We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Long wait, okay pizza, very few items available from menu”
Review of Cloud Street

Cloud Street
Ranked #4 of 68 Restaurants in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Price range: $3 - $9
Cuisines: International, Cafe
More restaurant details
Restaurant details
Good for: Families with children
Dining options: Breakfast, Outdoor Seating, Reservations
Description: Open for breakfast, snacks, lunch and dinner. Check out the website for the full menu... We love to provide something special for our guests....; To offer friendly hospitality, a genuinely warm welcome. It's important to us that our guests enjoy there time in our place. And not just the food! But with our wood oven and wood grill, we provide some of the best pizzas and grill items you can find for many miles around. Great cakes and coffee too. A comfy place with wifi, music, books and games...
Reviewed August 14, 2013

The reviews seemed to indicate that Cloud Street was a cozy western-style cafe, but we were surprised to find it occupying the upstairs of a semi-industrial building on PT Road. The ambience wasn't stellar and there were only a few tables occupied, but the food smelled good so we were optimistic. Unfortunately, despite there being only two other tables occupied, we were told they were understaffed. We waited for a full twenty minutes for our drinks, and nearly an hour for our pizza, which was nice enough, in need of a pinch of salt, but not all that different from the standard backpacker pizza we could have gotten in half the time down the street.

3  Thank Jacob H
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudstreetcafe, Owner at Cloud Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 17, 2013

hello there, thanks for replying to our message and telling the time you visited our kodai place. we found out, as you yourself supposed, that you arrived following a very busy time and they had indeed run out of desserts and it seems that kodaikanal itself had run out of milk... this does happen on occasion but we have requested that the manageress makes more effort to try and ensure that it does not happen again... anyway, there was still no excuse for your pizza having taken so long and we are really sorry about that. hope you'll give our place another try in the future.
kind regards from the cloud street family

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (358)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

334 - 338 of 358 reviews

Reviewed August 12, 2013

I went here for brunch. Believe me, there is nothing extra ordinary in here to boast of a top spot. We ordered a pizza and chicken sizzler. Although the food was tasty, i think this place has been overhyped and hence overpriced. Its usually visited by foreigners who miss their type of breakfast. u can visit once but if ur on a tight budget, skip this place. For 2 people, it will cost u around 600-700. There is nothing bad as such about this place, but its way way too expensive to what it has to offer

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
3  Thank YusufZ
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudstreetcafe, Owner at Cloud Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

dear sir, sorry to hear that you were disappointed with cloud street, even though you thought the food tasty... we just try to provide tasty food. yes, it is more expensive than a normal meals place as we use the best ingredients we can, which are usually more costly, for the continental items we make. everyone has their own opinions about things to be sure, and we were only offended a little, by the phrase '... to boast of a top spot..." for its inaccuracy as we are not boasting or claiming anything. there is no hype either, just other people reviewing and mostly enjoying... . you are correct that it is not a budget place. it never has been, but nor do we feel it's overpriced for what you get. it is correctly tagged as a continental place and this is what we offer, not just an eat and go place but a nice, friendly and relaxed environment. sorry again if you were disappointed.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 7, 2013

If you're missing western food in Kodaikanal this is the place to eat. It's completely laid back with decent wifi. The pizzas were very good, the coffee great and the brownies really are the best in the world.

3  Thank Tony T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudstreetcafe, Owner at Cloud Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

hi there, so glad you enjoyed cloud street and thanks for the review. very happy that you love our brownies!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 3, 2013 via mobile

Homely atmosphere, good place to unwind. Limited choices. Pasta and pizza are out of the world. Tried lemon chicken and it came with salad and pita bread, little strange combination for Indian pallet but nevertheless was quite okay. Brownies and walnut cake was simply awesome. Must visit for those who get tried of eating same stuff everyday. Good value for money as well. Good place for kids.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
4  Thank Anuraj S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudstreetcafe, Owner at Cloud Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 12, 2013

hi there, really glad you enjoyed the food at our place in kodai. we do keep the menu limited as we have a small kitchen and even smaller staff so prefer to provide a few really good items than lots of mediocre ones! anyway, happy you got some good food and also enjoyed the homely atmosphere. look out for our new cloud street in south goa...coming soon...

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 26, 2013 via mobile

This restaurant in Kodaikanal is a welcome break from the usual Indian food available everywhere else in the town. They have on offer thin crust pizzas, pastas, hummus and pita bread and a range of menu for breakfast. The restaurant opens early at 8am and remains closed on Mondays.
We had a chicken pizza, pasta with tomato garlic sauce and hummus and pita bread. The thin crust pizza was good, so was the pasta, though the pasta was a little cold. However, felt that hummus was not up to the mark. Pita bread was excellent. The icing on the pie was obviously the lemon cake, so very flavorful. They also serve yum coffee, the best I had in a south Indian Kodaikanal. Anyone visiting kodaikanal do not miss Cloud street.

    • Value
    • Atmosphere
    • Service
    • Food
Thank Aks78
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
cloudstreetcafe, Owner at Cloud Street, responded to this reviewResponded August 2, 2013

hi there, thanks so much for reviewing cloud street. glad you enjoyed the food. sorry about the hummus though. it's usually very good. perhaps not to your taste ...or maybe not such a good batch... sorry. we, the owners now live in goa and are opening an outlet here soon. maybe we;ll see you there one day. lemon cake will definitely be on the menu!

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Cloud Street also viewed

Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
 
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
 

Been to Cloud Street? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing