We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Had a Nice Vacation” 4 of 5 bubbles
Review of Fairway Inn

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Fairway Inn
Ranked #5 of 91 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Level Contributor
14 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Had a Nice Vacation”
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 16, 2013

Fairway Inn in Kodai is a nice place to spend your vacation.We stayed in Eco Cottage for 5 nights.Room was good enough to accommodate our family of 4.Had all the necessary and modern amenities in room like room heater, refrigerator, a 51 inch TV, dth connection with HD channels, IPad, PS2, Jacuzzi and another TV to watch while in Jacuzzi. The bed was also very comfortable that we had a good sleep. Food for dinner was very good, and my younger kid loved the sweet corn soup that she had it on all the 5 days for dinner.

The property also had a Trampoline, which the kids liked playing on. Even though the property is near to the town, since it is few meters from the main road, it is quite calm , peaceful and relaxing. It also houses a decent Health Club, though it missed a treadmill.

On the flipside, the menu for breakfast lacks western food, People who wishes for scenic view from the room/balcony will be disappointed..

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 3 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank SarinaTariq
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayInnKodaikanal, General Manager at Fairway Inn, responded to this review, June 17, 2013
Thank you for your kind words and we loved hosting you and your family. We are happy to hear that your family loved the use of our trampoline and gym, our state of the art luxurious cottage facilities and amenities. We are glad to hear that you loved our food and that your daughter loved our soup. We are pleased that the bed was very comfortable and you had a very good sleep as our beds are all top of the line memory foam beds with memory foam pillows ensuring the best sleep always. We had made it very clear in our pre booking communication, that we didnt have a view as we are in an exclusive secure and private location, and guests treasure this privacy, since most locations in Kodaikanal with a view are also close to the public areas attracting a lot of noise and tourist activity. We are happy that you had an amazing time with us, as we had a wonderful time hosting you.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    3
    0
    0
    0
See reviews for
31
18
10
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 5, 2013

We visited kodai this may and stayed in fairway for 5 nights. We experienced both colonial cottage and the new eco cottage. It is a thumbs up for both. Both the properties have been done up very well and small details like stocking up the fridge with lovely pastries and getting a basket of freshly baked cookies for the guests really makes staying in fairway an unique experience. The property is ideally situated in lovely peaceful location with a fab garden. The owners also have a small organic garden attached to it. There is enough space for the kids to run around and if they have not had enough then they can jump on the huge trampoline. I think the family who runs this home stay are simply fantastic. They made us feel very welcome and really looked after us very well. We really had the most amazing time and would love to go back again. This was our first experience in home stay and we loved it.

  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank madhavisrihari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayInnKodaikanal, General Manager at Fairway Inn, responded to this review, June 6, 2013
Thank you for your kind words. We thoroughly enjoyed hosting you and your family during your 5 nights and 6 days holiday. We are happy that you had an opportunity to stay in both our cottages and that your children enjoyed the trampoline and garden area. We look forward to hosting you soon !!
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed May 18, 2013

Fairway inn is situated in an ideal location in Kodaikanal - while it is just a 10 minute walk from the lake, the property is located away from shops and other establishments and is very quiet. It is part of one of the oldest properties (Brooklyn) in Kodaikanal and has a charming old-world look to it. The cottage is very spacious and has a full-fledged kitchen which is perfect for families travelling with kids. For those looking to simply relax at the cottage, it also comes with a big screen TV and a Nintendo Wii system apart from a lovely garden area with a gazebo.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
Thank Vivek K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayInnKodaikanal, General Manager at Fairway Inn, responded to this review, May 19, 2013
Thank you so very much for your kind words and review. Our colonial cottage where you stayed in is ideal for families and we loved hosting you and your family during your stay with us. We also have a new cottage - an eco cottage that is also available for our guests.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bermuda
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed December 2, 2012

That's the magic word. A unique "Home" stay with tailored attention to your vacation and needs.
The cottage is centrally located . Although a comfortable walk away from Seven Roads, it is nestled in peaceful surroundings, with a lovely garden, making it the perfect place for relaxation and recovery ,or for an active and adventurous one .
Food is to your preference, with attention to the organic, farmed by the owners. The flexibility with the menu, gives you the freedom, to stay in or dine out.
The host is gracious and attentive , often going out of his way to make your stay a memorable one.
Although very modern with Television and Wi-Fi and Internet access and Heating, it has retained its unique charm,transporting you into an old worldly quaintness,that for me is the recharging secret of this Home stay.
Don't miss the opportunity.

  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank MS M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayInnKodaikanal, General Manager at Fairway Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you Madam for your words of appreciation. We really enjoyed having you with us.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
7 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 27, 2012

First of all, I think this is a unique homestay. Most of the bookings are through reference from previous guests only. When I enquired about availability, the owner sent me an email asking whether I had a reference. When I said that I didnt he sent me a few questions by email which I replied to and he was satisfied that we were the right type of guests for his place and welcomed us with open arms. This he explained is not a mainstream commercial venture but a labor of love and he rather have 10 excellent guests a year than 100 guests who don't appreciate a homestay experience. If you are looking for continuous room service this is not the place for you but if you are looking for a beautiful cottage, with lovely gardens for you and your family to enjoy, very close to the town and lake and to be completely spoilt with food and goodies and treats and great information about kodaikanal then this is the place. The questions the owner sent me also helped him tailor make our holiday for us so we felt very very special.

The cottage is very nice with a small living room, large bedroom, huge tv, wii gaming system, and a cute kitchen with fully stocked fridge with free items. Food is served fresh to your room dining area at times that you request it. We went on a 2 meal a day plan which gave us the flexibility to eat out side and explore the restaurants outside in Kodaikanal. The bedroom is incredibly well heated with both a daily fire and room electric heater, which is all included in the tariff. The bed and pillows are all super luxury memory foam which made our sleeping experience excellent. There is uninterrupted power supply and 24 hours hotwater. It is located as part of a 190 year old heritage bungalow in a 2 acre compound which you have all to yourself, there is another cottage being built, but when we were there we were the only family, some people like having lot of other guests around, we valued our privacy and were happy to see tourists around the lake and Kodaikanal and come back to be alone and relax with each other. There is also free wireless internet and a tablet to help us surf the net all included. Basically so many things are included free that we felt we didnt have any cares in the world and we thoroughly felt at home. There are organic vegetables growing there which was very nice. There is a good gym there but we didnt use it. The owner is a thorough gentleman and he was always available by phone or in person and the butler serving us was very polite and there is no question of tipping him because none of the staff are expecting any tip. You pay the entire amount upfront and then forget everything and enjoy the holiday. Of course we tipped out on our own desire to show appreciation to the staff. Overall a unique homestay and definitely the best property in Kodaikanal.

Room Tip: Give the owner as much information as you can about what kind of holiday you are looking for in his...
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Rajan D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayInnKodaikanal, General Manager at Fairway Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir, Thank you very much for giving us an opportunity to host you and your family. And thank for your kind words of appreciation and taking the time to write a detailed review.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Coimbatore, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 26, 2012

We went with our kids to kodaikanal and after filling in some initial questionaires we were allowed to stay in this exclusive homestay. The care we got from the owner with attention to almost every detail was phenomenal. The lovely garden was great for our kids to run around and there were some fish to feed. It was very peaceful and my husband caught up on some movies and I got some reading done, the kitchen is very convenient for me to occasionally make some treats for our kids but we got free goodies galore during our stay.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with family
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kalpana R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayInnKodaikanal, General Manager at Fairway Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Thank you so much Madam for your kind words. It was truly a pleasure for us to serve and host you and your family.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed November 20, 2012

We stayed at Fairway Inn for 2 nights and also another nature property in Kodaikanal. When we enquired to book we were asked to fill in a simple questionnaire. Based on this our vacation was tailor made for us. We were greeted with a warm welcome and a lot of sweets and refreshments awaited us. We went out all day exploring that town and had hot meals waiting for us. We liked the beautiful gardens and even managed to workout once in the gym. The big screen tv and gaming system let us while away the time and relax in the cold evenings with a warm fire. The owner made sure all of us were well taken care off.

  • Stayed November 2012, traveled with friends
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Value
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Location
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 bubbles
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Mitandcodi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
FairwayInnKodaikanal, General Manager at Fairway Inn, responded to this review, December 11, 2012
Dear Sir, thank you for your great feedback and review. We look forward to hosting you again.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.8 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 617 reviews
0.5 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 316 reviews
1.1 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 322 reviews
0.4 mi away
JC Residency
JC Residency
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 618 reviews
2.3 mi away
GRT Nature Trails - Kodaikanal
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Fairway Inn? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Fairway Inn

Property: Fairway Inn
Address: Brooklyn, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Room Service Spa Suites Wheelchair access Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 91 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:5 star — Fairway Inn 5*
Number of rooms: 1
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Luxury one bedroom cottages, with tailor-made vacations and holidays for couples, families and golfers. We ensure that our guests enjoy the best holiday that they can have in Kodaikanal. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing