We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Hotel room(Family Cottage)”

We can't find prices for this hotel
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this hotel, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
TTDC Hotel Tamilnadu Kodaikanal
Ranked #53 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
“Hotel room(Family Cottage)”
Reviewed April 22, 2014

We stayed in TTDC Kodaikanal for 2 days in family cottage room, it is OK, but tap water is very very bad. Water is fully yellowish color. I dont know about other hotels in kodaikanal. Might be whole kodaikanal water supply is like this only. Due to scarcity of water to kodai. .

Due to this we scared of taking food from TTDC restaurant. We used to take food from outside hotel.

IMO totally kodaikanal is very very costly in all aspect.

Room Tip: IMO family cottage is okay. But not tap water is not at all good(Very Bad).
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
7 Thank bass0899
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

80 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    7
    24
    29
    9
    11
See reviews for
56
13
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (29)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Mumbai (Bombay), India
Level 3 Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
Reviewed April 10, 2014

I have stayed here for few days since I could not get rooms and it was well worth the money saved. This is a cheaper, typical govt hotel. Heritage look and service but still quite an good experience....Good staff and a very holiday home and a guest house ambience...

  • Stayed November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank tiwarijn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level 4 Contributor
19 reviews
14 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed March 16, 2014

room maintenance average... breakfast is good... for dinner not many options... restroom not well maintained... friendly staff...government should initiate necessary steps for developing hotel infrastructure...

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
6 Thank Sivathejosh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
14 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 29 helpful votes
Reviewed March 3, 2014

Booked this hotel online, thinking that it is 2 KM away from Lake.
Thought it would be good, paid more than Rs 2500 for Suite that was not worth, it looked like old 1 BHK house. Next day changed to deluxe room, that was of Rs 1800. Friends, trust me it was not worth booking this hotel at this price. There are lots of hotel available in cheaper rate than this nearby lake.
Hotel was not clean as well , but food was ok.
So, moral of the story, if you have your own vehicle then book this one but only cottage or deluxe room. it is 2 KM far from lake and everytime you want to visit Lake or market for food, you have to shell out minimum Rs 200.

  • Stayed September 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
9 Thank TravelBindass
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Munich, Germany
Level 5 Contributor
53 reviews
17 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 49 helpful votes
Reviewed January 10, 2014 via mobile

It was little far from the town bus stop but offers a nice view of the valley and the clouds over the hills from your balcony. A very priceworthy room we had on 2nd floor of the reception building which was newly renovated. running hot water without geyser in washrooms was a relief. the restaurant was also nice and offers good quantity and reliable food on every order. The walk to lake and bus stop will be through jungles and hilly roads which is for someone an enjoyment but for people who doesn't wish to walk a pain. A policy of taking 100 as lowest rate for any taxi is annoying but mostly you can get taxi at your need from the gate of thw hotel. Breakfast was complimentary and there were platter of all south indian foods. The corridors have very dirty carpets which were turn off, but roonms were nice with vitrified tiles and big balcony, tv with hindi channels ! The stay was very comfortable!

Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
Helpful?
4 Thank traveller_Schmidt
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
12 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 7, 2014

The hotel is not good at all. Here are the problems:
- The loover windows cannot be closed which means that you cannot feel cosy in the room, outside cold continues to come inside.
- They only provide one thin blanket. It becomes extremely difficult to sleep because of cold as windows also cannot be closed.
- No curtains on the glass balcony door, only on the windows. They want people to peep inside your room.
- For lunch, you only have meals, for dinner, chapathi and one curry. nothing else. Dont know why they call it restaurant.
- The iron rides for the kids are broken at many places and sharp and broken edges of the rides are exposed. Full chance of kid getting hurt.
- The mattress, blanket and white sheet remind you of travel in AC coach of a train. Its the same quality and equally dirty.
Overall, it just looks like a lodge that you take for night's sleep on the highway. This is not a place where you want to come, relex and enjoy your holidays. As it is, there is nothing much to do in Yercaud. Worst of all, this hotel ruined my entire holidays.

  • Stayed December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank abhijain1
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Nellore, India
Level 2 Contributor
6 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 6 helpful votes
Reviewed December 9, 2013

The rooms are good.The service is not feasiblePricing is ok.The location of the hotel was ok.Food is average.It was an family trip but overall the is ok.When we score 1-- 5 ,we can say 3 on this hotel.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank nlrlinux
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.3 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#40 of 76 in Kodaikanal
90 reviews
0.2 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#41 of 76 in Kodaikanal
141 reviews
1.4 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#51 of 76 in Kodaikanal
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.6 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#9 of 76 in Kodaikanal
309 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#23 of 76 in Kodaikanal
167 reviews
1.3 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to TTDC Hotel Tamilnadu Kodaikanal? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about TTDC Hotel Tamilnadu Kodaikanal

Property: TTDC Hotel Tamilnadu Kodaikanal
Address: 47, Fern Hill Road | near Lake Yercaud, Kodaikanal, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Hotel Style:
Ranked #53 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing