We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“OK - found it over priced”
Review of Kodai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kodai Resort
Ranked #5 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
“OK - found it over priced”
Reviewed June 1, 2013

I had visited this place in May 2013, had booked 3 rooms for 2 nights it costed me ~25k INR, for that amount i do not think i got my money worth.

Had one meal and that was it did not find it worth visiting again.

Its an OK resort. It has got sufficient parking space, and the location of the resort is also good.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Srinath M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

655 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    328
    245
    46
    23
    13
See reviews for
349
190
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed May 12, 2013

Kodai resort is the most ideal place to stay in Kodaikanal.Excellent view, prompt service and cleanliness are the high points of this place. I would absolutely recommend this resort to anybody who intends to go for a holiday in kodaikanal.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Sonia V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed May 4, 2013

The staff were polite and courteous,rooms were clean with a good view but there would be millions of stairs.their so called bornfire was irritating and if u get a cottage near that u will suffer.I would advice u to ask for a cottage upstairs in case u have come with aged people.location is pretty good.

  • Stayed May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bharadwaj95
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sri Lanka
Level Contributor
5 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 3, 2013

I and my family got a chance to stay here from 15 Apr to 18 Apr. 2013 and we enjoyed the calm,quiet atmosphere, the smiling faces of the staff and the hospitality in the restaurant.
The meals were up to taste.
The wonderful thing we experienced is the incense aroma every evening and the daily morning inquiry calls.
The best part of the room was the scenic balcony.
They could try to provide 24Hour hot water if possible.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank peterSriLanka
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 34 helpful votes
Reviewed May 2, 2013

>Not worth for the money paid.

> Hot water not available afte 11 am

> Food is average

> The inhouse travel help desk charges more money when you compare with outsider.

> Thanks to Sakthi - Helps a lot during our stay.

Room Tip: Before checking in make sure to check the rooms so that you will not be surprised what has been pro...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank marlecha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level Contributor
23 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed April 19, 2013

I booked the resort after reading the reviews on Trip Advisor and to be honest wasn't expecting the place to be great!!! My primary reason of booking this place was that it was much cheaper than the Villa Retreat and Fern Creek and since I needed 2 rooms, this fit my budget. From the time we entered the place, my parents, hubby & me, were wowed by the resort's layout, ambience, the location and the rooms. The service was good too. Mr. Stalin at the Travel Desk did a great job of providing us with cabs for the pick up/drop facilities and for the sight seeing and was also concerned about how good the drivers were. Mr. Murugan who was in charge of room service for us and served us dinner on all 3 days was very prompt, clean and very pleasant, unlike what some other reviewers have mentioned. Mr. Williams at the restaurant was also very prompt and was keen to get our feedback and improve upon things.

I'm truly surprised by what some reviewers have mentioned about the rooms, restaurant, food and the service, cos in all these parameters I thought Kodai Resort was good, if not excellent. In my opinion, this place is real good value for money, since the rooms are big and spacious, have well maintained gardens(with emus, ducks, etc.), a recreation room, very close to nearby attractions (Coakers Walk, Lake, etc) and centrally located in Kodaikanal.

Every staff member at the resort was very courteous and were checking on our requirements everyday and looking for feedback to improve their service better, which is something I haven't seen even in some 4* or 5* hotels/resorts.

Couple of things, which can be improved in the resort are,
1. The Food - we'd have liked a little more variety in the buffet and the a-la-carte menu. While the food was tasty, a little more variety in the menu would help. For instance, there were times when we felt like having dosas at night and dosas were available only during breakfast.

2. A fan in either the living room or the bedroom. Sometimes, the room became claustrophobic and hot, especially once we went out in the afternoon and came back. Since there is minimal ventillation, a small fan would definitely help.

If you want to stay at a quiet serene place, away from the noise and yet close to all the major attractions, restaurants, markets in Kodaikanal, then Kodai Resort is the place to be!

Room Tip: As the others have mentioned... rooms at a higher level have a better view and are less noisy when t...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Harini2285
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 15, 2013

Hot water was unavailable despite specific timings mentioned. Provide half an hour to receive room service and sometimes reminder is required. Kitchen closes at 10 p.m. Expensive considering it is a non-ac room, also it does not even have a fan. Do not take the package as you will have to pay all other entry fees and horse rides and boat rides are not - arranged but reimbursed at a limit of Rs 75/- whereas horse ride is Rs 100/- and Rs 140/- for a boat ride. Apart from this you will have to pay guide charges at Rs 30/- per head per day. Food is expensive pretty average and options are very limited. Desert is fruit salad or ice-cream. Only good point is the ambience. Overall avoidable unless you are inflexible on travel dates do not find any other location and are willing to pay expensive rates

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank iyer_venky
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 76 in Kodaikanal
1,121 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.6 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 76 in Kodaikanal
343 reviews
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#8 of 76 in Kodaikanal
523 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai Resort

Property: Kodai Resort
Address: Coaker's Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#2 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kodai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kodai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodai Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing