We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
Hotel Gurupriya
Show Prices
Like saving money? We search up to 200 sites for the lowest prices
Nearby Hotels
View Hotel
  • Restaurant
  • Room Service
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
Royal Hotel(Kodaikanal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Benzz Park Kodai(Kodaikanal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Le Poshe by Sparsa(Kodaikanal)
View Hotel
Certificate of Excellence
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Breakfast included
OYO 9183 RJ Inn(Kodaikanal)
View Hotel
  • Free Wifi
  • Free Parking
Hotel Mount View(Kodaikanal)
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
View Hotel
  • Free Parking
  • Restaurant
Reviews (95)
Filter reviews
95 results
Traveler rating
19
39
23
7
7
Traveler type
Time of year
LanguageAll languages
19
39
23
7
7
Show reviews that mention
All reviewsbudget hotelroom servicerooftop restaurantground floorrecommend this hotelhospitality
FilterAll languages
Updating list...
55 - 60 of 95 reviews
Reviewed November 4, 2013

It's a Nice Hotel, But definitely not a very good One. It is located at a Nice place - it means u can access to all important places in Kodai within 10 minutes from this place. Price is surely high for the standards. You can surely check with other hotels in the same price range before booking. But definitely you can enjoy a nice stay. There is no problem with the hotel, but surely price is high for the ambiance provided.

  • Stayed: November 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank relaxtripp
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed October 29, 2013

I had a pleasant 3 day stay with my family. The hotel is reasonably priced, well maintained and located near to Zion School. Although some of the workers were on leave yet the service was exemplary thanks to Mr.Perumal (receptionist) who was constantly on the move fulfilling multiple tasks/requests of the customers with a smiling face. Hats off to him! The caretaker Mr. Siva is polite & very obliging always trying to satisfy the customers’ requirements to the fullest. He arranged our pick up, sight-seeing & dropping in the hotels Toyota Innova vehicle driven by Mr. Murali, a courteous safe driver. The hotel boasts of a simple roof-top restaurant serving veg & non-veg food which was delicious & feels like home made preparation; you can also order food by room service. Steaming hot water is readily available between 0600-0900hrs, at other times it is available on demand but you have to wait for 15 to 20 minutes for the water to get heated. The only drawback is the tiny patch of road from the hotel to the main road which gets water clogged during heavy rains but it can be over looked if you travel by a vehicle. In short, we had no hassles as everything was available at the hotel including free WiFi network 24X7. Good hotel - reasonable prices - committed to customer service. Obviously a 'CUSTOMERS DELIGHT!'

Room Tip: Rooms located below the centralized water heater gets hot water faster.
  • Stayed: October 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Peter_Y888
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this reviewResponded February 6, 2014

Hello Peter,

Thanks for your review. We look forward to server you in the near future. Please suggest us to your friends and family.

Thanks & regards,
Owner, Hotel Gurupriya

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 19, 2013

We spent 2 days in a Triple Beded Deluxe Room on a rainy Aug second weekend session in this Hotel. The hotel is easy accessable from the Zion Schol Stop/corner from the main road.
Just few meters before the Kodai International. But at the rain time the narrow and pothole full road to the hotel was ruinful and it was tolerable since distance is few metres only. The exterior of the hotel shows built on recent years and attractive.
Our booked Room looks spacious, neat, attractive,wooden floored(but felt chillness) and groomed with CTV,Baboo Sofa, 2 cushioned chairs and a Small Dining Table, Large wall mounted mirror.
Enough space for car parking and was easier. There was Wi-fi network available on
either of the floors which is very useful for net user like me. 24 hour hot water too.

From the time of log-in I was badly in need of help of them coz of my car problem. Reservation incharge Mr.Charls (with whom i communicated for room booking and concession)
arranged a car meachanic there within 40 Mins. Otherwise we would been to rely on call taxis through out our trip. (its a diff.story that the mechanic minted much money than expected)
Their commitment to customer service started like this. The Room service (for us mostly required for hot water only) was reasonably good for us with acceptable delay some times.
There was only one guy(Mr.Rajesh) to attend room services, who tried to serve at his best. I even saw the Receptionist (Mr.Permual) committed on food delivery to room once which clearly indicates
their commitment to customer service regardess of their position.

Hotel's simple Roof top Restaurent provides good quality food at very reasonable rates in morning and evening. Eventhough they have limited south indian menu items for break fast (Bread,Idli,Dosai varieties only, not even Vada,poori, pongal...)
they were Very good in taste n quality and reasonably cheaper too (30 for set of 3 idlis, Dosa varieties for 30,35,50). We had Dinnere once with Parotta, chicken sidish and was Ok.
The women servants there helped us to eat outside meals(lunch) on their roof top.

During our complete 3 day spent on hotel, everybody there attended us politely, pleasantly. During Check-out, receiption guy Perumal gave lot of grace time and accepted balance bill payment through mobile banking.
This is our 4th Kodaikanal visit since marriage and we stayed diff.hotels around lake. For a change i booked this hotel which is few kms away from lake which did not disappoint us rather gave a sweet memorable stay.
At walkable distance from hotel you an find small tea shops, reastaurents(for parotta,briyani) and a mess for homely non-veg meals(kamraj mess)


And not but the least, no hotel in this area(zion school) has such spacious, attractive, feature riched and neat at this tariff. I used to look in n around hotels wherever we stay during my tea time walk. Even at our off-season stay period they run Gen-set during power failures
meanwhile nearby hotels not.


To summarise: This hotel is worth an every buck we paid. MORE VALUE FOR MONEY. VERY GOOD CUSTOMER SUPPORT. People are Totally committed to Guest Service.

Room Tip: You may look for other available rooms for more space , interiors, & furnishings as each rooms have some different looks
  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
2  Thank k_malarks
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed September 3, 2013

We stayed in family cottage. Family cottage having 3 room with dinning hall. Rooms are very neat and tariff are within the budget. They have limited Food menu on morning and evening. And Limited foods are very nice. Feel like home preparation. And the Manager Charls and Perumal are very helping and kindly manner. The people who are willing to go for kodaikanal trip can stay at Gurupriya Hotel.

  • Stayed: August 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Revathy R
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed June 25, 2013

we stayed in this hotel the rooms was good but the manager is an worst person , he wants money for everthing , we gave rs 1700 for room and asked bill he said he will write only in white paper , if you want proper bill he said he will give for only 1000 . no bill was given for food . he chets the management , he was harsh with us , he was not an nice person are capable man to manage a hotel ,because of him we checked out in one day . we stayed in june first week

Room Tip: corner rooms
  • Stayed: June 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
8  Thank r s
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Gurupriya, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this reviewResponded July 2, 2013

Hello RS,
Thanks for your comments, we have noticed your concern and will put a process in place for the problem identified by you ASAP. Apologize for any inconvenience caused.

Regards,
Owner

Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
View more reviews