We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Good Budget hotel”
Review of Hotel Gurupriya

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 5 more sites!
Hotel Gurupriya
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Bengaluru, India
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
“Good Budget hotel”
Reviewed April 29, 2012

Booked this hotel for 2 days for a family trip. Rooms and bath are clean and tidy + spacious. I had booked 3 standard non A/C rooms and i was fully satisfied with the amenities provided. Breakfast was really good and we specially liked the idly. Best thing about Gurupriya is that they also provide the vehicle for sight seeing and forest visit.In my case we took an AC Innova. Driver was very courteous and helpful. Manager also arranged for the permissions provided by the forest dept as you need special permission from the forest dept to enter the kodaikanal forest. The charges are although nominal.
The hotel does not provides a great view of lake or hills but it is really a good choice for them who believe in spending less in staying and more in roaming/shopping etc. For 1500 INR including tax its worth for money.
Also Please don't miss home made kodai Chocolates and Ayurveda shopping at the main market.

Room Tip: Try a room on 1st floor as ground floor has generator on one side.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank yatindra
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

90 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    17
    37
    23
    6
    7
See reviews for
44
29
Solo
0
1
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (24)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
bangalore
Level Contributor
8 reviews
7 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed April 16, 2012

Deluxe rooms are very comfortable with all amenities,food was decent.You dont find any mountain view or anything but located at a good place in the town.
Deluxe rooms are very comfortable with all amenities,food was decent.You dont find any mountain view or anything but located at a good place in the town.
I will recommend this hotel for families.

Room Tip: Book any deluxe room in yatra and you will get a discount.
See more room tips
  • Stayed April 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank yensaileshh
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed March 27, 2012

We were stayed in this hotel for 2 days & 1 night. The hospitality was so good and guys were very happy. The food was awesome, it has home made tasty. Everyone in my team was enjoyed the stay. Very good hospitality. The rooms were very clean and neat.

Initially we planned for 16 members but unfortunately we can make it only 11 and we have informed to hotel once we reach there. They are not create any problem and they are very co-operative.

  • Stayed February 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Sivasankar N
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Ahmedabad, India
Level Contributor
14 reviews
13 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 25 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Its a nice budget hotel, I stayed with family for 2 nights. Rooms are neat and clean. there is no good view from any of the rooms as this is a budget hotel. Looking at the charges for rooms i paid for, I was satisfied with this hotel. The only missing thing is an inhouse restaurant, although they provided some food to rooms but it was very spicy.

Room Tip: Go for delux rooms
See more room tips
  • Stayed January 2012, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank tapanahm
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
9 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 16 helpful votes
Reviewed December 17, 2011

We statyed here for only one night even though we had booked for couple of nights. Problem was not with the hotel but with the plan. Rooms were nice and clean. Well maintained. Problem was with the water in bathroom. It was not at all clean. Also hotel doesn't have any in house restaurant. You have to go outside for breakfast.
Manager was nice. He helped u sin early check out. Also didn't say a word even though we had checked in 1 hour early. Overall it was ok sort of experience in staying in this hotel.

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Suchi1988
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Mumbai, Maharashtra, India
Level Contributor
24 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 14 helpful votes
Reviewed December 13, 2011

It is a nice hotel. Around 2KM from Kodalkanal Bus Stand. We had booked deluxe room. It was really nice and really value for money. Hot water is available from 4 AM to 8 AM. Though water in the bathroom was not that clean, drinking water was very clean. When we inquired about this with Manager he told us that it was due to the dust in water pipe.
Hotel doesn't have its own restaurant. But you can find various restaurants nearby.

Room Tip: Go for Deluxe rooms facing Zion school.
See more room tips
  • Stayed December 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank SachinS19
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Senthilkumar95, Owner at Hotel Gurupriya, responded to this review, December 15, 2011
Hello Sir,

Thanks for your valueable comments. We have rectified the water (colour) problem and now the water is colourless. Looking foward to serve you better in near future.

Warm regards,
Senthilkumar
Proprietor
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kottayam, Kerala, India
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
Reviewed December 7, 2011

we were there @ Gurupriya on 3rd December 2011..
your services are excellent..
rooms are beautiful and neat and tidy..
your hospitality is very very good..
Perumal is an excellent and gentle person..
Thanks a lot to Mr.Siva and Perumal..
Thanks.. thanks a lot...

Adv. Vinodji
Thushar M.K
Sunil. N
Adv. N.S. Radhakrishnan
Harish

  • Stayed December 2011, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank Vinodji P
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Spring Valley
Hotel Spring Valley
#41 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 141 reviews
0.7 mi away
The Carnival Resort
The Carnival Resort
#17 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 159 reviews
1.3 mi away
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
United-21 Resort, Kodaikanal
#49 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 119 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#22 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
Hotel Apple Valley
Hotel Apple Valley
#24 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 180 reviews
0.4 mi away
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
Kodai Sunshine Hotel
#32 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 59 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Gurupriya? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Gurupriya

Property: Hotel Gurupriya
Address: No 17/328 - 3 Laws Ghat Road, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Free High Speed Internet ( WiFi ) Free Parking Kitchenette Room Service Suites Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Gurupriya 2.5*
Number of rooms: 25
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com, Hotwire, Orbitz, Expedia, Hotels.com, Cheap Tickets and TripOnline SA so you can book your Hotel Gurupriya reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing