We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice hotel”
Review of Kodai Resort

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
Kodai Resort
Ranked #7 of 77 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 6 Contributor
69 reviews
27 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 45 helpful votes
“nice hotel”
Reviewed November 3, 2011

we stay for 3 nights hear in kodai resort hotel ...we had a nice time there ..my kid had a wonderful time finding diffrent trees they have planted,food was grate as they made all items for us without onion & garlic..Very near to coakers walk & short cut road to lake

Room Tip: take a room on hill side not on down garden side.nice view in morning from your individual tarrace.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rasesh B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

660 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    332
    246
    46
    23
    13
See reviews for
352
192
4
13
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (200)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level 6 Contributor
179 reviews
28 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 173 helpful votes
Reviewed October 24, 2011

This is our second stay in Kodai Resort and they upgraded our rooms to a executive suite, once they come to know about our previous stay.
The resort is located next to Coaker's walk and Bryant Park and Kodai Lake and 5 min walk to Mall. The travel desk is also friendly and they arrange a good sight seeing according to your tastes. They also send cabs for pickup to dindigul or Kodai Road.
The rooms are quite big with big Drawing and dining area with sofas and a dining table. Then we have one big balcony kind of porch overlooking the mountains.
The resort garden is full with Plum,apple,cherry,Pears and what not trees. The flowers and birds chirping are delight. I shot too many birds like Bulbul, Nightingale, Laughing Dove, Sunbird,Robins, Mynah, etc during my stay. You need to wake up early to see the morning glory and shoot the birds with your zoom camera.
The breakfast spread is lovely and so is their room service. They also have a excellent bell boy and cloakroom service.
On the downside is their Bathroom and hot water service, which has some limited time.
This resort is very close to nature and its beauty, and is ideal for relaxing stay.

Room Tip: All rooms have same view. You can choose the near by rooms so that you dont have to walk up and down...
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank saish746
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 5 Contributor
52 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
Reviewed October 19, 2011

A very dissapointing stay at the kodai resort hotel (near coakers walk). my 3rd stay here after a gap of almost 6 years. the rooms are still good, however the last renovation seems to have bought in cheap fittings and sloppy workmanship! even the doors are like a 100 gram plastic stuff! to top it all the reception staff is the worst you can find in any hotel, absolutely crude with not an iota of hospitality! the housekeeping will put you off by saying 'my duty time is over' ! Any service you ask for , bang comes the answer which will only inform you of the cost! I must say at this point that their restaurant was good and the staff was completely in contrast to the others. the restaurant manager i guess and the service staff were absolutely courteous, and food was quite ok. The gardens are a plus! However the crudeness of the of the staff made sure i shifted to another property soon!

Room Tip: ask for reception level rooms if you are uncomfortable with stairs, as all other rooms need quite a...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank Raj_Goel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, India
Level 6 Contributor
171 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 248 helpful votes
Reviewed October 13, 2011

This is the best place we found for the family with multiple friend families. We got good home stay environment. Worth for the money and the environment is too good. Good room service with best dinning. Reception is too good. The location is the best part as nearer to lake, bus stand and opposite to coaker's walk.
Highly recommending for honeymoon pair and for families. Even for college trip groups.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank Sathish_trichy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Muscat, Oman
Level 5 Contributor
51 reviews
23 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed September 16, 2011

I been to kodaikanal many times with friends, as a couple, family .... stayed in most nice places in town to privsate houses.

Kodai resort is a very old resort which they have revamped in the last few years. Its location is ideal for those who want to just walk around and get to the famous spots in the town. Its right at the entrance to Croakers walk. For people coming to kodai for the first time this location is ideal as you dont have spend a lof money on taxis just hire a cycle and it will be fine. Un fortunately the town as such is too comercial , over populated & shabby now.

The staff at this resort was polite and friendly. Food was above average, its cooked fresh , we liked it nothing to complaint about.The view from the overdane restaurent is good you can see clouds coming in through the window in afternoon at times and on clear day you get to see the valley. They have reading area with a libraray from where you get the same valey view and their little garden ...its really nice to sit here and relax its only partly covered ( just a roof).

The garden- its small but its beautiful with pears, plums goose, ostrich etc. small play area perfect for kids and family. At night you can have campfire in the same area. All members of my family - wife, brother, parents, kids they all just loved the garden... we actually spent more time in the garden than in the cottages.

We were 5 adults and child we booked to executive cottages 44 & 43. I must say these cottages have the best garden view. The advantage of the cottages I booked is that I see the garden in fron of me not the other cottages roof below which is the case for most cottages. The only propblem with these cottages are that there is a fleet of staris you have to climb up and down to get to the reception and restaurent ( not advisable for old folk or those with knee issues)

The executive cottages come with a small mini garden at the entrance of it with a tiny table and 2 tiny chairs which is perfect to sit and have a coffee, if the plum tree has ripe fruits you can pluck and eat them while sitting on this tiny char! Inside the cottage first you enter a living room which has small dinning table, an LCD tv, kettle, cofee, tea sugar scahets, arm chair for 2 and dewan or small bed for 1 person to sleep on. The bedroom comfoters, linen pillow are all good but the bedroom its a bit small though. The toilet is very cramped but serves the purpose and are clean. Unfortunately the cottage where my parents stayed the toilets gave a foul smell ocasionally. ( I guess thats the only complaint I had). Room service was good they changed towels, replenished soaps, body lotion etc ( but you will need to ask for this or else they may not come) We order some food from outside and called room service for just the utensils and they were happy to come and give it. Not even once did i have to call up room service and wait for more than 10 minutes to get the service I requested. I did not order food through room service though other than hot milk for my daughter.

Do not compare this place with any star rated resort its defintely not in that legue but they are tring their best to be there. Its defintely a good place and I am sure you will not be dissapointed.

Room Tip: 42,43,44,45 are rooms with the garden right in front ensureing more privacy, 37 is also a good choic...
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank SonySimhan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 5 Contributor
59 reviews
21 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 53 helpful votes
Reviewed July 29, 2011

Spent the most glorious three days at Kodai Resorts in April 2011. Our room and balcony had a great view - perfect for spending lazy evenings. The location was fabulous - closeby to pretty much all the sights that Kodaikanal had to offer.

The room was very well planned and built. Kept very clean, the staff were courteous and a reasonable breakfast on offer. On the whole - complete value for money - when compared to other more expensive hotels in the area ( I am looking at you The Carlton!)

The downside - they keep calling you every 1 hour asking if you wanted spa treatment!

  • Stayed April 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
8 Thank PrashanthV
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level 4 Contributor
15 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed July 27, 2011

It was my second trip to Kodaikanal but this hotel made it look so different from the first one that I never felt that I have ever been here before. The room service and breakfast was so good that the first impression itself raised our expectation for rest of the stay and I'm very happy to say that the hotel staff were easily able to meet that. I stayed there for 2D/2N and it was very nice to see their commitment towards guests even in their complimentary breakfast menu. I was very satisfied the way the restaurant staff were taking care of each guest and explaining some of the prepared delicacies. We enjoyed some of the indoor games as well. It's very close by to the best scenic places like The Coaker's Walk (http://www.kodaikanal.com/travel/coakerwalk.htm) and lake. Hotel staff proactively suggested us to take a short-cut to the lake, which made us to walk to the lake in no time. On the way to the resort, we found a very good Chocolate shop, which was preparing chocolates in the shop itself and quality also was very good. I would say that if you are staying in this hotel, it will be worth paying every penny for it.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank manish_mj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 77 in Kodaikanal
1,136 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
1.0 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 77 in Kodaikanal
310 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.6 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 77 in Kodaikanal
347 reviews
2.5 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Kodai Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Kodai Resort

Property: Kodai Resort
Address: Coaker's Walk, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#5 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Kodai Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 50
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Agoda and Priceline so you can book your Kodai Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Kodai Hotel Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing