We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Wonderful 5 star service in a beautiful garden setting”
Review of The Fern Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fern Creek
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
London
Level Contributor
24 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
“Wonderful 5 star service in a beautiful garden setting”
Reviewed February 7, 2011

My wife and I spent 2 nights and three days at Fern Creek.
Unusual and beautifully appointed "tent" bedrooms within an beautiful garden setting.
Fantastic food and very attentive service with nothing too much bother.
Tent doesn't do the room and bathroom justice!

Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank GeneralDM
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

428 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    325
    88
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
176
210
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (116)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Tiruchirappalli, India
Level Contributor
41 reviews
20 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 65 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2011

Thanks to Jack , Anbu and their team for making our stay a very memorable one.
Fern creek puts to shame many so called star hotels and the luxury and quality they pamper you is much better than a 5star hotel.
The reception was warm, friendly and "I care" attitude is present with all the staff who help you out with what ever you need.
The room itself is very clean and luxury oozes out in every inch of it and the electric fireplace was fantastic. It also boasts of a LCd tv with tata sky which enables the guest to choose what he wants to view irrespective of the language.
The bathroom is loaded with the needed amenities which are more than enough and is of a top rated quality.
Not to forget mentioning about the food, it was fantastic, tasty, quality and quantity at its best and i would surely recommend to take their full board option and trust me, your taste buds are gonna enjoy every moment!
As long as we stayed, i didnt hear a "NO" from anyone of their people and its amazing to see how far they reach out to the guest in his needs.
looking forward to stay for a longer time, soon!!!
Keep up the good work jack, anbu and team!!!

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bala305
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Seattle, WA
1 review
Reviewed January 15, 2011

We spent a couple of nights at the Fern Creek and the experience, service, facilities, location were all perfect! The attention to detail is seen all over the hotel grounds, food, servie and the suites. The food was great and if you get an opportunity you have to try Jack's cakes. The grounds are an absolute pleasure to walk around. Anbhu, Jack and their staff made our already excellent experience exceptional. They were attentive without being overbearing.

  • Stayed January 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank MadBhoj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Cochin
1 review
Reviewed January 10, 2011

This is the best hotel i have stayed... really its amazing....
the place.. tends... food... gardens...climate...& entire hospitality were superb!!!
Thanks Anbu & Jack for creating a wonderful place ...all your service and service people were excellent..
I am really looking to come back there for few more times....
I would suggest Fern Creek people to start same hotel in other locations like Munnar, Ooty so that i can stay there with you people's service.

Keep the good work !!!

Thanks
Raj & Nanditha

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Rajmohan21
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Crawford Bay, BC
Level Contributor
88 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 35 helpful votes
Reviewed December 25, 2010

What a delight this place is! Away from the madding crowds, in a softly draped tent that has a 4-poster bed, electric fireplace, satellite TV and the best plumbing in India - and a brook burbling past. Tenting is no hardship here!
The staff, from the managers Anbu & Jack, to the cleaners and gardeners to the driver Xavier and stewards, Mani, Gandhi, Bala, Suresh, and Eshwar are extraordinarily solicitous of your well-being. The two cooks, Ajis and Bala, were pleased to show me, A Canadian, how their tandoor works.
We wake up happy in their amazing beds and have fabulous days - what more can you want?

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Cbay
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
Reviewed December 22, 2010

We had found this hotel through internet and based on the reviews we preferred to stay with them. We stayed with them from 15th December 2010 till 18th December 2010. This was our first trip to Kodaikanal and we had the best Hosts in the form of Anbu and Jack. Anbu meaning love stood to his name with his entire team. The hotel is located in Quiet place and we were so comfortable in their tents, with lots of flowers and greenery out side your rooms. We can say this was one of the best hotels we ever stayed in. The whole team of the hotel was so good and service was excellent. Mainly the food was really good as we had homely food and we never felt away from home.
For sure we will return to Kodaikanal to stay with Fern creek with Anbu and his team. We had also the services of Mani from the hotel who had taken us around kodaikanal.
We would recommend this place for stay to all our friends as this place is really so loving with the team’s hospitality.

  • Stayed December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank lakshmi61
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed December 5, 2010

If you go to Kodaikanal, the first option when it comes to high-end hotels is The Carlton. To this list you can add The Fern Creek Resort now.
The Fern Creek has 7 luxury tents and one honeymoon tent. The name tent is a bit of a misnomer, because although these are indeed tents, they have every amenity and comfort you would expect from a hotel: comfortable bed, Satellite TV, bathroom which is very, very well equipped, and with a very thoughtful complement of free accessories provided (like a toothbrush, toothpaste, soap, moisturizer, vaseline, and more - you don't get these in most high-end hotels...).

The staff is most helpful, led by the ever cheerful Anbu (manager) and Jack (catering manager). The rest of the staff is equally helpful and cheerful.

The property is close to the Kodai Lake, and is less than 2kms from the lake.

Different from the traditional hotels, yet an excellent, highly recommended place if you are headed to Ooty.

  • Stayed November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BangaloreIndian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 76 in Kodaikanal
1,121 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
0.8 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#8 of 76 in Kodaikanal
524 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 76 in Kodaikanal
655 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#3 of 76 in Kodaikanal
372 reviews
2.2 mi away
Great Trails Kodaikanal By GRT Hotels
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Creek

Property: The Fern Creek
Address: Fern Hill Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #6 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched and raw, The Fern Creek is a haven for all who yearn for a break. The ambiance is comfortable and refreshing filled with the aroma of eucalyptus, lilies and pines. Designed for utmost privacy, our 7 Swiss luxury tented villas are spread across 1.5 acres of landscaped garden. The in-room amenities are equivalent to a 5 star resort. The property as a whole has plenty to offer to meet your expectations/moods; even more, our all inclusive packages will save you the effort of tying up the loose ends of a holiday. The Balinese spa run by Indonesian Nationals offers the best of international therapies. For the incurably romantic, or the terribly laid back or even the complete workaholic who needs a reason to celebrate – The Fern Creek offers something for each and everyone. The Fern Creek is a holiday waiting to be discovered. Always fresh, one with nature, come and enjoy the glory of life. Welcome to The Fern Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com and Agoda so you can book your The Fern Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing