We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Nice place but badly maintained”
Review of Coakers Walk

Coakers Walk
Book In Advance
More Info
$640.00*
and up
3-Night Private Tour of Kodaikanal from Madurai
Ranked #2 of 36 things to do in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
257 reviews
150 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 164 helpful votes
“Nice place but badly maintained”
Reviewed October 16, 2013

This is a wonderful location one can not miss. You can see lovely greenery of Kodaikanal forests, tea estates etc, if you are lucky not to have fog during your visit. It is really worth visiting during evenings, to sit lit up Kodaikanal, which looks like Jewel box, as they claim. Sad part is that the place is badly maintained, with broken chairs, spoilt walkway, broken fence etc.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank ACCUDIN
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

685 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    282
    276
    103
    15
    9
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Any
English first
Kollam, India
Level Contributor
220 reviews
117 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 76 helpful votes
“Scenic and romantic walk”
Reviewed October 13, 2013

Walk with a romantic tone and feel the nature around you, so silent and calm. Its worth the walk if you love to walk. The time that you would take should be the morning or evening hours. Engulf in romance with natural elements like the sky, mist, mountains, lakes and the scenic beauty, the place offers is priceless.

Visited October 2013
Helpful?
Thank kollam003
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Prasanthi Nilayam, Andhra Pradesh, India
Level Contributor
86 reviews
34 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 78 helpful votes
“Watch Clouds Engulfing You”
Reviewed October 11, 2013

The Coakers walk stretch is neatly maintained by the local administration. It has some excellent views and a great place for photographs.

The entire walk gives you excellent panoramic view of the Kodai Valley. If the weather is not cloudy the sight might take your breath away. Even the cloudy weather has its own charm. At times we could see clouds coming and engulfing us. We did enjoy both the view as we went to this place couple of times during our stay.

At the end of the walk, from the glass observatory one can view Vaigai Dam and Periakulam Town, if the weather is not foggy.

Visited November 2012
Helpful?
Thank Padmanaban
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bhubaneswar, India
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“A walk to remember..”
Reviewed October 7, 2013

Morning mist and a walk with loved ones..what more can you expect. With the rising sun, spraying its rays on the path. With the beautiful view in front, 15 mins of walking will take you close to nature. Best time to go is in the evening and morning time.

Visited December 2012
Helpful?
Thank luckeydev
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kochi (Cochin), India
Level Contributor
61 reviews
28 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 48 helpful votes
“Start with a scenic walk...”
Reviewed September 17, 2013 via mobile

I started my day from here...it was a pleasant and scenic walk with my wife...misty and romantic too...must visit!!

Visited September 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Varghese M
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Coakers Walk also viewed

Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
 
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
Kodaikanal, Dindigul District
 

Been to Coakers Walk? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing