We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Not value for money”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Reviewed April 28, 2012

I stayed two days in April 2012.
Positive features:
- Looks good outside, rooms are big enough, relatively clean but not immaculately clean
- Owner appears to be keen to help the customers but not up to the mark
- Relatively helpful staff but not very helpful
Negative features:
- Had a problem with the toilet flush. I rang the reception and asked for help who did not send anyone to sort the problem for more than 3 hrs. When I called again, they sent a man who wasn't very helpful. He did some work on the flush but did not solve the problem. The problem was solved only the next day.
- Houseflies are bit of a nuisance.
- Restaurant room service is very expensive
- No designated car parking. One or two cars can be parked in front of the hotel. If those places are filled then the cars may have to be parked on the street.
- Lifts do not work when there is no electricity (At least two times per day the electricity cuts were made during our stay and we had to climb three floors during the power cuts).
- Hot water facility is a bit of mess. The hotel says that they provide hot water 24/7 which is partly correct but not fully. There is a hot water geezer for every room which can only provide hot water for about 5 to 10 mins maximum (About 10 - 20 litres). After this one has to wait for around 20 - 30 mins for water to get hot).
- Lastly our taxi driver said that the hotel authorities were not helpful as compared to other hotels in the areas (He is a professional driver from a travel agency who has had visited Kodaikanal on many occasions).

  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank sbsdrive
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (85)
There are newer reviews for Hotel Pleasant Stay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

76 - 82 of 85 reviews

Reviewed April 9, 2012

Room: spacious,clean and maintained
Room Services :average
Restaurant Service: good(better than the other restaurants in the town especially for North Indian)
Hotel Staff:Friendly and cooperative
facilities: 24 hrs hot water except few hours when electricity is not present
Overall it is a 2.5 star hotel in nominal rates

before booking check with the hotel management for the type of room,view from the room window bcoz there was a bit confusion between deluxe,super deluxe and luxury rooms.

good for family and couples :)

Room Tip: there was not such difference between deluxe ,super deluxe and luxury rooms except view from the win...
  • Stayed: April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ArunShukla
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We booked this hotel at last moment through internet. We were little susceptible but overall pleasant stay there for 3 days. Staff is very co-operative and friendly. They cut the corners which can be avoided like cheap quality bucket in bathroom which have all other modern amenities and room size of 26" * 12" having 24 inch LCD TV is not get well with room decor.

  • Stayed: March 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vineetgarg2002
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 13, 2012

The hotel is very nice and well maintained. We stayed there for 4 days and really enjoyed the stay. It has all facilities of a 3* hotel. 24 hr Hot water and rooms are clean. Staff is very freindly and co operative. I will recoomend this hotel for couples as well as family. Kodai kanal was super and we really enjoyed our stay.

Room Tip: The Luxury rooms are really nice and bigger.The rooms are very clean and also has a partial view of...
  • Stayed: February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank NisithNanda
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 2, 2012

They claimed to be 3 star, while the hotel has the potential to be a 3 star, the finish is not yet complete, rooms are big and well designed. but the finish is again incomplete and finishing paint touches are not done. there is some broken paint here and there (putty fallen off).
the exterior still has only a primer and no paint.

otherwise clean and well maintained with very little staff. the restaurant is nice with valley view but the food can be better. the staff is pleasant and well behaved. there are no emergency lights in case of power failures which happens twice a day or at night and the lift has no light inside.
the lobby is very good.
good wooden flooring but average furniture for rooms.
the rates though are 3 star already when the building is still not up to the mark,.
I guess the building is just getting finished. should be good once finished.

Room Tip: ask for a good bargain.
  • Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank VSanjeevK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 27, 2011

good location,2 min. walking distance from bazar,neat and clean every corner of hotel,best flooring,precious well- come hall,well furnished and precious room,neat and clean toilet,bathroom,wash basin,best service

  • Stayed: November 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank arvindbhaiipatel
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 26, 2011

We went for a trip with family and around three days in this hotel. The ambiance is fantastic. This is located at a calm place. I will suggest to stay in this hotel if anyone is visiting to Kodaikanal.This hotel has foosball to play and i love this game apart from that there are many more option for time pass. I liked the food as it was very much hygienic.

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarvjeet_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
1.6 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#55 of 78 in Kodaikanal
121 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#13 of 78 in Kodaikanal
235 reviews
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#25 of 78 in Kodaikanal
168 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.3 mi away
RT Hill View
RT Hill View
#31 of 78 in Kodaikanal
68 reviews
0.3 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#64 of 78 in Kodaikanal
39 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#23 of 78 in Kodaikanal
193 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Pleasant Stay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Pleasant Stay

Address: 22 / 70 - 1 & 2, Bliss Villa Street, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Suites Wheelchair access
Hotel Style:
Ranked #51 of 78 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $22 - $57 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3.5 star — Hotel Pleasant Stay 3.5*
Number of rooms: 38
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Welcomes you to a luxurious and memorable stay at one of India's most popular and scenic hill stations, Kodaikanal (Tamil Nadu). The happiest to help you grace our hotel and create lifelong memories for yourself. The resort provides 38 luxurious rooms, well designed and decorated guest rooms with wooden flooring. Every window frames a beautiful natural greenery of scenic Kodaikanal. The Honeymoon suite offering views of the surrounding mountains and valley ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Travelocity, Hotels.com, Priceline, Orbitz, Booking.com, Hotwire, Agoda and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Pleasant Stay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing