We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Comfortable Stay and good food” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Kodai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kodai Resort
Ranked #3 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bangalore
Level Contributor
28 reviews
24 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
“Comfortable Stay and good food”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 7, 2010

I booked the hotel through makemytrip.com, after going through the options available on their website. Rooms appear to be very large in the pictures on the net however on arrival when we checked into the the room, it was a slight disappointment as room size was less than expectations but was enough for a family with two young kids. The balconies of the room here are quite big.The quality of the north indian food was upto our taste and quite good. Hotel is centrally loacted, opposite the coakers walk, stones throw from the botanical gardens, walkable from the lake - the happening place, location is excellent.

  • Stayed May 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank TravelWatchBangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

617 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    307
    233
    43
    23
    11
See reviews for
325
180
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (194)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
1 review
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 6, 2010

It wasn't exactly upto the our expectation since we decided this place after going through a lot of reviews.

Positivies
-->The only best thing about this place is it's location. The bus stop and some of the tourist attractions are at a walkable distance .
--> The view from the hotel wasn't that great atleast we were not pleased with ours for the sum we had payed.

Negatives
-->Though the food was ok, It took forever for the order to be fullfilled. We had to wait for around an hour for just a lemon drink and their menu is more like kerala food...
--> There was no fan in the room nor was there a fire place...
--> Value for money ? ....no not exactly but it could have been better!

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Sury_Bangalore
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gujarat
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 18, 2010

the stay was very good and got all amenities that one expects in leisure. vehicle arrangement was excellent to see the entire kodai. Though i traveled from Western India where i live now actually native place is near to kodai only. From now onwards i will prefer to stay here whenever i go to my native or kodai. beautiful, calm place. loved a lot

  • Stayed April 2009, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank physiogk
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 14, 2010

The hotel is very ideally located in Kodaikanal and has a wonderful view from the rooms. The main market place is very close to the hotel and there are a lot of shops and eating spots pretty close to the hotel. However, the rooms get stuffy at night as there are no fans and the windows need to be kept shut to keep insects out. Also, the water in the bathrooms give out a peculiar smell which is unpleasant. Once a person has a bath in the bathroom, the unpleasant smell lingers for a long time. It gives a sense of dirtiness and bad hygiene.

Stayed January 2008
Helpful?
Thank dr_reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
tamilnadu
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed February 4, 2010

I would like to thank the staff and mgmt (especially Mr.JYOTHISH JOHN ,G.M) of kodai resort hotel for the wonderful stay we had. The room ambience was cozy and blended well with surrounding.

The food they served was excellent and tasty. the service also was too good.

i will surely recommend this hotel to my relatives and friends.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank ashly2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chandigarh
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 31, 2010

It was a nice experience staying there in this hotel at Kodaikanak, Tamilnadu. Room service was excellent, food quality was superb, catering was of international standard, it is ideally located. Staff was very courteous, polite & obedient. Iwould always stay there if i happen to visit KODAIKANAL again.
THANKS

  • Liked — Ambience
  • Disliked — 0none
  • Stayed January 2010, traveled on business
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank RKS_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
nellai
2 reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed January 29, 2010

Had a good time during our stay at kodai resort. The location and the view are great. It is nicely placed in a perfect spot to be convenient to all the main tourist attractions at kodaikanal. But you should most importantly try a trekking trip, We had an amazing, thrilling experience on hills. The staffs are polite, service is good, adding up it is worth the money,

  • Liked — Nice place
  • Disliked — Food
  • Stayed April 2008, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Check in / front desk
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Service
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Business service (e.g., internet access)
Helpful?
Thank vikkytauren
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.0 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.5 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.8 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#14 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#5 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 492 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.2 mi away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 619 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai Resort

Property: Kodai Resort
Address: Coaker's Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kodai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kodai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodai Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing