We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Great Trip at Fern creek felt at Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Review of The Fern Creek

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
The Fern Creek
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
“Great Trip at Fern creek felt at Home”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 21, 2013

Stayed at the fern creek for 3 days for our honeymoon. But after reading the feedback of this resort we finalised to go to kodai. Finally the stay was made really wonderfull because of the Good Staff Team and Good Management. The resort gives you every thing you want. There is no one to say "NO". Special thanks to Mr.Navaraj ,ajiz and mike for this...They keep on ask you "are you comfortable - are you happy with the food,stay & privacy". They provide you the atmost privacy. We both loved the place especially the everyday garden. The food was just amazing. I thank the management for creating such a beautiful homestay for the visitors. Heard you have some ongoing projects at coorg Will sure visit all your properties there too.
. All the best dear team & the management......

Stayed Apr 2013.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ganeshbr r
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

416 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    318
    83
    10
    2
    3
See reviews for
172
203
1
5
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (114)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 19, 2013

Overall experience was too good, exceeded our expectations. Ambiance of the place holds us back which includes the natural fragrant garden, camp fire in the chilly night, luxury amenities in the room...!!

The hospitality and the variety of food was awesome. Enjoyed each and every moment ...!!

I would suggest everyone who are planning for Kodai trip should check out this place for peace... !!

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Satu u
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed April 14, 2013

A different experience,
price was little higher,
food was good.
Water logging in bathroom.
Hospitality was good, staff's are very friendly,
If you booked in package plan itinerary schedule, spa was not available for ladies since it was scheduled in last day of trip. City trip was done in hurry because of not proper planning scheduled in last day.
Overall we had a good and different experience in tents.

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank BalajiGiri
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Owner at The Fern Creek, responded to this review, April 15, 2013
Dear Sir
Thank you very much for taking the time out to write your review. We truly appreciate it.
Apologies for the water logging problem, this issue in one of the tents is getting rectified on 29th April, a few days from now.
We have 7 luxury tents spread across 2 acres of land, the whole experience of privacy,being one with nature, away from the bustling town yet a stone's throw from the city center etc is what we take from you as a package rate, we choose not to put in 20 tents only because we wanted our guests to have the feeling of 'private exclusivity in luxury'.
Sorry about the confusion on your city tour on the last day, it was a logistical issue, since rectified.
Once again my apologies for the shortcomings during your holiday, we look forward to your patronage.
With warm regards
Indrajit. Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 31, 2013

I planned to visit Kodai and finalised in on Fern creek after reading Trip advisor reviews.Trust me you wont be disappointed, rather you would be excited!!

Right from the check in, the hospitality was excellent till the check out time.

We stayed as a couple for 4 nights and each day was a unique experience.
The tents have 5 star luxury inside and the outside atmosphere of the tent is even more beautiful.It's wonderful when you wake up in the morning to the chirping of the birds!!

Mike and his team - Babu, Navraj, Parthiban, Tara just to name a few, ensure your stay in the resort is memorable.Be it arranging candle lit dinners, camp fires or decorating the room, you guys were great.

Food was exceptional and every request is honoured.

Overall a great place to stay!!

  • Stayed March 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank santublr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 28, 2013

The Fern Creek was the place we decided after seeing the reviews. We stayed there for 2 days from February 9th to 11th , the place is exactly what the reviews promise. One thing that will pamper you right from the moment you step in is the service and hospitality which is on par with any 5 star rated hotel.

Right from the early morning pick up to the drop the total experience was delightful. We reached Kodai by 6.am although we were expected to reach only by 8.am.Mr. Xavier our driver, a really nice person was more than happy to pick us up early in the morning at 6.a.m from the K.P.N bus stop.

The Property is well managed by Mr. Michael who takes the pain to make sure that the guests are happy by all means. The staff are excellent and courteous especially Navaraj who took care of us during the most part of our stay .

THE RESORT:

The resort is designed for privacy and the place is serene, you can’t have any views but the place itself is nice to enjoy a cup of coffee outdoors. The location is not an issue as many pointed out, with the right directions reaching the place would not be a problem.

We stayed at tent no. 1, the tent is really good and comfy with a room heater to keep us warm, but as the night progresses it might get colder than the heater can handle. The Bed was big and comfortable. The restrooms were clean with towels and other stuff needed for personal hygiene such as handmade soaps, moisturizers and herbal shampoo. Hot water was available 24*7 as each tent has its own water heater.

The staff took utmost care in keeping us happy by pampering us with their service, right from arranging lunch in the garden area to the late night coffee we couldn’t find a glitch in the service. The resort had hammocks where we could relax and the recreation room has a good Sony home theatre to watch films. We did not avail the spa facility so nothing to comment on it. The night view of the resort was awesome and walking down to the tent in the cold night after dinner was a great experience.

CONS:

Sadly, the DVD collection was not much impressive as many of the DVDs were missing and the ones which had the DVD were old. We encountered water logging in the shower area on the day we left but din bother much since we were leaving. The plug points in the tent were not very reachable as they were placed on the floor .Apart from these issues the total experience in the resort was really memorable

FOOD:

The food that was served every day was great. Chicken was a prominent dish in the menu each day but the menu is completely customizable. We had opted for Fish fry for dinner and ended up ordering another, although it was closing time they served us with our order at our tent with a smile.

The food is cooked from fresh vegetables bought each day and they don’t use any flavoring agents which is a good thing.Not to mention, the coffee tasted really good.

Mr. Michael was really kind to make tea for us and drop us off by himself as drivers weren’t available.

All the staff members Mr. Navaraj, Cook Ajeesh ,Babu, Our driver Mr. Xavier ( My condolences to him as one of his family members had passed away the day we left) and especially the manager Michael deserve a big appreciation for their efforts to make our stay a memorable one.

The Fern creek is definitely the place to go if you are visiting Kodai. Planning to visit again.

Room Tip: The Hony moon suite is at the farthest end and quiestest however all other tents are equally calm.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Saravana_05
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Pune, India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 21, 2013

I planned to visit Kodaikanal for our honeymoon and after doing extensive research on TA, shortlisted on The Fern Creek. I called them up to enquire about room availability for three nights in Feb 2013 which they informed was available. The booking process was simple and Ms. Twinkle helped me go through the booking including booking the airport transfers to/fro Coimbatore. I also booked two of their optional paid tours (the city tour was complimentary) viz. the Valley Tour and Jungle Trip.

Mike, the resort manager, contacted me a couple of days prior to my travel and confirmed all the details once again. We were well received at the airport and our cab was upgraded. The resort itself is situated such that one can have a hard time finding it as even the driver of our cab had to enquire around for the route. We were welcomed by Mike and team at the resort and taken to our Honeymoon Tent. The walk down the property from reception to our tent itself won us over. The wife was very happy on seeing the beautiful surroundings, the sprawling greenery all around, the woods, walkway made of large cobble stones leading you through the property and at the end of the walkway a neat tent in the midst of nature giving the best "away from city hustle-bustle" feeling. It takes you really close to nature and gives you a chance to leave in peace with your surroundings.

Review of Tent:
The tent is spacious and has all necessary amenities. Maintenance however is something that the resort needs to pay more attention to. The only niggles that we faced were, 1) with the water logging in the bathroom (which Mike had informed at our arrival and confirmed that it was on their to-do list once we vacate the room) 2) with the heating (in general HVAC) as the sole heater in the tent was no where capable of providing any warmth as night progressed. The staff was helpful and provided us an extra heater and extra blanket 3) with the hot water; just not enough storage to hold a bucketful of hot water which meant that we had to bathe in cold water and the wife caught a flu because of this, 4) the phrase "sweeping under the carpet" was found to be true in the tent, the underside of bed was dirty and so were a few drawers and underside of the cupboards etc. and 5) rodents used to make an appearance every night.

Service and Food:
Even with the above listed niggles, the thing that made me give them a 4* was their impeccable service and mind blowing food. The best decision was to go with their "all-in" option which means that all meals are served by them. The cook, Babu, personally asks the guest on what would they like to have and his dishes taste out of the world. The food is either served in their dining area, at your room, or at any dining spot on their property in the midst of nature. They truly dot the "i" in hospitality and I have never witnessed such courtesy in small town properties in India.

To sum it up, the best highlight of our trip was the resort. If you are at Kodai, this is the place to be.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank SankDaDevil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
indrajitkalidasan, Owner at The Fern Creek, responded to this review, March 22, 2013
Dear guest
At the outset we thank you for your words of encouragement and especially the heading of your review, it surely enthuses us to constantly provide 'more' to our guests.
Kindly accept my apologies for the shortcomings as mentioned by you, points like lack of hot water, cleanliness, presence of rodents are absolutely not acceptable, we have temporarily shut down the tent you had stayed in to ensure all the issues are corrected.
Once again I apologise on behalf of my team and assure you that corrective actions have already been put into place as I type this reply to you.
We look forward to your continued patronage.
Regds
Indrajit Kalidasan
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed March 13, 2013

I have stayed here in December with my wife for 2 nights in their Honeymoon Suite. This suite is looked at the cornor. We always go for vacation but left my kids first time back at home after about 6+ years. Hence I was careful choosing a good hotel. I got really busy after I came back and hence could not write review immediately. I will give points on pros and cons below.

PRO's:

Excellent Attitude from Michael and all the Staff
Nice Ambience,
Clean rooms with 8inch (probably don't remember now) beds, sufficient war-drobe, coat hanger, large-size mirror, bathroom with all cosmetics and hair-dryer placed in a rack (convenient to keep things). Fresh & Nice Food,
Mini Home Theatre Room and also a play room with Carrom board.
Great Overall Experience

CON's:

Note: There will always be CONs in anything. They may vary based on our own attitude towards how we take things, the timing of our stay (short lived ones), one-off things, mis-match with what we expect (they may have a good thing which many likes but we may not find its purpose and use but we may look for another thing). So take these with a pinch of salt..

The bathroom flooring was not proper as a result water logging was an issue in this room. I was told they did not get this feedback before (hard to believe) but I was also told that they are waiting for the same type of tiles (not that special as far as I see but I am not expert) and will be done in couple of months. As a result, with just about 4-5 mugs of water poured you end up standing in the water all through your bathing. They offered us to call the room service to clean it up. we have asked them to keep the wiper and had to clean it up couple of times during bathing.. This is a thing to be looked at immediately.

We were not giving the suite immediately after arrival as the previous guests did not vacate and we had to wait for almost 2 hours. but they gave me another suite to stay and we could use that suite and also order some breakfast (timing was well away from breakfast time) - The Manager himself took the order :-). But our check-out time was not extended as was told there will be other guests. We checked-out in the mornning and left our baggage to go for site-seeing that day.

I was told there will be a small structure infront of our room with water flowing but there was no water in and there is really nothing beneficial (just a little extra space) choosing this suite as other suites are equally good and cost 1k lesser.

Insufficient power points for charging (as we had to charge camera and 2 cell phones), we had to do one by one and are not conveniently located (they are on floor). It may be due to safety as there is really no wall around. but an extension box can be kept on the side table near the cot for ease of access.

Delights:

We asked if there will be any floral arrangement (as we saw it in web), we were told nothing like that unless we order for it. But when we entered, there was some sort floral arragement for the suite.

Michael himself drove us in his car to the lake when he could not get a car for our travel (though we were told that we will get a car by 11am as there was another family which booked it for a time earlier than that. but they delayed it and hence he has no other option but arranged a car on adhoc basis (that is his own car).

Christmas day buffet was excellent (though there was a slight delay in getting the dinner arranged.

Bonfire was arranged on both days in the evening and really spent couple of hours there with other families around.

There were nets hanged between trees (2 of them) and we could spend some time there.

You get all cosmetics (real good stuff) and hair-dryer in the bath-room. No electric calling bell, bell with a thread hanged..

After we checked out we went out for some local site-seeing in the morning and came back for lunch and packed food for dinner. He charged us nominally for what they packed us for lunch and buffet. It was really a nice gesture..

Some additions, if possible,

Kids Play area (most other families came with their kids except us), a Table Tennis or Snooker Table and small area for playing Shuttle shoud be good (physical activitiy is a need for every vacation).

Music when bonfire is lit could add more value.

Suites can have some nice wall posters that can show nice places in Kodaikanal. Honeymoon suite can be decored with some nice posters to create a romantic experience (like posters, a candel with glass covering, tissues near the bed)

Overall What made me feel good is the stay in this place and attitude of the staff.

I will stay here again. They just opened another one in Coorg (800sq.ft space for stay) and I am presently in Bangalore and I wish to do my next stay there as well.

Special Thanks to Michael as he asked us to SMS us when we reach back to our place (This may be a normal thing in few hotels (RAKS in Tanjore did the same) but we felt that they are trying on every possible way).

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ArunSr
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
0.8 mi away
The Carlton
The Carlton
#7 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 499 reviews
0.2 mi away
Le Poshe by Sparsa
Le Poshe by Sparsa
#2 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 341 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
2.2 mi away
Great Trails Kodai By GRT Hotels
1.6 mi away
Kodai - By The Valley, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to The Fern Creek? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about The Fern Creek

Property: The Fern Creek
Address: Fern Hill Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $$
Hotel Class:4 star — The Fern Creek 4*
Number of rooms: 7
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Untouched and raw, The Fern Creek is a haven for all who yearn for a break. The ambiance is comfortable and refreshing filled with the aroma of eucalyptus, lilies and pines. Designed for utmost privacy, our 7 Swiss luxury tented villas are spread across 1.5 acres of landscaped garden. The in-room amenities are equivalent to a 5 star resort. The property as a whole has plenty to offer to meet your expectations/moods; even more, our all inclusive packages will save you the effort of tying up the loose ends of a holiday. The Balinese spa run by Indonesian Nationals offers the best of international therapies. For the incurably romantic, or the terribly laid back or even the complete workaholic who needs a reason to celebrate – The Fern Creek offers something for each and everyone. The Fern Creek is a holiday waiting to be discovered. Always fresh, one with nature, come and enjoy the glory of life. Welcome to The Fern Creek. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your The Fern Creek reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing