We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Difficult to decide but better for students group”
Review of B's Hive

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 4 more sites!
B's Hive
Ranked #6 of 105 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Reviewed April 9, 2013

I stayed there from 31st March'13 to 3rd April'13. I had hired a taxi for my entire trip and here parking is a big problem. The food are simple and delicious. The hotel, rather a home stay, is value for money and very friendly. The moment you book the hotel, immediately you will get call from the owner. You will be well received by caretaker Mr Arun. Language is a big problem to tell what exactly you want. When I reached here, all the rooms were booked and it was a bit difficult for Mr Arun to look after all the guests which resulted into delays in almost everything. We had asked for extra bed as we have booked for three person but the room was not spacious enough to have one extra bed so we dropped that demand. We stayed in first floor valley view room which is their best room. Overall our stay was good but somehow I felt that it is better for students and bachelors. (Particularly males)

Room Tip: Front Valley view executive room
  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ranjanrajes
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (224)
There are newer reviews for B's Hive
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

144 - 150 of 224 reviews

Reviewed April 3, 2013

The valley and hill view from the room is remarkable. As the place is little far from the market area, Mr. Arun (The Caretaker of B's Hive) arranged cab for sightseeing, pick & drop. The home-made foods were delicious and much more cheaper. Above all the polite and smiling behavior of Mr. Arun helped our stay to be peaceful and pleasant. Also the owner Mr. Balaji was very much conscious about guests and helped us in every possible manner through phone.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ManasMondal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 30, 2013

It was a nice and calm place located amidst of residential area. Its valley view was awesome especially during sunrise. Its located a little away from market area. Reception helps you to arrange cab for sightseeing, pick-up and drop which were very good. Food was homely and very cheap. Lacks room heater, hope management would provide during my next visit. Overall, its a pleasant experience.

Room Tip: If you need two rooms, go for duplex one.
  • Stayed: September 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank pavan546
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 26, 2013

It was a very nice experience in staying in B's hive....Many thanks for Balaji who have given all the necessary directions and useful tips before we started our journey..Arun, the care taker was very polite in taking the requests..as all the tourist centres are cost-centric, B's Hive is an excpetion to this..they serve quality at a cheaper price..i do recommend for all tne fellows who want to stay at kodaikanal..we will definetely looking forward to visit again.

Good Luck!

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sivakumar B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 22, 2013

We really enjoyed staying at B's Hive. We had a standard terrace room - which was very clean and with own terrace. It was definetely worth taking a room with a terrace as the view from the terrace was amazing. Our breakfast (delicous South Indian breakfast) was served at the terrace too. We had booked the guesthouse via E-Mail and had received a prompt reply from the owner that also included some tourist information. We had also arranged for a pick up from Kodai Rd train station as we arrived there in the middle of the night. Everything worked out well - the driver waited for us and even texted us his vehicle number just in case we would not find him. The guesthouse itself is a bit outside from the city centre - that makes it even more relaxing but it is also quite a walk to the centre. We would defintely stay ther again if coming back to Kodaikanal!

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank siebenstern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 15, 2013

I went over on new year to this place. Good place with privacy. Arun the care taker was particularly polite and helpful. Wont get all the facilities of a good hotel but the helpfulness of the people will more than compensate for it. Has great view and quite and sombre atmosphere.

If relaxing with nature is the motif this place provides a great and cheap option. Cabs, home cooked food and small nick-naks form nearby market are arranged on request. A home away from home at Kodaikanal.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Biraja
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2013

It was one of my memorable trip, as because it was planned by my husband surprisingly for our anniversary(Mar 7th, 8th, 9th). The days v spent in B's Hive was really makes us to feel like heaven with full privacy, safety, cleanliness, hygienic & beautiful views from terrace room. Especially the home made dishes were mouthwatering. Charges for both food & rooms were so reasonable. Our heartfelt thanks to Arun (Care taker), for his smiling face and pleasing hospitality. For our next visit, we don't have any other options except B's Hive to accommodate. Finally a big thanks to my lovable husband(Karthi) who made this trip as a memorable one @ B's Hive...!! Loved it..

Room Tip: Terrace rooms are quieter and have a beatiful view
Stayed: March 2013, traveled as a couple
Thank Jeevakarthik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.5 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,161 reviews
0.6 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#25 of 78 in Kodaikanal
205 reviews
0.5 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
671 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
0.8 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#24 of 78 in Kodaikanal
169 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to B's Hive? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about B's Hive

Address: Anandhagiri 7th Street, Behind Shankara School, Moonjikal, Kodaikanal, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 105 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $19 - $33 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2.5 star — B's Hive 2.5*
Number of rooms: 4
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
B's Hive is a private guest house that provides superior combination of price, value & hospitality in our aesthetically designed cottage. Strategically located, these facilities are exclusively designed for corporate housing, business as well as leisure travelers. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Travelocity, TripOnline SA, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets and Agoda so you can book your B's Hive reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing