We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home
Nearby Hotels
The Carlton(Kodaikanal)
$147
$135
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Hotel Jai(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$63
$37
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$132
$122
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
$83
$71
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Royal Cottage(Kodaikanal)
$36
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Good 3.5/5
  • Free Parking
  • Room Service
Hotel Grand Palace(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$50
Booking.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
$98
Booking.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Kodai Sunshine Hotel(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$76
$48
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hilltop Towers(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$58
$54
Agoda.com
View Deal
Very Good 4/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Altius Nest(Kodaikanal)(Great Value!)
$34
Agoda.com
View Deal
Great 4.5/5
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Reviews (88)
Filter reviews
88 results
Traveler rating
28
35
11
8
6
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
28
35
11
8
6
Show reviews that mention
All reviewssmall stallspocket friendlyplace to staydeluxe roomnext morningfree wifinice gardenpeaceful placetamil naduhill stationcamp fireroom servicehotel is locatedbus standdormitoriescloudsplains
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
73 - 78 of 88 reviews
Reviewed November 6, 2013

The USP of this place is the absolutely stunning views of the valley and plains it offers from every room. Basic acco to "luxury" acco - everyone gets a stunning view over the valley. Sweet! It beats the view from Coaker's Walk. Do not expect any luxuries - the place does not promise them anyway. Reasonably priced given how every other half decent place in Kodai charges 4K or higher. The best thing to do is to sit on the balcony with a cup of tea - they have excellent tea by the way! If you are the trekking type, just dump your bag into the basic room and dive in. Meals can be ordered at extra cost and are quite alright. Again, expect nothing fancy.
We stayed there for three days. We were charged 600 rupees a night for the basic room and 1400 a night for a so-called 'deluxe' room. It's just that the deluxe rooms are a little more spacious, have a covered balcony and are warmer. The 600 rupees rooms offer the best views of the stars, in case that interests you. Other parts are quite light polluted.
It is well worth it to wake up at 4 AM and brave the November cold to look at the sky. Not sure if the skies are as clear in the other seasons.

Room Tip: Every room has a view - ask to look before you settle for any particular room. If you are unlucky you may have noisy neighbors - watch out for that too.
  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Anitachris
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 27, 2014

Greetings from Greenlands!

We are glad you enjoyed your stay here at Kodaikanal. In regard to your stay at our hotel, we are happy to know that you cherished your stay to your comfort. Luxury is an option that we can provide at a high level, but that would make us lose our authenticity of the concept we run our hotel on. With that said, we would definitely be having certain changes in terms of room amenities to ensure our customer's stay is more comfortable. Happy to hear that Kodaikanal brings about a smile to all our valued Guests.

Thank you for your review. Looking forward to your visit again!

Regards
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed July 19, 2013

I used to stay every year with my family,thus place is one of the amazing place truely for relaxing during our holidays.All tension disappear.freshes our mind.Truely nature during the day light and glittering pearls of lights of the down town during the night pleasant atmosphere.The staffs are really helpful and do our needful on request.keep it up

  • Stayed: July 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank hmyassine
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded November 5, 2013

Dear sir
Thank you for this positive and helpful review. We are very glad to hear that your stay was very peace and enjoyable. Looking forward to your visit again.

Thank You.

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed April 10, 2013

I did my engineering from a college in Kodaikanal and this place has always been very close to my heart.
I checked into this hostel with 2 of my other friends and I was amazed to see such a beautiful view right outside of your room.
It's one place in Kodaikanal with probably the best view.
Rooms are ordinary and are built in old cottage style and has got a fire place in it.
As I said, it's a Hostel and not a Hotel so I didn't expect much in terms of hospitality and service.
The room was clean until you are some super hygienic guy.
We stayed there for 2 days and one night.
The view outside of the room was amazing I went outside.
Since it's a hostel and not a hotel there are timings for everything.... hot water was available till 11:00 am.
Room service was also available till a specific time in the night. But, we didn't have dinner here since we were partying :D and ordered Pizza from Domino's at 10:30 pm.
Breakfast was fine.
It's not a place where you would be ripped off. The room rent is not much and it's reasonable.
If you are going with your friends, it's the best place.
Best time to visit: March.

  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Sourabh824
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded February 28, 2014

Greetings from Greenlands!

Glad to know that you enjoyed your stay at our place. Just a point to mention. Apart from running it as a hostel, we also cater to all kinds of tourists. So we hope that your next visit would be with your family to experience our hospitality.

Thank you for your valuable feedback. Looking forward to your visit again!

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 21, 2013

I would definitely recommend this place if you're travelling to kodaikanal in a group. This is a beautiful cottage located right next to Coaker's Walk, Kodaikanal. They have double occupancy rooms as well as dormitories. If you're on a budget trip, yet you want to stay at a great place, this is the one..!! Food is good and the service is excellent. Do remember to book your "Camp Fire" slot in advance, as it is the most sought after place in the town..!!

Room Tip: The view from the double occupancy rooms are breathtaking..!!
  • Stayed: March 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Pandukal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Greetings from Greenlands!

We are glad to know your stay was a wonderful experience. Looking forward to your next visit again!

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fantastic place to stay and enjoy the view and very good service provided by the staff. If you are looking for luxury, this is not exactly the place to stay but if you are the one who would want to stay in a place where you can enjoy the magnificent beauty of nature and with a small budget, then this surely is the place.

  • Stayed: February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank ajeethvrao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this reviewResponded March 5, 2014

Greetings from Greenlands!

Glad to know your stay was a comfortable one at our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit again!

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,
Management

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews