We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Excellent ..Awesome place...!!”

We can't find prices for this accommodation
Our online travel partners don't provide prices for this accommodation, but we can search other options in Kodaikanal
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Dalethorpe Homestay
Ranked #7 of 104 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Reviewed February 11, 2014

Dalethorpe is possibly one of the best places to stay in Kodaikanal, one cannot ask for anythings more and at an extremely reasonable price . I visited Kodaikanal with my parents and wife and had an excellent stay there .
Special thanks to Shaheed ,who owns the place, for his hospitality and customer service . The food was excellent and was prepared as per our request ... beautiful landscape...clean and spacious rooms...clean linen... best place to stay in Kodaikanal ....!!! highly recommended ...

  • Stayed: February 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank ajprad
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (196)
There are newer reviews for Dalethorpe Homestay
See the most recent reviews
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

94 - 100 of 196 reviews

Reviewed January 26, 2014

When u picture a hill station holiday in your head, the first picture that comes to your mind is quaint little cottage surrounded by mist with its own little fireplace to keep you warm and snug.
Well this place makes that picture come to life. There is no five star property that will give you the experience that this little place will offer. That coupled with excellent customer service by the people in charge is an experience you just cant beat. The food was excellent and the hospitality outstanding. Thanks to Shaheed and his son who made us feel very welcome.

Room Tip: ask for the independent cottage far back, it gives u total privacy and a feeling of being in the wil...
  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Chetan35
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 20, 2014

Excellence in hospitality industry is all about service delivery. No other place of stay would have given me such a 'Kodaikanal' feel, like I have experienced at Dalethrope. Overall service - Outstanding; Location - superb and Food - Excellent. Thank you Shaheed and Team for operating and maintaining such a piece of heritage in a modest way. All I can do is to rate five star for the excellent performance.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Rihansait
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 18, 2014

We are well travelled within India, having stayed in many different locations and types of accommodation. We found this homestay through trip advisor and read the many reviews before booking it. We also looked on the owner'swebsite and now feel that the photos are far more flattering than the actual building and it's surrounds.

The cottage is well located for accessing the town and surrounds if you are fit and active individuals and enjoy walking like us. It is quiet, when there is no music blasting out all evening, from neighbours.

The cottage room itself is very cold at night and needs heating, however, guests should not have to pay extra for this privilege. Homestays or hotels that we have visited on our many trips to India have always provided additional blankets and some heating as part of the payment, not on top of it.

Future guests also might need to be aware that there are no tea and coffee making facilities provided. Again, these are all additional expenses on top of the room payment.

The cottage room was tired and very dark inside; also the bathroom left a lot to be desired, with a badly cracked toilet and unsafe sink. Finally, the hot water dribbling out of the shower was most erratic.

We were charged nearly 600 rupees for an evening meal on arrival that was nothing special by Indian standards. Plus an exorbitant 1200 rupees for heating the room on 3 out of our 4 nights, this being the cost of firewood!

Our thanks to the owners, but we also hope that our honest opinions will provoke some further reconsiderations of what they are offering all guests for the prices that are being charged.

  • Stayed: January 2014, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank PaulCBuryStEdmunds
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 15, 2014

Nice Stay. Cottages are best for family stays. Service was excellent and at night barbeque which was served to us was too good. Nice atmosphere to stay. Long cherished dream of mine to stay in an British bungalow was fulfilled this time.
My special thanks to SHAMEER - SHAHEED & TANVEER.

Will never forget this place and is highly recommended for stay.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank Nirmal K
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 14, 2014 via mobile

Excellent Arrangements and Awesome food. Should improve in Hot water supply and flexible in checkout timing on prior intimation. Stayed with Family on renting Entire Bungalow and Suite rooms and Detached Bungalow were excellent.

Stayed: January 2014, traveled with family
Thank sangeethr2014
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 6, 2014

Great location, 2 minutes away from the center of town/ lake. Very neat, clean place. We were very well looked after with great service. The food was a complete surprise (very tasty) and made sure that we ate at least 1 meal per day at Dalethorpe. Highly recommended if you're visiting Kodai.

  • Stayed: December 2013, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank kroner34
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Villa Retreat
Villa Retreat
#1 of 78 in Kodaikanal
1,159 reviews
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#7 of 78 in Kodaikanal
671 reviews
0.1 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#8 of 78 in Kodaikanal
324 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.8 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
1.1 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
5.2 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalethorpe Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalethorpe Homestay

Address: 1/72 A Convent Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #7 of 104 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range: $70 - $79 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Number of rooms: 6

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing