We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Stay!”
Review of Hotel Sunrise

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Hotel Sunrise
Ranked #38 of 110 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 24, 2012

Hi,
I am kalai, I have been stayed in Hotel Sun Rise in the month of January, Good service and hotel has good view, rooms are clean & spacious. 24 hrs hot water and LCD TV is advantage.
the best offer is The Hotel Sun Rise provide me a tour package with discount.I am Okay with tariff too, that is reasonable only.

Thanks for Hotel Sun Rise
"Wish to come back"

Room Tip: Corner Rooms( For Super Deluxe, Good Rooms for panoramic view)
See more room tips
  • Stayed: January 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Service
2  Thank kalaiarasaninfo
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (104)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

97 - 103 of 104 reviews

Reviewed January 4, 2012

This hotel does not keep its promise. Full payment is needed to book a room. They state that any cancellations need to be made 48 hours in advance in order to get a refund. They refused to give us any refund after we cancelled our booking a full week in advance (we could not enter Tamil Nadu from Kerala because fo a conflinct between the states). Contacting them since has been very difficult. I would be very wary of them

Stayed: December 2011, traveled as a couple
3  Thank Gerbrand T
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 28, 2011

We stayed here for 2 nights. The hotel is new, the bed and bath fittings are modern and good, rooms are spacious and the view from the room (not all rooms have great view though) is good. However, they do not clean your room when you leave for your day's sightseeing unless you leave the keys with them. You might have to ask for soap and towel. The staff are nice and helpful but not professional; my guess is they are not trained. Overall, a good experience.
However, please avoid the restaurant. The restaurant owner kept requesting us to have food there as we were going out to have dinner. So we promised him we will have breakfast at his restaurant on the next day. We ordered Aloo Paratha which clearly they have no idea how to make and the amount of time they took to prepare the food makes me think they started from boiling the potato keeping guests waiting. To top it, the awful food was highly overpriced! Also, we used to order tea in our room and the crockery was of very cheap quality, either cracked or chipped and dirty too!
You can opt to stay in this hotel; but the hotel is not as grand as its first look is! And, definitely avoid the restaurant!

Room Tip: Choose the
See more room tips
  • Stayed: June 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank Traveller_Couple_11
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed May 10, 2011

Hotel sunrise is located at a place which can be said to be straight from the heaven. A picturesque location with equally luxurious hotel. One can literally see clouds coming into your room from the beautiful valley outside...Awesome view from the rooms, this is the best place where you enjoy the nature and awesome hospitality
Travel desk can help you organize various trip to places in and around kodai. The restaurant there serves delicious food. Overall a very nice place to relax at a reasonable rate.

If you are traveling with your kids or looking for a romantic holiday, then this is the best place to stay. Am sure i will suggest this hotel to every friend of mine...

  • Stayed: May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank vijaysenthil
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 28, 2010

The Rooms were very new and clean and a very spectacular view from the balcony of the room(put up a photo) and the best part is they got a decent parking lot hard to find in hotels at the heart of the city in kodaikanal. Main shopping market is just a walk away from this hotel. There wasn't a restaurant though. Price was mid range- guess it wud filter disturbing crowd.

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank deepak-Mcc
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 27, 2010

We stayed at Hotel Sunrise for 3 days in super deluxe room. Its a comparatively new hotel. Overall it was a good experience. A good location though we missed sunrise from the window.

Plus:
Room was very nice with a mini lcd tv and good ambiance.
Restroom was quite clean .
5 min walk from the bus stand and market place, restaurants, still very calm place.
Good view from the room.
Good staff.

Minus:
Dont have the restaurant, we were givwn a non-veg dish on the order of veg one.
They told us that they are planning for a new restaurantn in Jan 2011.
Its not the best service one can look for. Still manageable.

Value for money: A bit overpriced

We were happy of our choice after roaming around the town and seeing the hotels which we didnt book on their reviews. Sunrise had a couple of good reviews and hope this is the 3rd one :)

  • Stayed: December 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank sarang0984
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed November 17, 2010

My family (Myself, wife and daughter) decided to visit Kodaikanal from 13th November 2010 to 16th November 2010. Being the first trip to Kodaikanal with family I wanted to ensure that the trip is memorable in all aspects. My friend has suggested Hotel Sunrise at Kodaikanal to have a pleasant stay. He had booked a room for us thru phone. We boarded Pandian Express from Chennai Egmore on 12th November 2010 at 9:15 PM. We reached Madurai at 5:45 AM on 13th November 2010. After visiting to the famous Meenakshi Amman Temple we headed towards Kodaikanal in a Tata Indica. KodaiKanal is 120 kms from Madurai. We had reached Hotel Sunrise at 3:40 PM. being off season the check in /out were 24hrs.

We had a look at the rooms and preferred a room (#202) at first floor. The main door had no option for manual lock. We were given a key with a plastic stick which is inserted in a hub located inside the room to illuminate the room. The room was spacious and also had a separate balcony. The valley view from the balcony was absolutely fantastic. The room was equipped with LCT television and telephone facility. The bed was very neatly maintained. There was no separate restaurant in the hotel. However the food was supplied in the room on need basis. We went out to visit the Kodai Lake and the brynt Park. We preferred to have our dinner outside at restaurant of our choice. We were back in the room by 8:00PM. We were told that the bathing area in the room had 24hrs hot water facility. However to our surprise the tap water was cold.

Upon calling at reception a staff member immediately came to room to check and requested some time to sort the problem. After 30 minutes the situation was status quo. Upon calling the reception again the staff had another check and requested for some more time to solve the problem. Being the first day at the hotel facing the hot water issue I was not happy initially. However the hotel staff came again to check the status and confirmed that hot water is available that way the hotel staff was very responsive and courteous. We had a very good sleep in the night. At 6:00AM in the morning my wife went to balcony and called me to have a stunning view of the Sunrise. This was a fantastic view with lots of cloud and fog around with soothing chillness. We had good hot water bath in the morning.

We had requested the receptionist to change the bed cover and towels. The receptionist requested us to provide the keys and proposed to take care of the room in our absence. We preferred not to provide the keys and requested to send the support staff immediately. We were told that at 9:30AM the bed cover and towels will be provided. This was done properly. However when we came back to the room we found that water flow was slow in the taps. Upon requesting the staff twice in 15 minutes interval the water flow was restored. Next day morning we had again enjoyed the valley and sunrise view right from our separate balcony. Overall we had a pleasant stay in the Hotel for all three days. We would definitely recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed: November 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank RajeshDugar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.1 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#23 of 78 in Kodaikanal
194 reviews
0.2 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
679 reviews
0.2 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#16 of 78 in Kodaikanal
228 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Pleasant Stay
Hotel Pleasant Stay
#47 of 78 in Kodaikanal
86 reviews
1.0 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#38 of 78 in Kodaikanal
64 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hilltop Towers
Hilltop Towers
#12 of 78 in Kodaikanal
245 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Sunrise? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Sunrise

Address: 8/62 Post Office Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Parking Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #38 of 110 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $33 - $75 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:2 star — Hotel Sunrise 2*
Number of rooms: 20

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing