We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“A nice quiet place away from noisy & crowded city”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 1 more site!
The Carnival Resort
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Hyderabad, India
1 review
“A nice quiet place away from noisy & crowded city”
Reviewed June 13, 2012

Carnival is a terrific hotel in kodaikanal,the service from all the departments of this hotel is outstanding.everyone is friendly and courteous Breakfast buffet is amazing which includes north-indian,south-indian & continental varieties.Lunch & Dinner food is average,don't forget to taste the kodai special chicken biriyani in this hotel it is very good. i have opted for superior room maintained very well and bathroom is clean.another good thing about this hotel is it's location,away from the nosiy & crowded kodai city.overall a very good place to stay in kodaikanal.

  • Stayed May 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jese552
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

159 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    73
    63
    15
    5
    3
See reviews for
78
61
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (56)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
Reviewed June 8, 2012

We stayed for 3 nights in deluxe room facing forest. It was very nice view of forest and hears birds singing early in the morning. Chooe deluxe rather than superior room. Staffs are aware of guests need and was cooerative except for cab arrangement. They have not noticed time keeping. Waiting at the lobby for cab arriving is aweful and wasting of time. Hotel shoud improve cab arrangement promptly. Also shower room need to be fixed to drain the water properly. The water overflows on the floor. Overall hotel was pleasant to stay but breakfast wasnt that good for non indian. I would suggest a freshly brewed coffee provided along with waffles or sweets. If you want to stay city , this hotel is not recommende, but if you like a quiet and fresh air , this hotel is good for you.

Room Tip: Clean and quiet hotel A little far from the city area, not good for walking distance. Staffs'...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank DCPsrm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Region of Waterloo, Canada
Level Contributor
28 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed January 8, 2012

We stayed at this hotel for 4 days during December 2011. This is about 1.5 miles from Kodai Lake. The resort is relatively new one. The one thing of note is that the resort is neat and clean. Service is very good. Their breakfast is very good. We tried dinner and that too was very good. Overall a very good place to stay in Kodai. Since the place is around 1.5 miles from Kodai Lake this is not a noisy place.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Anu K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Dallas, Texas
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 14, 2011

Me and my family of 4 took a trip to Chenai and decided to stay in a hotel not very far from the city. The Carnival Resort was the best choice we made. The staff, the rooms food and many more was 5 star, and up to perfection. Everybody is friendly and courteous. My kids did not want to return home back to the US. The owner made a presence to make sure we were comfortable and extended hospitality never received before. we will be back soon and do recommend an experience worth the money and stay.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank kgenius21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
Level Contributor
38 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
Reviewed October 15, 2011

I stayed at this place during 1st week of Oct 2011 with my family. I really enjoyed my stay with my family at this place, particularly the balcony which open up to a great view of nature with woods (canopy trees).

Rooms were neat & tidy and so were the bathroom.

Though its not far away from city centre (about 2 to 3 Kms), but still its built on calm & serene environment and would definetely recommend to my friends.

If you are interested you may visit my blogpost on Kodaikanal - http://indian-amps.blogspot.com/2011/10/kodaikanal.html.

  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Guha Rajan M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed September 4, 2011

Resort is quite well maintained and it’s really comfortable to stay particularly for a family or couple. The Resort is very secured and nice to stay. Worth for the money you spent.

Advantages:

1. Food is quite good But please don’t order for Biriyani or Chicken Chukka as it’s does not taste better.
2. Complimentary Breakfast is also quite homely and tastes good.
3. View from the hotel is also very nice as the Deluxe rooms are facing towards the very thick gigantic forest trees.
4. Moreover the Resort staffs are really supportive and they are really doing a great job. You can get in touch with Venkatesh and Raj Mohan they are F&B Executives. They are more supportive in giving you good suggestion for your problem. But for Resort related queries you have to contact Ram Kumar (Manager). He is also a nice person who can resolve your queries.


Minus:

1. This Resort is quite away from the lake approximately 3-4 KM. Bus facilities are available but ONLY on time. NO Auto facilities in Kodaikanal. Only Taxis are available. They will charge 100 Rs for Pick Up / Drop from the Resort to Lake or Kodaikanal Bus Stand Vice versa.
2. Hot Water is available in the morning always but in the other times it's not available. If you want you have to call to the Reception accordingly they will ON the Boiler and in another 20 minutes you will be getting it. A Follow up is required in the other times.


Sightseeing:

No Tourist operator or agents have the plan to make the Sight Seeing complete in a Single day. They all give the plan only for few places daily to visit and not all the places. But we can able to visit all the places in a single day if you have a vehicle or if you rent a vehicle and have the plan to visit all the places in Kodaikanal. Ultimate idea behind this is to earn Money.
This you can able to make it if you have your own vehicle or renting a car on a daily basis and asking them to cover all the places. I hope they will charge accordingly.

Room Tip: Rooms are nice..
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Kumaraguru
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Sirsa
Level Contributor
48 reviews
42 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 55 helpful votes
Reviewed May 20, 2011

Its a very excellent Hotel Newly built, Very-Little Away from the Lake, Breakfast was Excellent. We are Feeling like we are in our home only. They served like we are their relatives. Rooms are very big, neat and clean, Toilets are also very much Clean and good size. Overall, No need to stay else where in Kodaikanal. No, other better option are available.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank RohitGaneriwala
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.2 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#2 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 646 reviews
0.6 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#22 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
1.0 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#14 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 218 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
2.4 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#15 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 183 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#33 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#13 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 337 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Carnival Resort? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Carnival Resort

Property: The Carnival Resort
Address: Naidupuram, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Shuttle Bus service Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #18 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — The Carnival Resort 3*
Number of rooms: 23
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your The Carnival Resort reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing