We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Best start of the year !”
Review of Richwin Hotels

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Richwin Hotels
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed January 21, 2014

V planed 2 go in t starting of t yr !! T Hotel was clean & t services was good except tat t room was not sound proof. But i wud suggest tat they keep 24 hrs. hot water supply & a better room service 4 food.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank Mani K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a ReviewReviews (229)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

170 - 176 of 229 reviews

Reviewed January 2, 2014

This hotel is very near to the Bus Stand at a distance of 500 mts only from the Bus Stand. Anyone can walk to this place. The rooms are decent and comfortable.
It is very near to Coaker's Walk and one can have a visit for Sunrise, Sunset and at Night. A part of the road to Kodaikanal and the Kodaikanal city is clearly visible and looks awesome at night once all the lights are on.
All the big restaurants (Veg/Non-veg) are located nearby at a walking distance and lots of options available.

Room Tip: Rooms on the higher floors are better as it is located slight downside of the road.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank guruastro
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2014

It is very economic hotel and its in the heart of city so near by to many locations .Good facilities are provided.Hotel is clean and hygienic.Hotel people are very helpful,but food is very costly and not good in taste



  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
Thank supriya27
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 15, 2013

I have visited Kodaikanal in Aug'13.
I booked this hotel online after reading some good reviews and found the location very good. Very easy to find out from Kodaikanal bus stand. All places you would like to visit in Kodaikanal like cokkers walk, bryant park, kodai resort, villa retread etc are just close by or walk-able.

That's all I can put under Pros. In cons,

I booked a deluxe double room for 2 nights. If you have booked online, they will give you a room in the ground floor which is dark, ice cold and without any view. I felt the manager was kind of rude when I request for a different room. He arrogantly said we can cancel the booking but we will not get any refund. We canceled the booking and went to another nearby hotel and didn't get any refund same day. After lots of follow up, the booking site managed to refund one night charge after 1 week, even though we left within half an hour of checking in.

Can't say much about other features. But food is costly and only south Indian as I have seen in that half an hour.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Nayan B
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 10, 2013

Initially we had to search the location as the property seems to be new and relatively unknown, but it is just behind the church near Kodai resort. The location turned out to be good as it is just 100 metres from Coaker's Walk. Bryant park is right outside Coaker's walk and the lake is also nearby Bryant park. So you can cover these main places without taking any vehicle.

Rooms are modern, well furnished. There was Sony flatscreen TV. Although the blankets could have been slightly bigger. Hot water is only from 7 am to 11 am.

Their restaurant is a makeshift arrangement of plastic chairs and tables on the rooftop (open air). You will have to climb 3 storeys to reach as there is no lift. Menu is very limited but the service is good.

Hotel service was ok. Few reminders were required. Travel desk isn't good as they were only interested in extracting maximum money and all in advance.

This hotel is recommended for a short visit, both for family and friends.

Room Tip: No lifts/elevators. So choose the ground floor unless you are ok climbing stairs
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank The_Junkie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 22, 2013

Richwin had clean rooms, the bathrooms were also very clean with hot water supply from 7am to 11 am everyday, Location wise its at a walkable distance from the bus stand and attractions like kodai lake, bryant park and coaker's walk. The checkout time is at 09:30 am and even if they had no guests they said they would have to charge full amount of another night to let us stay till 5 pm. Apart from that the staff was very helpful. Also travel desk was too costly at 1300 rupees and the plan was not that great.

  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
1  Thank vasukris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 17, 2013

I stayed at this Hotel for 4 Days & 3 Nights & I would say that this one of my most good or can even say the best Customer Service Hotels I have ever stayed in. The surrounding were neat & clean, the Rooms were clean, neat & Tidy. The Manager was a friendly guy & even the Service Boy knew manners. Even on the last day i.e., on the 5th day, I planned to travel in he evening & my room was booked only till the morning, but the Manager was very polite & offered me to stay in the room till the evening without any extra Costs.

Now coming to the service, They have a Cook & he can prepare only few items. If you want to have different type of Food, you can just have a walk (Hardly 0.5 KM) in the cold & wonderful weather where you can find different types of Restaurants.

The only Negative is that they only have 2 rooms with attached Balconies & they are mostly booked, but who cares about a balcony room when you have such an extra-ordinary weather & such a good service & Car Parking, they have 2-3 parking spaces & that should not have any issue, because hardly any one uses that road as it's a Dead-End.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank SandeepReddyU
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#12 of 82 in Kodaikanal
256 reviews
0.9 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 82 in Kodaikanal
342 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#25 of 82 in Kodaikanal
172 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#6 of 82 in Kodaikanal
691 reviews
1.5 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.8 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#39 of 82 in Kodaikanal
143 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Richwin Hotels? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Richwin Hotels

Address: No 22 /33 - 2 Kovil Street, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Parking Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #17 of 82 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $15 - $39 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:1 star — Richwin Hotels 1*
Number of rooms: 18
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Richwin Hotels Kodaikanal offers generously appointed suites & rooms, each adorned with paintings & contemporary furniture that exude charm & elegance. The unforgettable rooms & suites live up to the fantasy. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Richwin Hotels reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing