We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Carlton is peaceful yet fun”
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 8 more sites!
The Carlton
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed July 24, 2013

We stayed at this property for 4 nights recently. It was a family get together and we had a suite and 3 deluxe rooms. All the rooms were clean, spacious and came with big balconies overlooking the lake. Carlton scores fully on the location (and many other things!). The views from the room were stunning and makes you feel that you are in a pristine jungle with a lake in the middle. Yet when you step out of the hotel you are in the centre of town!

The rooms were very good with good quality beds and nice bathrooms. Although the bathrooms had bath tubs, they were wide enough to have a comfortable shower. Food was decent as well. Although the entrance to the hotel was unimpressive, once you enter, the lower lobby overlooking the lake was stunning with fire place in the middle.

Everyone in the hotel was friendly and helpful. In particular I would like to mention the guys in the restaurant since they went an extra mile to satisfy our dietary requirements! Overall it was a great holiday and we will definitely go back!

Room Tip: Ask for rooms on the higher floor overlooking the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank SafariLover94
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. We would be privileged to have you staying at The Carlton sometime in the near future.
With warm regards
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (630)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

468 - 474 of 630 reviews

Reviewed July 22, 2013

Carlton has the best location, opposite the lake. Food and service is very good. The hotel also conducts games, magic shows etc in the evenings when there is not much to do outdoors. They have complimentary tours, shikara ride ad bicycles- just the things you need.

Room Tip: While almost all rooms have a lake view, try taking those towards left from middle as u get a bigger...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank heenagangs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

Dear Guest,
We thank you for sparing your valuable time to evaluate our services/facilities and give complimentary comments on the same. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 16, 2013

Just opposite to kodai kanal lake....huge property with spacious rooms and lovely food. Had been there our honeymoon. The staff is curteous and the rates reasonable. They even have bicycles to go cycling around the lake. The best hotel in kodaikanal

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank vipulsethia
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded July 18, 2013

Dear Mr. Sethia,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your kind words of appreciation and we look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM, The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 11, 2013

we with our sweetheart was stay on 5th july to 7th july 2013 in hotel
only one thing want to say
super super
hospitility no quection wonder
if you want to go five star in any where than can try without thinthing
for instant we have deal b/f and dinner , ist day in lunch we order jain dal with out onion and garlik
after that in dinner they prepared for us as a special without garlik and onion

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank pradeepk1309
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded July 14, 2013

Dear Mr. Pradeep,
We are happy to know that you enjoyed your stay. We thank you for your positive comments and we look forward to your next visit.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM
The Carlton

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 2, 2013

The Carlton @ Kodaikanal has quite a few things going for it.
For starters, the location is brilliant. It is right in the middle of the town. Almost every room over looks the lake and the property is almost a landmark in kodaikanal.
There are hardly any other options available in the five star catagory in kodaikanal. The few that are available are atleast 5-7 km away from the town.
The service and facilities are pretty standard, so no real complaints there either.

Now for the "what can be better" part!

Since it is probably the only hotel in its catagory available, there seems to be a general sence of complacency. The rooms and facilities are standard, no doubt but I've def seen much better for the same price.
The prices of all catagory of rooms is premium, u will def get cheaper options in other hill stations, or u will get better facilities for this price.
The menu in all meals can be improved, the non-vegetarion spread is very limited.

Bottom line is, if you are particular about visiting kodailkanal and not "any" hill station, then The Carlton is def the best option available, but it comes with a price tag, n u mite have seen better for the same prize elsewhere. So if u can afford it, go for it. You won't have any regrets.

  • Stayed: June 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank vishnu charan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded September 18, 2014

Dear Charan,
We thank you for staying with us and for taking time to give your comments both complimentary and suggestive. We have initiated corrective action on your concerns and you can be rest assured that your next visit would be comfortable and we hope to exceed your expectations.
With regards,
M..Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 24, 2013

Was really pleasantly surprised by the Carlton and how five star it i! The cozy rooms, the fantastic food (buffet for all three meals and a la carte too), the fire place lounge, the outdoor seating and the lake right there for you to view all day and night.

Rooms: Clean, has all the amenities you would need and you can ask for extra pillows etc if you want.

Food: The food is simply amazing! Both vegetarian and non-vegetarian. The buffet range is outstanding. From the starters, to main to desserts. Caution: A three day stay here can make you put on all the weight you lost for your Indian vacation!

Things to do: The hotel staff arrange for you to go around the little town if you want. They also arrange day trips to nearby waterfalls and plantations. The hotel itself has a massage, spa area with a games room, table tennis, board games etc in a nice cozy area by the lake. They also have their own boats and you can rent cycles to go around the lake too.

Service: The staff are very friendly and knowledgeable.

Would go there again and again. Love the little gift shop too. Picked up some lovely Indian jewellery for gifts.

I was there to check out the America boarding school right next to the hotel on work. The entire place has such a lovely hill station charm

Room Tip: Ask for a room with a big balcony facing the lake.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Nalini R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Mr. MIsty,
We thank you for choosing The Carlton for your stay. We are delighted to know that you enjoyed your stay. Your kind words of appreciation of the hotel and its facilities would motivate us to extend even greater services.
We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit in the near future.
M.Christopher K
Dy. General Manager,
The Carlton, Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 14, 2013

We statyed in the hotel for 3 nights. Had a fabulous time. Loved the location, comfort and food. The staff was very helpful and courteous. Indoor and outdoor play area helped to keep my son entertained:). This is one of the best hotel stays we have had. We got to know about the free renting of dvds at the last minute, I wish they had put it up near the reception.

  • Stayed: August 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ArchanaSudhir16
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded June 28, 2013

Dear Ms. Archana Sudhir,

We are happy to know that you have enjoyed your stay in The Carlton and thank you for your comments. We have taken note of you suggestion and we will initiate the necessary action.
We look forward to welcoming you in the near future.
M.Christopher K
Dy. General Manager,
The Carlton, Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.6 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#9 of 84 in Kodaikanal
842 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 84 in Kodaikanal
1,213 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 84 in Kodaikanal
528 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 84 in Kodaikanal
494 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#8 of 84 in Kodaikanal
698 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
#2 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $111 - $238 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlton 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Hotels.com, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Orbitz, Cancelon and HotelQuickly so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing