We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Badly maintained and poor service”
Review of Royal Hotel

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Royal Hotel
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Mysore
Level Contributor
16 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
“Badly maintained and poor service”
Reviewed September 6, 2013

We had booked 2 rooms through cleartrip and We stayed for a day in royal hotels.
The service is quite bad. Initially when we visited the reception people they said there are
no rooms avaialble and after calling up the cleartrip customer care the hotel they finally agreed to provide the
2 rooms which were booked.

The balconies are not clean and even the bathrooms are not upto the mark.The prices are also costly compared to the other hotels present in kodai.
Next day we decided to shift to some other hotel after this bad experience

Room Tip: prefer rooms on the 1st floor
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sandesh S
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

200 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    128
    25
    9
    9
    29
See reviews for
95
47
4
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (123)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • French first
  • Any
English first
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 31, 2013

i went to kodai of 6 members of my family ,i booked three rooms of deluxe type the rooms were nice enough to stay , we were in kodai for three days . the hotel provided complimentary breakfast .in the hotel parking is in huge size , the staffs were kindly with us

Room Tip: deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank bhatran
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore
1 review
Reviewed August 28, 2013

we went to kodai and stayed here for two days in this hotel , we loved the atmosphere of the hotel ,the rooms were nice , the food in the restaurant was served good , we went to sight seeing with the help of the hotel travel desk , it is a homely hotel to stay with family

Room Tip: family rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank rp a
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed August 26, 2013

I have gone with my family(5 persons). I have booked this hotel from goibibo. I have booked 2 rooms and already paid for an extra bed as one room is for 2 adults. After reaching there, the manager was asking to pay for extra guest but we told him we already paid. After looking 5 times on the paper he agreed. Then we asked to put extra bed in the room So he provided a mattress and a blanket which was of towel size. It was night time, so there was no support from Goibibo folks. Rooms were stingy,suffocated and smelling as if they are not opened from years.
No towels and soap are provided on the first day, after complaing on goibibo they provided soaps and towels. Moreover, the telephone was not working in both the rooms. Everytime we need to go to reception if we need anything. There was too much to say. But what to do our trip is already spoiled. I don't know how it comes among top 10 hotels in kodaikanal on trip advisor. Also in Goibibo list it seems to be verified. Fake...

Room Tip: There are 3-4 hotels nearby. Mostly, we had food at Kodai International hotel. It was a good hotel...
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank rnarang89
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
pune
1 review
Reviewed August 22, 2013

we were confirmed our booking of this hotel by phone , we were of two couples we felt staying in this hotel was very safe , the rates of food, rooms was in our budget . we enjoyed here for two days and then we went to ooty .

Room Tip: royal deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank harsini30
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kerela
1 review
Reviewed August 19, 2013

With our friends we stayed in this royal hotel in this month august , we arrived at night we had fire camp with food we enjoyed it , the food was delicious and it was service neatly , the rooms were enough to stay on three sharing , the staffs were very adjustable with us .

Room Tip: rooms on the parking side
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank shivas_ram
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Level Contributor
7 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed August 16, 2013

I would suggest people to avoid this hotel for the sheer rude behavior of their staff.

I had called up this hotel on the morning of 10th August for a booking the same day. The lady on the other side confirmed and booked one superior deluxe room. I had received a SMS confirmation also with the hotel address and directions to reach. Little did we know the kind of surprise awaiting us when we reached there post a late lunch. The guy in the reception informs us that there are no rooms available and there is no booking done in my name. Even after showing him the confirmation SMS he stuck to his claim. Then after much argue he called up another guy and made me speak to him. The guy on the phone was much worse and rude. He even had the audacity to disconnect the phone on my face.

We were in-fact very glad that that we did not get to stay there. With the kind of experience faced in the reception, god knows what would have lied ahead...

In short I would recommend anyone to avoid this hotel at any cost. I still wonder in disbelief on all the positive reviews that I read about this hotel.

  • Stayed August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank RamaniG
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
madhuKodaikanal, Manager at Royal Hotel, responded to this review, August 18, 2013
Dear sir,
Sorry For the inconvenience.
I couldn't accept your statement. Without any payment from you, how can we book a room for you.
You would have enquired for a room, they would have said, we will message you the address and direction, if we have the availability, we can provide it or else we cant.
Because without payment, no one will book a room in any hotel unless they were a regular guest.
And in this confusion, you have misbehaved with our staffs.
If you want to book a room on same day, how can we do it without any payment.
Try to understand our situation also.
Once again, I feel sorry for what had happened.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.7 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#41 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.5 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
0.3 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#62 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#40 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.9 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.3 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#22 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Royal Hotel? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Royal Hotel

Property: Royal Hotel
Address: 6/328 2c | Opp. High School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Free Breakfast Free Parking Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #23 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2 star — Royal Hotel 2*
Number of rooms: 36

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing