We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“memorable place”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Dalethorpe Homestay
Ranked #5 of 93 Kodaikanal B&B and Inns
Certificate of Excellence
Cuttack, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“memorable place”
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed August 8, 2012

Sorry for the late review ... me n my hubby had a great time there . We stayed in the independent cottage in Dalethorpe and were pleasantly surprised by the loveliness of the room- large spacious ,neat n warm in chilling kodai weather . A mini fire place was a prefect companion . Food was nice, home made food and you can specify what you need they will cook for you. Its was a very pleasent stay. We are back with memories to cherish for ever. Thank u .... Dalethorpe Homestay. We would love to visit again.

  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank drlipsa
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

194 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    109
    64
    13
    4
    4
See reviews for
94
42
2
2
Rating summary
  • Location
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Sleep Quality
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Rooms
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Service
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
  • Value
    4 of 5 bubbles
  • Cleanliness
    4.5 of 5 bubbles
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (73)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Kochi (Cochin), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 12, 2012

I had visited the place in the beginning of July 2012 on my honeymoon... It was a lovely place which would let you escape from the hustle-bustle of the city and relax and soak in the nature. We stayed in the independent cottage in Dalethorpe and were pleasantly surprised by the loveliness of the room.

Mr. Shaheed,our host was most graceful and courteous. He also pointed out some of the lovely places in Kodaikanal and we also had the most lovely experience of plucking fresh pears right from the trees in front of our cottage.. My wife has now laid down terms and conditions that if we ever go to Kodaikanal again (which she is sure to do) , we will be staying at Dalethorpe and at that same cottage.

What else can I say.. Lovely.. Pleaseantly Surprising and Absolutely MIND BLOWING..

Stayed July 2012, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
1 Thank jasthemirage
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
3 hotel reviews
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 10, 2012

Guys., am really sorry to delay my review about this beautiful trustworthy cottage in kodai., looks simple with best interiors and great staffing., lovely accommodation., breakfast., last but not least their staffs.., We are couples from chennai drove a ride for a weekend to kodai., its our first connection with dale thorpe this time., and was splendid.., we booked a individual cottage which was more than worthy than we paid.. easy to migrate as it is in the heart of the town., hot water all the time., nice bed spreads., clean towels., greater privacy.. kewl coffeeee too. if u r a couple, wanna explore kodai., don hesitate to book dale thorpe and try not missing that individual cottage.. Thanx dale thorpe and staffs

Thanks guys for
Sorry that i delayed this review for more than a month

Karthick
Chennai

Room Tip: Try those individual cottages
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank cartik
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
35 reviews
10 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 4, 2012

We as a complete family went for a vacation.
we booked three rooms one delux and two standard. Delux rooms are better.
Food was nice. very good food and you can specify what you need they will cook for you.
its was a very pleasent stay. We stayed like home and enjoyed like a hotel.

Manager helped us get cab from railway station and way back to station.
Its around 90KM from nearest railway station. scenary was awsome.
We loved the holiday it was worth of money we paid and spent

Room Tip: there are various home stay in kodaikanal plan and see the response
See more room tips
  • Stayed August 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sandeep m
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hyderabad
Level Contributor
14 reviews
11 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 20 helpful votes
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed July 1, 2012

My brother booked this property from Delhi! And he did the right thing. Just about 1.5kms from Kodai lake this homestay is amazing both locationwise and hospitality. Mr.Shaheed our host, very accomodating and friendly. Me and my brother's family stayed here for two nights and absolutely enjoyed every moment.

For a traveller, it is the friendly service which makes the stay worthwhile. Mr.Shaheed and his staff(Mr.Babu and his family wife and 3 children) were very social and the service awesome.

One thing which I have to mention is, Food, and boy you will get sumptuous, very tasty and mouth watering items. do not miss out on the breakfast, and if possible have every meal in the homestay.

Reaching.......

When you enter Kodai after crossing Moonjikkal, you'll come across the main signal, take a right from here and you'll reach the BSNL building, besides you'll see a road going to your right take that and go on little further, just after crossing few grocery shops and automobile repair shops you'll find Dalethorpe to your left. Contact mr.Shaheed at 9443322710 or 04542-240656.

Rest assured you will have a memorable stay........... :-)

Room Tip: Take the rooms in the second block, left side which has huge windows which you can open and wlak out...
See more room tips
  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank Sundaram V
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
kochin
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
4 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 28, 2012

I booked 2N after reading reviews from tripadvisor. This is a good place to stay in terms of hospitality and food. However, this place is not located at any hillside, so you will not get any good views of kodaikanal or the lake from your room. If you walk towards the lake it takes 15 mins, so its not too far away from the town.The reception desk is mostly empty so you need to inform the owner in advance if you are needing lunch or dinner. We didn't have either since we had good time at Tibetan Brothers and Tava(Two good hotels). Breakfast is really superb as you must have read. I cant say much about the rooms since I stayed in a standard room, it was decent.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank lijoclicks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
New Jersey, USA
2 reviews
5 of 5 bubbles Reviewed June 25, 2012

I booked this place after reading the reviews on tripadvisor. The place is excellent, staff is wonderful and food is awesome. We were a group of 15 people and stayed for 4 days. Everyone in our group enjoyed every minute of our stay. I would recommend this homestay to anyone who wants a home away from home.

  • Stayed June 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank kmenonUSA
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.9 mi away
Kodai Resort
Kodai Resort
#4 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 630 reviews
1.8 mi away
Hill Country Resorts Kodaikanal
1.9 mi away
Holiday Home
Holiday Home
#13 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 177 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
1.1 mi away
Kodai - By The Lake, A Sterling Holidays Resort
5.2 mi away
Elephant Valley Eco Farm Hotel
0.7 mi away
Hotel Kodai International
Hotel Kodai International
#14 of 75 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 329 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Dalethorpe Homestay? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Dalethorpe Homestay

Property: Dalethorpe Homestay
Address: 1 / 72 A, Convent Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free Breakfast Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Kitchenette Pets Allowed ( Dog / Pet Friendly ) Room Service Suites
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 93 B&Bs / Inns in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Number of rooms: 6
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline so you can book your Dalethorpe Homestay reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing