We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel is good but the front office staff is rude”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 7 more sites!
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bangalore
Level 6 Contributor
94 reviews
36 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 61 helpful votes
“Hotel is good but the front office staff is rude”
Reviewed July 5, 2012

The bad experience started with the welcome. While booking over phone one "Tiwari" spoke to us and he was talking nicely but when we were checking in Tiwari was not there and we found others person is rude and he refused to connect us to Tiwari stating he was in night duty. We also decided not to disturb him as he may be taking rest. We checked in and went outside for site seeing when we came back in the night we wanted take bath but this Rude person refused to provide hot water stating as per hotel rule it is available only during morning. Then we met the owner and finally owner asked him to provide hot water. If owner was not there we had to take bath in cold water ...that too in Kodaikanal !!!. Next day morning we met Tiwari and informed about this. The staff response is poor without getting in touch with owner nothing will move. Food was also not good at the hotel.

Room Tip: Make sure to confirm everything (like facilities , hot water etc.) before you book.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank vmonte
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

85 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    19
    30
    20
    8
    8
See reviews for
40
29
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (23)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
35 reviews
16 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 30 helpful votes
Reviewed May 28, 2012

Nice hotel, personal care & excellent hospitality. Food varieties need to be increased and a newspaper to be served on a daily basis. Almost all the people speak Hindi and only about 3 people who speak in local language. Local language speaking people will be available in the day time only. It is a nice place to relax. Huge car parking facility is available.

Room Tip: Room no. 211 or any room after staircase is bigger than other rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank tarumugam
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Let me start with positives of this hotel:
Best location; very pleasant look and nice restaurant
Rooms are nice and clean; I was given a beautiful room
North Indian foods tasty

Negative views:
Beware don't book online; they have two website, two places where you can book ; there is a big time cold war between the Bangalore and Kodaikanal offices
Whatever the Bangalore office tells you, Kodaikanal MD will fight with you, you need to fight for everything right from rooms to food.
Please make these things clear they dont give buffet (dinner) or atleast they told us this, coz Bangalore office promised me for that
But with struggle and fight we made things ok, and they accepted for things we requested:
Though we were not cheated ; quite an embarrassing experience for a holiday break!

Room Tip: Almost all rooms are of same size superdelex, delux and luxury; check for valley facing ones; those...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank swirlingmermaid
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore, Karnataka, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed May 21, 2012

Hello,

Last week we visited Kodaikanal & stayed in Pleasant stay hotel. The Hotel is good. Food also good. But we had very bad experience with the Hotel manager. He don’t know how to talk to customer, how to Manage customer & not at all giving the respect to customer. They took very long time to serve the food to rooms. By paying huge room rent you will not get respect from hotel team. I will suggest everyone to keep away from this hotel till they take action on the manager.

Regards
hnk

Room Tip: suggest everyone to keep away from this hotel till they take action on the manager.
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank hnkeshav
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Pune
Level 3 Contributor
9 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed May 7, 2012

The hotel property is new. All modern arrangements are in place. No natural view through window. The rooms are small & not advisable for extra bed. The house keeping boys are ever smiling. But they need to be trained for cleaning. WiFi is available only in the lobby. Food is very costly compared to it's rating.

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank RajaBhatta
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cambridge, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
159 reviews
44 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 79 helpful votes
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed two days in April 2012.
Positive features:
- Looks good outside, rooms are big enough, relatively clean but not immaculately clean
- Owner appears to be keen to help the customers but not up to the mark
- Relatively helpful staff but not very helpful
Negative features:
- Had a problem with the toilet flush. I rang the reception and asked for help who did not send anyone to sort the problem for more than 3 hrs. When I called again, they sent a man who wasn't very helpful. He did some work on the flush but did not solve the problem. The problem was solved only the next day.
- Houseflies are bit of a nuisance.
- Restaurant room service is very expensive
- No designated car parking. One or two cars can be parked in front of the hotel. If those places are filled then the cars may have to be parked on the street.
- Lifts do not work when there is no electricity (At least two times per day the electricity cuts were made during our stay and we had to climb three floors during the power cuts).
- Hot water facility is a bit of mess. The hotel says that they provide hot water 24/7 which is partly correct but not fully. There is a hot water geezer for every room which can only provide hot water for about 5 to 10 mins maximum (About 10 - 20 litres). After this one has to wait for around 20 - 30 mins for water to get hot).
- Lastly our taxi driver said that the hotel authorities were not helpful as compared to other hotels in the areas (He is a professional driver from a travel agency who has had visited Kodaikanal on many occasions).

  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank sbsdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed April 9, 2012

Room: spacious,clean and maintained
Room Services :average
Restaurant Service: good(better than the other restaurants in the town especially for North Indian)
Hotel Staff:Friendly and cooperative
facilities: 24 hrs hot water except few hours when electricity is not present
Overall it is a 2.5 star hotel in nominal rates

before booking check with the hotel management for the type of room,view from the room window bcoz there was a bit confusion between deluxe,super deluxe and luxury rooms.

good for family and couples :)

Room Tip: there was not such difference between deluxe ,super deluxe and luxury rooms except view from the win...
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.6 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#53 of 78 in Kodaikanal
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#13 of 78 in Kodaikanal
226 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#63 of 78 in Kodaikanal
39 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RT Hill View
RT Hill View
#29 of 78 in Kodaikanal
66 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#34 of 78 in Kodaikanal
61 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#26 of 78 in Kodaikanal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pleasant Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pleasant Stay

Property: Hotel Pleasant Stay
Address: 22 / 70 - 1 & 2, Bliss Villa Street, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #48 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pleasant Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcomes you to a luxurious and memorable stay at one of India's most popular and scenic hill stations, Kodaikanal (Tamil Nadu). The happiest to help you grace our hotel and create lifelong memories for yourself. The resort provides 38 luxurious rooms, well designed and decorated guest rooms with wooden flooring. Every window frames a beautiful natural greenery of scenic Kodaikanal. The Honeymoon suite offering views of the surrounding mountains and valley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com, Expedia, Travelocity, Booking.com, Orbitz, Hotwire, Cheap Tickets, Priceline and Agoda so you can book your Hotel Pleasant Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing