We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Nearby Hotels
$107
$80
Booking.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
The Carlton(Kodaikanal)
$135
$131
Expedia.com
View Deal
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$113
$108
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
JC Residency(Kodaikanal)
$79
$69
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jai(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$61
$52
Booking.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Poshe by Sparsa(Kodaikanal)
$111
$107
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
$96
$82
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kodai Resort(Kodaikanal)
$56
$47
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Villa Retreat(Kodaikanal)
$58
$56
Expedia.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Lilly's Valley Resort(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$37
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
20
31
21
8
8
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
20
31
21
8
8
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsfront office stafffood tastes awesomerecommend this hotelthe hotel staffcourteous staffambiencefacilitiescleanlinesshospitalitymr
Filter
Updating list...
68 - 73 of 88 reviews
Reviewed November 21, 2013

I did not stay for long here just stayed a day but I would say it was pleasant. The staffs were friendly, it was raining heavily and I needed to go to the market to get some medicine and money from the ATM. They got a car immediately and helped me in my need. The food here was very good and the room service was prompt. Room was big and had a very comfortable bed. The rooms have big window for you to enjoy the view outside. Net net good stay and would really like to go back.

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Kaushik_Saha
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 28, 2013

Hotel rooms are good quality & spacious, Toilets good, . But is that all you want when you go to a hill resort like Kodaikanal? Absolutely no view - just the Dharavi style slums view. On the other side Just a window that will overlook the ugly garden of the half finished badly managed hotel.
We stayed there for 2 days - We never had anyone clean our rooms or even ask if the room need to be cleaned.Our checkin time was 8:00 , we only arrived that day @ 13:30 ,Yet we had to wait for our room to be cleaned which resulted in a frustrating wait. Rude Front office staff. Just a bunch of unprofessional manpower selection (Just bodies).

  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank Sujith M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 22, 2013

Was here with my husband, and we had booked 2 nights stay in the luxury room.

First of all, the location is good. You do not have an outstanding view from your room. But, if you take the east facing rooms, you have a good morning sunrise view from the corridor & not from your room. Also, it is located in the town, 5 mins away from the bus stop. So you have a lot of shops around, yet far away from noise and traffic.

Room - was decent and good. But not great. Felt it was not up to the price mark. Rooms definitely need some refurnishing. Toilet was just about ok.

Service - the best part here is the service. Felt the staff were very helpful, at all times.

Restaurant - there was no complimentary breakfast. But the idlis here are not to be missed. :) All at very very reasonable price. Also, we had our dinner here once, which again was very good!

The bad part is, credit cards don't work here. neither do debit cards!!! I dunno the reason, but have read similar reviews from a few other ppl. To us, they said it is some system problem! and i guess they would say it to anybody who comes there. So, have some cash ready in hand to pay up for the rooms!!!!

Room Tip: Take a room along the east facing corridor! once you open the room door, the morning sun brightens the corridor so well!!!
  • Stayed: May 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank radhika_rajesh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 15, 2013

We stayed at this hotel during the 2nd week of April. My friend had booked this hotel online - he mistook it for another hotel that had Pleasant in it's name :-) ... Reading the reviews about this hotel, I was apprehensive, but since we planned to spend most of the time driving around, we didn't mind. We were driving from Chennai and so were slotted to reach the place around 2pm. We called them up and asked them not to give the rooms to anyone else since we would be arriving after the check-in time.
We found the place without any hassles. The hotel has a nice & spacious lobby & the checking was breezy - perhaps cos we checked in on a Thursday. When we checked in, we were informed that the deluxe rooms that we had booked were full and so we were being upgraded to the luxury rooms - quiet a surprise. The rooms themselves were neat, spacious and looked good. No complaints about our room. The windows opened into open spaces.. no particular view... The geyser in my friend's room wasn't working initially - which they fixed the same day. Our door refused to open one particular night and one call to the reception and they had the maintenance guys come fix it within 5 minutes. We ordered tea/coffee through room service and didn't have to wait long for that either. We wanted to try out few of the famous restaurants in Kodai and so didn't eat at this hotel - so we can't comment on the food.
On the last day, my wife wasn't feeling well and she wanted to have tea at around 630 AM. we called the reception & since no one picked up, the call was transferred to the owners desk. he informed us that room service would start only around 730. however when my wife informed him about her sickness, he went out of his way to make her some tea himself .. that was good customer service. Full marks on this!!!! Thank you Sir!
One problem that I had is that the rooms had very little sound proofing and since there were long hallways there was a lot of echo if someone has their room open or talks in the hallway. One night during our stay, IPL match was on and there was quiet a lot of noise of talking/cheering filtering through our closed door... It would be a nightmare if you had bachelors/groups talking aloud!
The hotel isn't located very far from the bus-stand, but it's definitely some climb to get to the main spots - the road to this hotel passes thru a public urinal wall - so make sure you have your windows rolled up ;-) ... All in all it was a pleasant stay for us. Would we stay here again ? - perhaps yes, perhaps not...

  • Stayed: April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Reno D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 28, 2013

Not so happening place.not so worthy..very badly tasting food.the rooms were quiet good.they welcome very well but dont cooperate during check out.later we found out that there were so many other better place cheaper and better !!

  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Review collected in partnership with Cleartrip
2  Thank dsdevika
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews