We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Good but can be better”
4 of 5 bubbles Review of Kodaikanal Lake

Kodaikanal Lake
Ranked #1 of 36 things to do in Kodaikanal
Certificate of Excellence
Attraction details
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
31 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
“Good but can be better”
Reviewed January 16, 2014

We must visit this lake if we visit Kodaikanal.Awesome experience but sometimes we aren't safe because no life jacket given here.Overall good experience but Rs 100 for 30 minutes is costly...

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
Thank Sowmya_Venkat123
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

2,247 reviews from our community

Visitor rating
    828
    1,038
    315
    54
    12
Date | Rating
  • Danish first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Japanese first
  • Russian first
  • Spanish first
  • Any
English first
Abu Dhabi, United Arab Emirates
Level Contributor
11 reviews
7 attraction reviews
“Can be improved better”
Reviewed January 14, 2014

this place, if managed properly can make a good place for families.the horse riding at this area is good and me and my kids enjoyed it

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank SonySebastian
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
76 reviews
44 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 64 helpful votes
“Excellent place to spend your day”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

Boat around for 40 mins and then rent a cycle (single or double) and go around the lake. An awesome feeling. Takes you back to your childhood days.

Visited January 2014
Helpful?
1 Thank hcwadwekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kolkata (Calcutta), India
Level Contributor
34 reviews
20 attraction reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 37 helpful votes
“Lake Surrounded by hills”
Reviewed January 13, 2014

It's a palm finger lake with a perimeter of 7km. Very nice for boating. Very calm and beautiful. Greenery all around. Good even for a walk throughout the day

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
Thank Suprovat_Chatto
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Auckland Region, New Zealand
Level Contributor
4 reviews
common_n_attraction_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
“OK, too much chaos surrounding the lake”
Reviewed January 11, 2014

When in KodaiKanal Lake is must visit but it was too noisy with taxi's speeding,blaring horns, driving rash and risky shopping surrounding lake.Only good thing is spice shops and cheap clothing but i don't agree with another reviewer that its neat and clean, Kodaikanal is dirty with open drains and no cleanliness at all.

Visited December 2013
Helpful?
1 Thank Rajknz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers who viewed Kodaikanal Lake also viewed

Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu
Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu
 
Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu
Kodaikanal, Tamil Nadu
 

Been to Kodaikanal Lake? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Owners: What's your side of the story?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing