We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“great trip”
Review of Hotel Gurupriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 6 more sites!
Hotel Gurupriya
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 2 helpful votes
“great trip”
Reviewed April 22, 2013

It was a great experience to have a holiday vacation with Gurupriya. Ambience and other amenities, quality were good and front desk staffs approach was really in a pleasing manner. On the whole it was a good trip we had with good support. Cab arrangement were very good. We wish to have the same throughout.

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank guna_gunashekar
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bengaluru, India
1 review
Reviewed April 22, 2013

our recent 2 nights stay at gurupriya hotel, kodai was a warm experience. right from the hotel staff who were very hospitable to the clean and neat room it was very good and relaxing, not to mention the food which was hot and delicious. they also helped us with local taxi facility. Overall it is a good hotel option especially when u r going with family

  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ashwath k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai (Madras), India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed April 8, 2013

I liked this hotel very much due to the care the staff and the owner's family has showed on us. I just booked online and went there, but to be mentioned that they really take care of us very well. During our stay one of our family was not well after the forest trip, it was late in the night.The owner made couple of calls to the available doctors, then he asked one of the hotel staff to accompany us to the doctors place and that was a great help. You need people with the humanitarian aspects and its not just staying. I have stayed around the world but there are only few hotels like this with great people, willing to help!

Room Tip: We stayed in deluxe rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank KanagarajRajarajan
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 23, 2013

We stayed in this hotel for 2 nights. We booked triple bed room.It can be rated average in terms of space and cleanliness . The most disappointing thing was that there was no restaurant in the hotel and the menu offered for roomservice was very limited and was sourced from some outside canteen! Food was again average in taste ! Front office was friendly but there was not anymore amenities in the hotel. To our surprise this hotel stands next to kodai international hotel where you can get food with variety and taste and that is exactly what we did .

Room Tip: Triple bed room was okay in terms of space but to be frank, we did not enjoy the service or standard...
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank bpal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Jamshedpur, India
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 13 helpful votes
Reviewed January 6, 2013

I stayed in hotel Gurupriya for two days from 31/12/12 to 2/01/13 and what i felt that this is one of the best budget hotel i ever stayed anywhere in india...very clean and very good room service. hotel staffs are very supportive and decent. kodaikanal itself a very good place and staying in gurupriya made my vacation more memorable. good for staying with family or friends both.

Room Tip: rooms at first floor are good to stay. very good view of city from there
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank nikhil848
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
73 reviews
19 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 50 helpful votes
Reviewed January 3, 2013

I booked the hotel thinking it will be better since it somehow had a north indian name. The reviews also looked ok.
Pros:
Good Parking Place
Cons:
The staff is very unfriendly
They want to charge you for everything that they do. If you need your room cleaned pay. Otherwise there is no person available to clean
Want your car washed, Shell out INR 200.
No hot water for most of the day
Electricity will not be turned on and as soon as the clock struck 1.00am if the power goes there is no backup provided. If you ask for power, they will politely tell you that it will come in 10 min and then again a reminder is required and then again.
We reached this place in the night as we were driving. We were tried so decided to order from Hotel itself. We came to know that they dont have a restaurant and will get it from outside. Since it was cold we were expecting to eat something hot and then sleep. To our amazement, food was served cold in plates and they didnt even bother to cover.

The chapathis (Roti) were more or less hard as stones. We requested for Water and he filled the jug in the room. When we saw, we had two roaches floating in it. We called and asked and were told that it is RO water and is very clean.

Since the staff didnt want the hassle to clean at 7.00pm they offered us an upgrade of room. Next morning, at 7.00am we were asked to vacate the room. We had booked for three nights in this hotel. We made it a point not to eat again here. Hot water was supplied only for 1 hour that too from 7-8am. If you wake late or need water after that, then call and pay.

Worst hotel stay I ever had in my life. We were travelling with a small baby, so was surprised on how casual they were about cleanliness and all.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank errich
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

Hyderabad
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 29, 2012

Bad cots and beds. No heaters. Dirty flooring. Dirty bathrooms.
Dirty curtains. 100% waste of money.
I booked for two days but the two days were very horribly we spent there. No workers to clean the floor. I asked to clean the floor 5 times but at last they told that there are no workers to clean.

I suggest you to don't choose this hotel unless there are no hotels available in Kodaikanal. If you booked this hotel in the worst case, please carry a room freshener and phenyl bottle and toilet cleaning brush.

  • Stayed December 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank vishwa2
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#40 of 76 in Kodaikanal
141 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#23 of 76 in Kodaikanal
165 reviews
1.3 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#51 of 76 in Kodaikanal
120 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.8 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 76 in Kodaikanal
225 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#22 of 76 in Kodaikanal
184 reviews
0.8 mi away
Treebo Altius Nest
Treebo Altius Nest
#9 of 76 in Kodaikanal
298 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurupriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurupriya

Property: Hotel Gurupriya
Address: No 17/328 - 3 Laws Ghat Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #41 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gurupriya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Expedia, Orbitz, Travelocity, Hotwire, Booking.com, TripOnline SA, Hotels.com and Cheap Tickets so you can book your Hotel Gurupriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing