We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Pleasant Paradise”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 105 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed September 14, 2013

First of all thanks to Najmal Sir for a warm welcome and great hospitality.
The Resort is like a Big Bunglow where the rooms were very comfortable with standard amenities, a very beautiful entrance with a park view and also even the view from the rooms are superb.
Food prepared were good, both the food and stay was as at home.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Charan K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (488)
There are newer reviews for Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

360 - 366 of 488 reviews

Reviewed September 12, 2013

After having seen the hotel in a travel website we booked the hotel and were not sure of what to expect. When we reached kodai the owner called up to find out if we have made it safely. When we reached the property it was breath taking. Again the owner came out to receive us(it was raining). Once inside we saw the actual beauty of the bungalow. It has 10 rooms and we were given a room which opens right into the forest. It was fantastic. The food in spite of the cook not being there was prepared with lot of care(much more than we could eat). Had a fabulous 2 day stay. Very relaxing away from the city and very friendly staff.

Room Tip: Select the rooms in the cellar. They open into the forest and are excellent.
  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VinayBalepur
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 9, 2013

We stayed 3 nights at the resort in a premium suite located in the basement. The resort is located 2 kms from town amidst green surroundings, and is well maintained. The room was clean and compact. However, it could do with better ventilation as it tended to get stuffy at night. Food was simple yet tasty. But there certainly needs to be more variety apart from South Indian food. And the food needs to be kept warm as well. With the paucity of staff, service was patchy. The library is a nice touch that we certainly appreciated.

We chose the resort based on the fact that it was rated #1 amongst B&Bs in Kodai. While it is a nice resort, I'm just not sure if it deserves the honour of being rated numero uno.

  • Stayed: September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank R_Iyer11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

This little property is tucked a little farther from the hustle bustle of the city center, but still is pretty accessible. We were a group of 4 and had a car so commute was not a problem. In fact, we preferred it this way! It was a little difficult to locate though!

It is a beautiful bunglow done up very tastefully. The room we booked had a cozy little attic. And it had a tiny balcony too. The owner of the place is a very sweet uncle who will made us feel very welcome. The hospitality was brilliant. So brilliant that we did not even mind the slight untidiness of the hotel. He would make amazing coffee himself, whenever we asked for it. And the breakfast at this hotel was outstanding!!

Since it is a boutique hotel, we did not expect any star hotel like services but very extremely satisfied with the stay there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank TravelDiaries_12
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 4, 2013

right from entry to check out , something special about this property.excellent for families.it 's having everything for a comfortable stay.simple but memorable.should not expect great room services, because it's like a our own property, we can do all we can for our own stay.something special and unique hospitality.all can try and experience, because it is affordable and special like
kodai itself. i stayed in presidential suite on 2nd week of august.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank subansankar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

It was nice stay in this hotel.
Its more like home than a hotel. We stayed there 3 nights. We got homely food there.
Only disadvantage is if you are pure vegetarian than you have limited option.

Otherwise overall stay is very good. we enjoyed a lot there.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Sudhanshu271978
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed August 31, 2013

it is really a good stay for those who visit kodaikanal........ and we got tasty food from mout pleasant..and they helped us to conduct a camp fire ...during our visit the climat was really good...
its around 2 km away from all tourist places of kodaikanal....i like their service...

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ashique_navas
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.5 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,160 reviews
1.5 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
671 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.4 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#15 of 78 in Kodaikanal
361 reviews
3.0 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort

Address: Observatory Road | 19/12-20, Kodaikanal 624103, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $39 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Pleasant Heritage resort is a colonial, traditional architectural eco friendly with a fine confluence of traditinal hospitality and modernity, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing