We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Book On TripAdvisor Bonus Book your hotel on TripAdvisor — then save 20% on things to do for your trip. Use code BOOKTOSAVE.

“Felt like a home.” 4 of 5 stars
Review of Zest @ Coakers Villa

Best prices for -
Enter dates for best prices
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Zest @ Coakers Villa
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Mumbai (Bombay), India
1 review
“Felt like a home.”
4 of 5 stars Reviewed September 4, 2013

It is great time for us. High level of hospitality and entertainment. Hotel employees keep us entertain by arranging games, dance, karoke etc. we played shuttle in open ground. Fantastic valley view. Pleasent and hygenic rooms. Want to go again............

  • Stayed July 2013, traveled as a couple
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank sirpi007
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

34 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    13
    11
    6
    2
    2
See reviews for
19
10
Solo
0
Business
0
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (18)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Chennai
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 11 helpful votes
4 of 5 stars Reviewed June 9, 2013

Just returned from Kodai with a 2 night stay in Zest Coakers Villa. Definitely one of the best.
Positives:
Big private cottages with all modern facilities including a DVD player, well maintained bathroom; Stayed in a twin room; Wow! I need to go again.
Excellent valley view once you come out of the room; This is the best part and I have never stayed in such a scenic view;
Courteous staff with good service.
Tasty food and good service;
Activities are limited, but good
Negatives:
Walk from zest resort towards the main road(near coakers walk) is a big challenge since it very steep. Ladies and Kids cannot walk upwards from zest towards main road. So if you need to go out, you need a cab. Some may consider it as a positive from fitness perspective.
Small resort with 11 rooms, so may not get buffet food even in the peak season; Go for the member food package, ordering food separately is very very expensive
Billing process need to be improved. Why there is so much issue with the credit card machine? and the process is a bit slow as well.

Room Tip: Room choice may not be available; Except 2 or 3 rooms, all the other rooms have a valley view. There...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
Thank kbalasub
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Madurai, India
Level Contributor
246 reviews
60 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 160 helpful votes
2 of 5 stars Reviewed March 18, 2013

We had been here with our family and relatives of 8 persons.They did not offer us to have the buffet as they had prepared very little food for their inhouse guest.So they served al a carte which was not upto the standards.Childrens play area was not well maintained.Food was ok ..

Room Tip: Sit on the lawn for diner and view the spectacular view of the plains.
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2013, traveled with family
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 1 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
3 Thank JAZZZY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
16 reviews
8 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed March 3, 2013

Always felt like a home stay whenever we stayed here, primarily due to the size of the resort and not to miss the very warm and helpful staff.
Been to Kodai 100 times, but staying here gives it a special touch. Amazing valley view from the rooms (that is if you get the club/studio rooms). Our son's first trip outside home started here when he was 3 months.. Hotel unit rooms are part of the main building does not have much of view.
Food for Kodai standards is pretty good, all the chefs we have met give the custom touch to the menu by checking your preference during check-in.
Not much of activity inside the resort except for special occasion like christmas, new year. The wooden studios give that little worn out look. The stone block rooms are excellent especially the one with a big balcony opposite to the reception.

Room Tip: try getting the studio rooms and especially the one opposite to the reception.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank VigneshBalan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
18 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed January 23, 2013

This was a dream come true for me, as I took my entire family to this hotel. We booked three rooms and two rooms were very spacious and one room was average. I was with my parents and brother's family. We enjoyed the barbeque and break fast there. Breakfast was excellent, though a tad expensive.
play area for kids was the other major attraction for the kids.
The resort is close to the famous coakers walk, so I would say the location is great, (thought it would have been great to have more sign boards so that you can find the hotel easily). the view from hotel is similar to what you get from coaker's walk.
Service could have been better, as I find delays in getting things or I had to remind them couple of times to get what I want.

Room Tip: Choose spacious rooms, they seems to have 2 types of rooms.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 2 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Brijesh75
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
8 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 8 helpful votes
5 of 5 stars Reviewed January 9, 2013

We stayed in Zest Kodai in the 1st week of January 2013. The property & the rooms are very classy, and the accommodation is of very high standard. The property has superb valley views with most rooms are valley facing. Room No 1101 [Club Suite] is the best room in my view, followed by the log huts. The breakfast spread & quality is very good.

In my view, Zest should feature in the top 3 in Kodai

Room Tip: Room no 1101 has the best views
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 5 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank krishps
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru (Bangalore), India
Level Contributor
15 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 27 helpful votes
3 of 5 stars Reviewed November 21, 2012

I stayed at coaker's villa on 17,18th of nov. 2012. I reached early, so I had to wait a lot of time for any room to get emptied, but that's not their fault. The room was fairly large in size and was very comforting as well. You won't get a similiar room for less than 2.5k, as per my exp. I just wish that food was more affordable, as I had no food vouchers with me. I had to walk to market for all my meals, which was cumbersome, as it is on the walking distance, but the way is very uphill. Overall, the ambience of the resort is too good, as it has been maintained very well. I would suggest you to visit this place.

Room Tip: I was given 1102, but you can choose a independent cottage, if available.
See more room tips
  • Stayed November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Value
    • 3 of 5 stars
      Location
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Sleep Quality
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Rooms
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Cleanliness
    • 4 of 5 stars
      Service
Helpful?
1 Thank vivek_scorpio
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Club Mahindra Coaker's Villa
Club Mahindra Coaker's Villa
#24 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 stars 42 reviews
2.5 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
0.8 mi away
Woodlands Resort
Woodlands Resort
#45 of 75 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 stars 34 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.0 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
1.2 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#41 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 50 reviews
0.0 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#8 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 stars 517 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Zest @ Coakers Villa? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Zest @ Coakers Villa

Property: Zest @ Coakers Villa
Address: Noyce Road, Kodaikanal 624103, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Restaurant
Hotel Style:
Ranked #36 of 75 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — Zest @ Coakers Villa 3*
Number of rooms: 11
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotels.com and Booking.com so you can book your Zest @ Coakers Villa reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing