We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“If it's Kodai, it has to be "The Carlton"”
Review of The Carlton

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 9 more sites!
The Carlton
Ranked #6 of 84 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed May 23, 2013

For me and my family, whenever we visit Kodaikanal, we have to stay at The Carlton. This was our 6th trip to Kodaikanal and this time too we stayed at the Carlton. As always, the best property at a prime location overlooking the lake. It's splendid rooms with the lake view, the surrounding gardens and flowers within the hotel, the hotels own boat house with its Shikara and row boats, range of cycles to chose from, excellent kids and activity centre and above all amazing food and hospitality...

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Rajeev_Simu
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Mr. Rajeev,

We are very happy to know that you enjoyed your stay at out hotel. We thank you for taking time to give your comments on our hotel and it's facilities. We looking to welcoming you on your next stay at The Carlton.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
Dy. General Manager,
The Carlton, Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (628)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

479 - 485 of 628 reviews

Reviewed May 23, 2013

Great hotel with wonderful rooms, staff. Best part being the location. Recreation activities, food also are very good.

Having been a frequent visitor since childhood (over 25 years), Carlton has always been very very dear.

BUT over my last 2 visits (over 3 years) with my family, there has been a dramatic shift in focus towards corporates at the cost of families comfort. For instance, during my last visit a year ago, they had a corporate party with loud music in the front lawns till around 10.30pm. My kids (4 yrs. then) and us obviously had trouble sleeping. On the previous day, the games area was shut for almost the whole day as some corporates were having a meet+party in the entire Club bldg.
The current Carlton team needs to step back and understand its heritage. Unlike ordinary hotels, it doesn't have to bend backwards to please corporates in exchange for quick bucks...all this at the cost of putting other guests through a lot of discomfort.

I'd think twice before going with family again....i hope this helps other families as well.

Room Tip: lake facing rooms always better!
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Samar C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Samar,
It is a great pleasure to know that you have been a frequent visitor to our hotel. We thank you for staying with us and giving us your comments both positive and negative.
I apologise for the inconvenience caused to you during your stay. We have taken cognance of your comments and have addressed your negative comments. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and we ensure that it would be a different experience.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
Dy. General Manager
The Carlton, Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 13, 2013

First of all - - this is higher-end 5-Star hotel.

We went for a family trip and stayed at The Carlton for one day. The main purpose was to have a lakeview and relax. Thanks to our timing and the hotel staff for making sure that we got a lake-view room.

Being a star hotel, their service was very nice and welcoming.
LakeView room has a big balcony facing the kodaikanal lake. We had our three meals in the hotel itself. Food was good and buffet menu ensured they had different types to suit different tastes. Ofcourse, being a star hotel ..spicy food can only be ordered separate.

There was firewood and our daughter enjoyed spending few minutes around it. Then there was fireworks on the other side of the lake(Not sure if its a regular affair or only on special occasions in kodaikanal). But it was an awesome view - with different types of fire-crackers and the mirror images of the lights/colors in the lake. Was really amazing.

Summing it up - It was wonderful experience for the family.
Anyone who wants to spend a day or two with nice lake-view room in kodai, this is the only decent hotel.

Room Tip: Before booking - Ask for a Lakeview room. Otherwise, it would be like any star hotel room. THough th...
See more room tips
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Jagadishsri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded June 5, 2013

Dear Mr. Jagadishshri,
We are happy to know that you and your family enjoyed your stay at The Carlton, especially your daughter. We thank you for your appreciation of the services you enjoyed in our hotel.
Please do visit us again and give us another opportunity to serve you in the near future.
With warm regards,
M.Christopher K
Dy.General Manager
The Carlton, Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013 via mobile

It is such an beautiful property with all the recreation facilities . The food was the best of all . But it happened to my birthday on the next day . My wife's request of an cake was not taken care of which the staff had promised to do . The customer needs are to be taken care of wisely so that they will feel happy .

  • Stayed: May 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Anil J
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded June 9, 2013

Dear Mr. Anil,
We thank you for your positive comments and suggestive feedback. We have taken it up with the concerned department and taken correction action on your experience. We look forward to your next visit to The Carlton and assure you that your stay will be very pleasant and enjoyable.
With regards,
M.Christopher K
Dy. General Manager
The Carlton, Kodaikanal

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 11, 2013

I love this hotel and staff They did excellent job
The food is ultimate my doughtier (6 Yrs) also enjoyed the food like any thing
The lawns of the hotel is also well maintained
The hospitality is very good

Room Tip: Go for a Lake view room
See more room tips
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank MallibabuSuruchi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
krahejahospitality, Manager at The Carlton, responded to this reviewResponded February 24, 2015

Dear Guest,
We thank you for your appreciative comments on the hotel’s services and facilities and we are very happy to know that your daughter enjoyed the food. We look forward to welcoming you on your next visit and we hope to exceed your expectations.
With regards,
M.Christopher K
DGM

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013 via mobile

The Carlton has the benefit of being on the most prime location-near the lake.
The service is quite mediocre. On cold evenings it's great to sit by the fireside sipping your drink. But I would definitely eat elsewhere. The dinner buffet is terrible. Every time.

  • Stayed: October 2012
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank kaalika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2013

we were a group of around 50 ppl.
excellent property, good view from rooms
Direct access to lake.
plenty of activities.
package rates very attractive.
we played cricket in their lawn,
spend most of the time in their garden.
and surfed almost every possible corner of carlton.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank AkhileshAgarwal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.6 mi away
Sterling Kodai Lake
Sterling Kodai Lake
#9 of 84 in Kodaikanal
840 reviews
0.4 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 84 in Kodaikanal
1,212 reviews
2.3 mi away
Sterling Kodai Valley
Sterling Kodai Valley
#11 of 84 in Kodaikanal
527 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.8 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
0.8 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 84 in Kodaikanal
493 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#8 of 84 in Kodaikanal
697 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carlton? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carlton

Address: Lake Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Bar / Lounge Business Center with Internet Access Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
#1 Spa Hotel in Kodaikanal
#2 Luxury Hotel in Kodaikanal
#2 Business Hotel in Kodaikanal
#4 Family Hotel in Kodaikanal
#6 Romantic Hotel in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $112 - $237 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:5 star — The Carlton 5*
Number of rooms: 91
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Discover paradise besides a lake amidst virgin hills..only at The Carlton - 5 star hotel in kodaikanal, tamilnadu. One of the best resorts at hill stations in India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Agoda, Booking.com, Travelocity, Orbitz, Priceline, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, HotelQuickly and Cancelon so you can book your The Carlton reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
The Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Hotel Kodaikanal
Carlton Kodaikanal

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing