We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Its Awesome”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort
Ranked #2 of 96 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Its Awesome”
Reviewed November 23, 2012

It’s awesome and pleasant! I have stayed many hotels and homestays across locations in India but this one tops the list. We stayed here in November-2012 for 2 nights. What makes it different than any other places in India or within Kodaikanal - Outstanding hospitality and service, good location and new property, nice and neat rooms, traditional and tasty homemade food, value for money, personal care and attention, lovely people and many more points. You don't feel like you are in a hotel or resort, it is like you visit some of your very close relatives or friends.
I would strongly recommend this place for stay if you are visiting Kodaikanal.
The hosts, Mr. Ajmal and his family members are really welcoming, loving and flexible. Truly commendable!
Staying at this place was truly a memorable and different experience.

We were a group of 4 families. We booked only 2 rooms for our family initially. Upon arrival we requested 2 more rooms. Although it was not available, Mr. Ajmal vacated one of his own rooms and made space for us. Next day morning we wanted to leave early. The hosts were so flexible and friendly they woke up at 4 AM in the morning and prepared and packed breakfast for all of us. You can experience that the hosts love their guests and are really passionate about what they do. We could also use their kitchen to cook some food for the kids.
I would surely come back again!

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank divyesh_b
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

479 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    317
    126
    17
    7
    12
See reviews for
265
116
6
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (151)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
Reviewed November 17, 2012

I never book any hotel without seeing the facilities, due to last minute plans I booked this resort, first surprise is Mr. Najmal agreed to book it with out any payment, just a gentle man agreement....I was walking to the resort hesitatingly thinking what we saw over internet will be the same or not....it is more beautyful than it looks in photoes. I stayed here for 2 days with my family, everyone enjoyed the stay and decided to come back again very soon. Excellent home made food, very good ambience, surrounded by pears trees...more than anything their hospitality touched our hearts. We enjoyed till we checkout without even thinking about the bill, surprisingly it is very low, asked them to check whether they include everything I ate. Excellent value for the money. What are you waiting for....get ready to experience the same....

  • Stayed September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kanimozhian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
893najmal, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
We were unable to do justice to you, since all the suite were occupied,
anyway tonnes of thanks to you for the very liberal review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
Level Contributor
8 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed November 17, 2012

When we decided to go on a weekend trip to Kodai, the first step was "where to stay?". Like most of us do, my friend immediately googled for polaces to stay at Kodai. We came accross a lot of hotels, resorts and homestays. Finally we decided to check out the trip advisor site as we get first hand information from people who actually stay there.

Well we were pretty impressed reading all the good reviews about this little place and we decided to check it out. I must say that from the time we made the booking, till the time we bid goodbye, Mr Nitin ensured that he and his wife took very very good care of us and our family especially our little kids.

We were 4 families and this place is an awesome place and a perfect location for families. Nestled amidst berry trees. Its a huge bunglow with 11 bedrooms. they even have a room that has an attached kids upper deck room. The food made and served by Mr Nitin's wife was simply finger licking. They even made a bon fire for us one night free of charge nad made our stay even more memorable. We have decided definately to back once agin sood and i would definately recommend this place to all families visiting Kodai. And yes the house is so tastefully made with artistic wood work have a ethenic look with a modern comfort. They have a beautiful basement sitting area perfect for family get togethers.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rubin C
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
893najmal, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 17, 2012
Hi, we have a "liite place", but dont you feel we have a huge heart. Our sincere THANKS to
you alllll.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
Reviewed November 13, 2012

Hi , this is Raja we stayed at mount pleasant during the month of september , Mount pleasant is exactly what its called! Pleasant! , everything is great! people over there were friendly,loving,caring, the location is brilliant,its very clean, not noisy, Great rooms and overall a great stay at one of the best destination!
food was superb,really commentable .They provide both veg and non-veg recipes and both were very tasty .loved the food to the core.
Maintenance is amazing and you will definitely like this hotel. I would strongly recommend everyone to stay in this hotel.
A wonderfull exprience at mount pleasant, we had a warmly welcome in a traditional way from the reception with a pleasant smile.They were very helpful and cooperative, helped us with a smiling face. i had enjoyed with my family very much and i would say that this is the best resort at kodaikanal.

Room Tip: All rooms were good...........
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shanthini_raja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
893najmal, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Its really very nice of you for the review the way you felt it , We have only one word THANK YOU
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
2 reviews
Reviewed November 12, 2012

the name mount pleasant certainly suggests its true meaning (in a world wherein fancy names are used to drive in people) .We had visited the place after reading the reviews.we were overly awed by the hospitality shown by Nitin and his wife .the food was awesome and since we were a group with children ,Nitin went an extra mile to ensure that all the families especially the little ones were taken care of .the food was like home cooked with alot of affection (didnt find a commerical angle to the service or the food).think one needs to stay for atleast 3 nights to do justice to kodai as well as the service at mount pleasant.I plan to go back sometime soon and will recommend this place to everyone who travels to kodai in the future.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank siddharthamehendale
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
893najmal, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
Would you compromise if I say only a BIG thank you for the review
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
37 reviews
15 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 32 helpful votes
Reviewed November 12, 2012

Found this from trip advisor and it was a very good find.

This would be one in our top 5 B&B stays so far. A beautifully designed property in a very calm and secluded place. The rooms are very clean and neat and comfy. My mom liked the chair and the foot rest the most. The bed and the quilt is of a very good quality and keeps you warm enough. Each room has separate water heaters which is very handy in a place like kodai. The basement rooms have a lawn out front which you can also use it for bonfire. They have a nice book shelve aswell close to the living room.

On top of all Mr. Najmal and the care taker Laxman's hospitality was top notch and very warm. Felt like home. We enjoyed the food too, but missed the beef briyani.. probably the next time.

They provide room heater which is nominally charged extra.

We had booked one prime suite and a premium suite, since my wife was feeling very cold (it was 11-12 degrees outside) we had asked Mr. Najmal to shift us to a warmer room, he was very helpful and provided us with a warmer basement prime room.

All in all, it was a very pleasant stay and would definitely recommend this to my friends.
Will come back to stay here again.

Room Tip: If you cant withstand cold during winter, choose the basement rooms which are comparatively warm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank razorBlades
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
893najmal, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
"Probably next time" Yes, thank you for the wonderful review and we await your second Honey Moon to extend our hospitality.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed November 1, 2012

What a wonderful stay it was.. for two days in the last week of Oct'12. I should say the stay at Mount Pleasant was the highlight of our Palani-Kodai-Valparai trip. We wanted to go back to Mount Pleasant and next time definitely we are going to stay more.

The place is quite pleasant, calm, neat and well organized. You don't feel like you are in a hotel or resort; it is like you visit some of your close relatives. Our host Mr. & Mrs Nitin were wonderful. The food prepared by Mrs. Nitin deserves special mention. And the tea... Rose Mary.. if you take Nitin's words tea is from their own farm somewhere close to Munnar!

I can say this is a Home away from Home. We enjoyed our stay there and highly recommend others to try it. My special mention to Nitin's elder brother Najmal, whom we couldn't meet.

  • Stayed October 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank NomadGipsy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
893najmal, Owner at Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort, responded to this review, November 15, 2012
I really missed you all, especially your TWINS. One contract I had with my better was to have
twin children, but did not work. I love twins. Thank you all.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.5 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#5 of 76 in Kodaikanal
655 reviews
1.5 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 76 in Kodaikanal
1,120 reviews
0.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
3.0 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
1.9 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 76 in Kodaikanal
343 reviews
2.9 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort

Property: Mount Pleasant Boutique Resort
Address: Observatory Road | 19/12-20, Kodaikanal 624103, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #2 of 96 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 10
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Mount Pleasant Heritage resort is a colonial, traditional architectural eco friendly with a fine confluence of traditinal hospitality and modernity, ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing