley Hotel

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing