We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Falls short of basic amenities”
Review of Kodai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Kodai Resort
Ranked #7 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviewed February 14, 2013

I recently ( Feb 2013 ) spent two nights at the Kodai Resort with my wife and two and a half year old son. We chose it as it had got the Tripadvisor certificate of excellence in 2012 but faced quite a few issues during our stay.

The resort is centrally located close to the Coaker’s Walk , Bryant park and the lake . It is also situated close to a church . Our visit coincided with the annual celebrations at the church . This meant we were bombarded by a constant barrage of songs ,sermons and speeches through a series of loudspeakers outside the boundary wall just in front of our room ( No. 50 ) starting at eight in the morning and going on till late in the night. Though we requested a change in rooms we were told there were none vacant , despite it not being the holiday season.

The balcony though an excellent idea would have benefited from a few chairs and a table . Ours had a couple of rickety plastic chairs stacked up in a corner. The balcony remained out of bounds on both evenings due to the sound from the adjacent church. When we took our son and spent some time one morning we realised that it is extremely dangerous for young children. Our son could easily squeeze between the railings and could have ended up on top of an unprotected window ledge with a fall of over ten feet. We had the same concerns when we went down to the garden . The gap between the railings are too much and the fall can be more than a couple of feet.

The rooms are quite spacious with a separate sitting area and a bedroom. We had problems with flies in the room and on complaining the gentleman in the reception very casually said ‘this is the fly season in Kodai'. The facilities mentioned on the brochure includes 'running hot water' and ‘room heater on request'. It does not mention that hot water is available only for 4 hours in the daytime and in the evening. It becomes a real problem when travelling with a child and the night temperature drops to below 10 C. The room heater is available only on payment of an additional charge.

The food in general was tasty though we had to request dosas and other items to be served hot.

In short , the resort is centrally located with courteous staff ( though lacking energy ). I can accept that some features of the resort that we did not like including the steep walk to the rooms and proximity to the town cannot be changed and might in fact be viewed as an advantage by others. Hopefully most of the other issues are addressed. 24 hour running hot water , child safety, better pest control and serving hot food should considered mandatory in any resort. Transparent pricing of facilities and information of any inconvenience guests may have to incur during the stay should be done prior to booking /checking in as a part of good practice.

Rajesh , Puja , Pranav

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with family
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
3  Thank tajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (679)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

523 - 529 of 680 reviews

Reviewed February 12, 2013

Very good location, near to many attractions, at the same time away from noise/traffic, pleasant location with valley views, big garden area with lots of trees. Excellent resort with very good cottages & many facilities - camp fire, indoor games, gym, library, spa, & nice restaurant. Buffet breakfast is very good and food is nice. Hotel & Restaurant Staff are attentive and helpful. Special thanks to Murugan - restaurant staff, he gave very good room service to make our dinner very special. He is quick, friendly, attentive and understands the taste of customers.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Bala193
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 12, 2013

I visited Kodai resort with my wife in February. Even though i opted for executive suite i found it little less on space. I did not like washroom at all its so poorly designed. Services provided are OK.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank Gagan A
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed February 5, 2013

It was a great experience all 360 degrees including reception, rooms, travel facilities, the hospitality, the food though bit little, everything fantastic.

Thanks to all staff including Saravanan, Sethu, John for their excellent yet polite services.which made our stay memorable

I took honeymoon package, the cake was awesome, the execute suite rooms were spacious, and room decoration was just unique.

Overall the experience was fantastic in a romantic place

Room Tip: The first day you land in the hotel, you would be tired and hence spend first day in taking rest, ex...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Shivkumar_Ramannavar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We stayed in executive room 28 &35 from 23 - 25.01.2013.
1). Find the bath room is congested.
2). Hot water is timed- available in morning and evening for about 4-5 hrs.
3) Even this scheduled hot water was not coming on 23 and 24.
4) Had to make repeated call to front office to get hot water running.
5). Lodged a written complaint about the hot water issue on 24th night.
6) 24th night dinner was buffet. . Guests are to take buffet or go to room and order room service. Cannot order ala- carte and eat in the dining hall

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vasu v
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 31, 2013

We are so happy with our stay at Kodai resort. The service was impeccable, the location just right (even though I must say The Villa retreat has a much better view overlooking the valley floor below!) and the staff friendly and helpful. The food in the hotel restaurant was probably the best we had in town, although the food was generally much better (and more south-indian specific) in Chennai and Trichy.

The private tour which the hotel arranged was great (suicide point, pine forest, etc) and the on-site ayurvedic treatments and massages were truly excellent both in terms of offerings and price. We will definitely be coming back as soon as we can!

Room Tip: Make sure you get a room as high up in the complex as possible for a good view. Rooms closer to the...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jonas H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 30, 2013

Its very good place to stay in kodai with good restaurant. But if you book pakage then the level of service for the rest of pakage item is not that good. Value of Pakage booking is not that worth. Bus service for travel is general and dont drop at hotel. You will not have any benefit on pakage booking.
So just go and book your room and enjoy you will have great fun time.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank palolem_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
331 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#10 of 78 in Kodaikanal
573 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#15 of 78 in Kodaikanal
362 reviews
2.6 mi away
Hill Country Kodaikanal
Hill Country Kodaikanal
#19 of 78 in Kodaikanal
395 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai Resort

Address: Coaker's Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $56 - $106 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — Kodai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Kodai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodai Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing