We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Jai
Nearby Hotels
The Carlton(Kodaikanal)
$145
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
JC Residency(Kodaikanal)
$70
$63
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$118
$115
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hilltop Towers(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$54
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$130
$121
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$82
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Kodai Resort(Kodaikanal)
$135
$107
Agoda.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Le Poshe by Sparsa(Kodaikanal)
$90
$87
Orbitz.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$97
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
The Fern Creek(Kodaikanal)
$81
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (257)
Filter reviews
257 results
Traveler rating
113
111
20
7
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
113
111
20
7
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewshot watertriple roompleasant stay at hotelconference roomkodai lakedvd playerbreakfast and dinnerfree wifibear shola fallscourteous stafffamily stayroom serviceelectric kettleaffordable pricelake areacomplimentary breakfast iscoffee maker
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
252 - 257 of 257 reviews
Reviewed December 8, 2009

It was an average hotel. hotel is around 1 to 1.5 KM from Bus stand. so if u want to travel cab u will end up in paying 60-100 Rs but u can go by walk also if u dont have more things to carry. Since we booked the room in adv, they picked us on reaching Kodai.room was clean and the room service was ok. but food was below average.

  • Stayed: September 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank BloreLMB
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. Your review has helped us and we have now hired very good chefs and from what I speak to the customers they have very good comments about the food. If you happen to visit Kodai next please do visit us and try our food and give us another review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 3, 2009

I had been to this hotel for my honeymoon. Its a good place to stay. However, the restaurant is not so good. It looks like one that are there in dharamshalas. Rooms are big and the ambience is also good, not extremely great though. Good value for money.

  • Stayed: March 2006, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Vijay_Bauva
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2009

hotel is just ok.considering the cost its good...food is not upto the mark..just ok..cannot compare with their own sister concern ,hotel hill top.though they tell as buffet breakfast, almost all items are limited.i think its better to stay there and have food from hotel hilltop (near )

  • Stayed: November 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kiranramesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
jaykesh, Owner at Hotel Jai, responded to this reviewResponded July 25, 2012

Dear Sir,
Thank you for your review. Your review has helped us and we have now hired very good chefs and from what I speak to the customers they have very good comments about the food. Thank you for your appreciation on Hilltop food our food here in now equal to it. I have also advised the staff on buffet and also am working on renovating the dining area and giving a new look. If you happen to visit Kodai next please do visit us and try our food and give us another review. Thank you.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 12, 2009

kodaikanal as a tourist destination wont appeal to those who have visited north hills like gangtok,nainital,dalhousie,shimla,mussorie but its an ok place for a day or two to beat the heat.not much activities there and sightseeings are not all that great.
the hotel is a budget hotel but quite average.book it on reaching there if its not a very busy time you choose to travel.the room given to us was spacious and neat but it wasnt comfortable(quite cold).hot water was provided only for a couple of hours and it was absolutely muddy.food wasnt all that great.i would recommend the restaurant of sivapriya as a cheaper and better eating place for veggies.its at a walkable distance.therz a restaurant gokul nearby.by all means avoid it.
therz nothing great about the hotel.it is good for budget travellers,can be borne for a day or two.

  • Stayed: April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
9  Thank neha v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2007

The appearence of the hotel Jai(outside) was good. But the interiors in the Double deluxe rooms were not good. So, i asked my front manager to chage the room to Family room, which is in First floor. The Family room was good with interiors. The Hotel is located about 1.5 kms(approx.) away from Kodai Lake and it is walkable. If u hire a cab, they would charge you Rs.50/-. Rent for the Double dulex room was Rs. 825/- (incl breakfast and dinner for a couple.) i.e. Rs. 525 for dlx room and Rs. 300/- for Breakfast and Dinner. The food complimented by them was good.
The managers are very friendly type and they can be accessed any time. Hot water available between 7 am to 9:30 am and from 6:30 pm to 8:30 pm.
The Hilltop Hotel is the sister concern for this same management.

  • Stayed: September 2007, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
    • Business service (e.g., internet access)
8  Thank ghouse
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews