We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“'Fern'tastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fern Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fern Creek
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Singapore, Singapore
Level Contributor
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“'Fern'tastic !”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 22, 2013

I selected this property )during the Aug 15th weekend) purely on earlier reviews from Tripadvisor, and I must say it was a wonderful experience ! The team at Fern creek pay an amazing attention to detail. They sent a postcard a few days ahead of travel highlighting things to bring along and also called a few times enroute to check if we had any trouble.
You won't find any sign boards for Fern creek ( I was later explained that they intentionally do not advertise !), but Michael helped direct us without much trouble to reach the resort.
Mr. Michael (resort manager) was very hospitable and made sure we were comfortable throughout our stay.
First thing you'll notice about the resort is the wonderful landscaping and abundant variety of flowers and tall trees and lovely pathways. It was like staying in the middle of a botanical garden ! A lot of space for kids to play around as well.
The Swiss tent concept was quite innovative. Also very thoughtful of them to provide a room heater and wooden flooring as it was pretty cold at nights.

The food was another great experience. The spread is limited on their buffet, but made exceptionally well. Especially liked the Chilly potato and Crispy/Pepper chicken starters. We didn't even bother to try eating out at any place outside the resort.
They also have a fully functional spa and a fine home theatre set up in an entertainment room (make sure to get your own movie collection, as their CDs sometimes dont work !)
The ownly dissapointment for us was sadly the weather - it rained heavily that weekend.

Would also like to thank Mr Babu (Asst mgr & Head chef) , Mr. Xavier ( tour guide) and all the staff took fantastic care of us. We had a wonderful stay !

Highly recommend this property for couples and families looking for a quiet, relaxing holiday.

--
Mahesh & Anuradha

Room Tip: The resort is not on a hill slope, so there aren't any valley views. Hence any tent is just as g...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank maheshkr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    83
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
172
203
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
25 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 38 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed September 5, 2013

new experience.staying in tent....
Food was good. They arranged for city tour.

I had booked for two days. I reached Fern creek by 9 AM on a Thursday. They were not expecting me before 12. So it took almost 30 minutes for them to get the tent ready.
rest everything was very nice.
Very quiet place. very good place for honeymoon couples especially.

Tent was very clean. Nice place to relax
friendly staff.
A little expensive. But it is worth.

Room Tip: room number 2
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Jisabraham
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 31, 2013

We had a wonderful stay at this resort. They provide a personalized service. Each and everything is taken care in detailed. The manger was on a long leave at the time of my stay. Mr.Babu (Chef)was taking care of the property He also takes care of the guest very well. The food prepared by the Indian cook and the garden maintained the gardener was very nice. The people who serve food and the staff who clean the room are really great in politeness. Babu actually takes more care about the guest. He cooked the food on our choice and he also arranged a cab from outside for all our sight seeings and for our return drop for a cheaper rate since the hotel's charges were expensive. So went on his suggestion and enjoyed the local trips with cheaper rates... Thanks to him...

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bisaj
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
13 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 28, 2013

If anyone would like themselves to be pampered and treated like royalty, then please try fern creek. They have the best service minded personnel and make sure to take care of their guests individually and with customized care for each of them. This was one of the best vacations that I have had and will for sure , return once again to be pampered.

I would like to also give a special mention to the team
1. Babu : you are really one of the best hospitality professional that I have come across. You really helped make my stay as best it can ever get. A big thank you to u. You have earned yourself a friend for life.

2. Parthi: Great food from you belies your age. Every dish from your arsenal was a treat to behold. All the best for your continual journey to keep guests enthralled with your cooking talent. For once, the sayings stays that happiness and good food go hand in hand.

3. Xavier: Excellent driver and guide, who made sure to show us the nativity of kodai and pointed us to good shops. I am still enjoying the homemade chocolates. Thanks mate.


Last but not the least,
Navaraj, pudukottai saravanan, Rizwan and everyone in the team, a big thank you for making my vacation the best so far.


  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Thanveer_Mohammad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
15 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 31 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 19, 2013 via mobile

I'm well aware of kodai....I usually come to my relatives in kodai and stay for a month helping them....During vacations...I came with my friend for 2 days stayed in the fern creek though its a bit pricy its totally worth it....it was the best ever trip ive been in kodai......

  • Stayed August 2013
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank JosonWestern
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
San Ramon, California
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 17, 2013

Everything taken care in detail! Service is surprisingly refreshing, they've made us feel home. They were always there, and very helpful. Home made food cooked by personal choice is the highlight of this place!

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank gopikrs
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai, Tamil Nadu, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 16, 2013

Pleasant Ambience. Rooms are neat. Housekeeping done every day. Fantastic food and friendly staff. They also provide food of your choice.Overall a best place to relax and money you spend is worth it. First choice of place to stay in Kodaikanal.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SenthilSundari
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.2 mi away
Great Trails Kodai By GRT Hotels
1.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Creek

Property: The Fern Creek
Address: Fern Hill Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched and raw, The Fern Creek is a haven for all who yearn for a break. The ambiance is comfortable and refreshing filled with the aroma of eucalyptus, lilies and pines. Designed for utmost privacy, our 7 Swiss luxury tented villas are spread across 1.5 acres of landscaped garden. The in-room amenities are equivalent to a 5 star resort. The property as a whole has plenty to offer to meet your expectations/moods; even more, our all inclusive packages will save you the effort of tying up the loose ends of a holiday. The Balinese spa run by Indonesian Nationals offers the best of international therapies. For the incurably romantic, or the terribly laid back or even the complete workaholic who needs a reason to celebrate – The Fern Creek offers something for each and everyone. The Fern Creek is a holiday waiting to be discovered. Always fresh, one with nature, come and enjoy the glory of life. Welcome to The Fern Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fern Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing