We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of Kodai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kodai Resort
Ranked #4 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“wonderful.”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 23, 2014

The place is quiet and very well maintained .Very close to the kodai market and lake,park.The best place to stay in kodai.Service is excellent and breakfast is also very good.I would recommend one should stay at this place in kodai.

Room Tip: Choose the rooms beside the kitchen on the ground floor for better room service
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank 2014lalit
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

633 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    313
    241
    45
    23
    11
See reviews for
336
185
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (197)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
1 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 22, 2014

This review is my personal opinion and does not relate to any common influences.

This so called "resort" drained my money during 3rd week of April 2014. Dont feel of going there ever.

Rooms are full of flies. They will wake you up in middle of the night. Very small room with no view. If you come to the terrace of the room you get to see only the city and a very small glimpse of the hills.

Furniture, bathroom fittings, lightings and room service is pathetic.

We had to shorten the trip and find out another destination/hotel.

Some of guests will wake up with noise of cars starting, because they have made the badminton court as parking.

Site seeing trips are again unplanned. They try to fill the bus without taking care of personal need.

Complete waste of 2 nights stay.

Room Tip: Choose rooms starting with "4".
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Maharshi B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
3 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 18, 2014

I stayed here for 3ngs this week, yes the property is very nice close to the market and for sightseing. Staff is good has indoor games lovely park and children's play area, best for family.
Now comes the bad part the food has to be improved a lot. I did not get the special menu which was mentioned in the package for 3ngs and even the boat ride or the horce ride which was complementery i had to shell it out from my pocket.. Overall a good place to spend the weekend..

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajeshnikkam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
43 reviews
34 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 18 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

I have stayed here along with my wife between the 12th and 14th of April. The location, the courtesy of staff members, proximity to attractions like Coaker's walk and the calm surroundings make this hotel a wonderful place to stay. On one of the days during our stay, we had issues with room service (The food we ordered arrived too late). We cancelled the order and they did not bother us. The next day, we received a call from the owner of the hotel and he apologized to us about the inconvenience caused. Also, he provided us with chocolates and Jam as complimentary for this. What better customer service can you ask for?!

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kiran K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 24 helpful votes
2 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 15, 2014

As me and my husband went for a mini honeymoon , we wanted a place where we can have a good time . While checked in we requested for a suite which was on a higher level which was as per the reviewers a better option to opt for . We were declined stating ibibo was supposed to inform the same to us . However we were never given any option as such while booking the place . Anyways , we moved to the suite 19 . It was a good garden view , however we had to climb a no. of steep steps each time we had to go out. Hot water is not 24 hours in this place . No carpets and rugs in such a cold place was actually not what we expected . Food is very costly with not a great quality . Last night of our stay we ordered from the hotel and it took them 2.5 hours to get the food and the taste was beyond horrible . We did complain about it but the dinner's worth was not waived off our bill . But the manager did apologize for the same. We were extending our stay for a day and I asked them if we could shift to another room coz we were staying for half a day , the staff replied they have all the suites alike . They are not even aware that their own website states 2 different suites , which is strange and not likable at all.

However , we liked the morning breakfast spread and have good memories of the garden area in the hotel with birds around .The location is definitely a plus for this place .

  • Stayed April 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank amu_angel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Delhi, India
Level Contributor
155 reviews
43 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 71 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 12, 2014

I had selected the property after meticulously reading the review. I must say that choosing the property was a good decision. The resort has huge cottages which we booked through Groupon. The view around the Hill is excellent. Hotel has indoor games facilities, a massage centre which was reasonably priced. We went in mid March it was quite cool and pleasant. The surprise part was that the resort would supply hot water bag in the night to keep you warm. Breakfast was complementary and spread was good. South India dishes are worth trying here.
It is a heritage property and the place has some old British charm. room Service needs some check by the hotel as some staff seems to be overworked by the evening and ready to go off so lack commitment. Restaurant manager was very active all day and should motivate the ground level. The hotel is bang opposite Bryant park which is at the turning of the main road leading to the Hotel about 500 mts. Coackers walk is also across the hotel at a little distance. We chose this property over Club Mahindra which is just nearby because of the reviews. This property has heritage touch. it is well maintained. Has lots of fruit trees around the property. Well maintained garden where one can spend time. Has a personal touch . Rooms are Huge with separate living room and a balocony to relax. Good place to chill if you intend to spend long week

Room Tip: Valley view cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank abhijitsengupta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 11, 2014

The rooms are spacious. Terrace has got the best view, very near to crookers walk and the bus stand. Running hot water(24hrs) but the water is not hot at times, but warm. The WC's are small. Prefer to dine out unless its complementary.

Room Tip: Choose the room with a terrace(preferably 2nd r 3rd from the garden), to have a nice view. Prefe...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sunil9119
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.6 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 331 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 500 reviews
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 342 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai Resort

Property: Kodai Resort
Address: Coaker's Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kodai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Agoda, Booking.com and Priceline so you can book your Kodai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodai Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing