We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Great place to stay”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home
Certificate of Excellence
Bengaluru, India
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“Great place to stay”
Reviewed March 2, 2013

Fantastic place to stay and enjoy the view and very good service provided by the staff. If you are looking for luxury, this is not exactly the place to stay but if you are the one who would want to stay in a place where you can enjoy the magnificent beauty of nature and with a small budget, then this surely is the place.

  • Stayed February 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank ajeethvrao13
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
greenlandskodai, Owner at GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home, responded to this review, March 5, 2014
Greetings from Greenlands!

Glad to know your stay was a comfortable one at our hotel. Looking forward to your next visit again!

Thank you for the valuable feedback.

Warm Regards,
Management
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

76 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    24
    30
    10
    7
    5
See reviews for
15
18
9
1
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Paris, France
Level 2 Contributor
7 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed March 13, 2012

I would NOT recommend this place. Of our entire trip, our night there will remain etched as the worst of all of them.

We showed up in the afternoon and asked if they had any rooms: only the two "luxury" ones, with terrace and showers. After visiting both, we decided to "splurge" on the hot water and chimney one (not that we planned to use the latter, for fear of alighting the synthetic carpet, though it probably turned fire-proof overtime from the layers of dirt. However, for 300 rupees (!) note that you can buy firewood from the front desk. Other than that, one of the "managers", aptly named Prince, tried to have us book a seat on a minibus, which upon later investigation was obviously a rip-off. Also I asked to use the phone, they said it didn't work then looked at me quite embarrassed when it rang...)

Back to the room: we had to pay upfront the "unegociable" 1000 rupees.
After money was handed, we learnt that hot water was actually available only between 8 and 10am. The next day, during this timeframe, there was no hot water anyway. When I went to ask the watchman what could be done, he said "ah, you may be too late, because at 9 there will be no electricity (for the water heater)". So (moutain) cold the water stayed.
Note that there are no amenities in the bathroom (no toilet paper, soap or towels)
The room was very dirty, the sheets stained but seemed washed(ish). We slept in our clothes all the same, because it was so cold. They provide 3 thin blankets, 2 of which don't cover the bed (the sheets were also too small). Also, the door and windows do not shut properly which explains the drafts.
The fact is that, dirt and cold notwithstanding, we did not sleep a wink because there was a gang fight all night long on and around the terrace of the room between howling dogs and monkeys!!! Can't hold Greenlands responsible for this one... or can we? Please???

It's a terrible shame, because with a little investment and some goodwill, this place could be really nice. Having said that, unless you're trecking, I see no reason why you'd want to set foot in Kodaikanal in the first place...

Room Tip: Choose any room, just not in this hostel
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Ornot
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad, India
Level 1 Contributor
4 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed March 5, 2012

Beautiful Valley View from any part of this beautiful, cozy, peaceful old place for stay just besides the exit of Coaker's walk,

Have options to take full room or just dorm is also available best for students.

Good place for NAture Lover.

One disadvantage is little far from Lake and market makes it difficult to have late evening walk to/from lake.

  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Kvarun31
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed November 28, 2011

The main advantage of this place is the beautiful view you get both in the day and night. You will never get such a view anywhere in Kodai stay. Since the building is pretty old, some rooms are not that good for stay. But if you are ok with a moderate room and if you would like to enjoy the view from this place, then try to get the deluxe rooms which are pretty decent. The food quality was good.

Room Tip: If you are very much particular about Luxury then you need to skip this place
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SSAdityan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ghent, Belgium
Level 1 Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed August 1, 2011

This is the worst experience I had during my one month trip in India. They are cheating and trying to trick out as much money possible of their guests. We phoned in advance, but the communication was very unclear (now we know they do it on purpose to create confusion so they can force you to pay higher rates...) So, we sent a mail to confirm our reservation. When we arrived, we referred to our mail, but the hotel manager or the person at the desk (I don't know) said they don't have mail. There was a discussion about the room rates as it was not clear communicated. Then, we were shown a room at a certain price on which we agreed. When we went paying, the room was more expensive. We said this was not correct, that he said an other price, then we got the feedback that this person doesn't speak English... This person was very unfriendly and was treating us as animals! The rooms are not clean and there was a lot of loud music and noise made by other guests.
The views are superb, but if you hike in the surroundings you even have much better views. So, this place is really not worth going. I hope they realize soon what they are doing...

  • Stayed July 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Sleep Quality
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank CathySmillie
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Vancouver
Level 3 Contributor
11 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 26 helpful votes
Reviewed June 13, 2011

-Rooms are disgutingly dirty
-Asked for an extra cot and was provided with a mattress set on dirty floor
-They sent our laundry to a guy that kept us waiting for our laundry for 10 hours after we'd checked out to get it back. When we finally did get our laundry, the guy demanded more money than we'd been quoted. Hotel offerred no concern, apologies or support during this whole ordeal.
-If you want a really cheap place to stay, that would be the only reason to stay here

Room Tip: Dorm actually seemed nicer than the individual rms
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank JenB28
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kumily
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
Reviewed February 13, 2010

Recommended by Lonely Planet, but bad service, high prices, dirty rooms.

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank berts_10
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,143 reviews
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#23 of 78 in Kodaikanal
205 reviews
1.2 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#40 of 78 in Kodaikanal
142 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#5 of 78 in Kodaikanal
665 reviews
1.2 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
318 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#26 of 78 in Kodaikanal
190 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home

Property: GreenLands Youth Hostel & International Tourist Home
Address: Coakers Walk | St. Mary's road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #10 of 143 Specialty Lodging in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 17
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Experience the beautiful cloudy surroundings of Kodaikanal where Greenland's is situated at the most spectacular spot of the Kodai hills with the breathtaking panoramic view of the valley and plains to the extent of 50Km. Make your holiday the happiest and the most memorable one while you are in Kodaikanal. We provide all modern facilities at a reasonable tariff. Dormitories, Deluxe rooms and super deluxe rooms where families and students can stay. ... more   less 

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing