We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.
We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.
The latest reviews. The lowest prices. The perfect place to shop for hotels.

“Economic and clean though but 2 km away from city center”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Spring Valley
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Melbourne, Australia
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
“Economic and clean though but 2 km away from city center”
Reviewed May 25, 2010

We stayed in Hotel Spring valley for 3 days in month of April. Its good 80 kms from Kodai road station and we took a shared cab to reach this hotel. This is good 2 kms away from City center and is located along with couple of other budget hotels. Rooms were neat though not very modern but some of them are under renovation so you can try to pick one with better view (nothing much to see though). Food is cheap though not advisable for someone looking for good authentic South Indian food. :)
Staff were friendly and they help you get tour guides. They operate mini bus to go back to Kodai road/ Madurai stations. Overall it was a good experience, though you might end up paying for taxi whenever you want to roam around in city. For money we pay, its a decent bargain. Have a lovely stay.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank suditraveller
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    37
    9
    10
See reviews for
68
42
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
Bangalore
Level Contributor
6 reviews
6 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 7 helpful votes
Reviewed May 24, 2010

We visited Kodaikanal to cool off during the hot days of August. We already a decent place in cheap rate at a good location. These combinations are very rare I know.. ;-) I booked this hotel from online hotel booking site. After reaching to the hotel, we had a mixed reaction. But that when we started living in the rooms, we started liking it. The staffs are extra courteous and always ready to serve. Rooms and surrounding is clean. Only problem I found is the restaurant. Thats not maintained properly and doesn't have proper food. But overall we liked the hotel because of following factors :
a) Location
b) Price
c) Cleanliness

  • Stayed August 2009, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank AtanuDey
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
13 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 21 helpful votes
Reviewed May 10, 2010

hotel was not as good as shown in the website. but the rates were ok 1500/- per day.
This is not in the busy area and about 3 km form kodai lake. food is not so good.
preferd not to eat there after day 1. room service is average. they arrnage for good tour.
more important no power supply for 3 hrs in the morning.

All around it is good budget hotel

  • Stayed May 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank YuviChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
BHIWANI,haryana
Level Contributor
10 reviews
9 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 22 helpful votes
Reviewed April 26, 2010

hotel is clean, good & bathrooms are also clean. good maintained hotel. well behaved staff.restaurant is small & with limited dishes but food quality is satisfactory. room service is good. safe & a good place to stay. it is easily approachable. even u can go to main market by 15-20 minute walk ( hard walk due to slope). taxi is available for rs 60/- from hotel to anywhere in kodaikanal. rates are reasonable. i recommend this hotel.

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank amitzplus
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
2 reviews
Reviewed April 18, 2010

It was a good time with my spouse,
There was no room heater or temprature control in the room
Hot water was not enough hot.
But still we enjoyed
Front Desk was very helpful
Thanks for the team.
Regards
Zahir

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ZAHChennai
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bangalore
Level Contributor
1 review
Reviewed April 18, 2010

A good deal in the budget/economy segment hotels in kodaikanal. Something i would recommend except the standard rooms either with family or friends.
I stayed in hotel Spring Valley, Kodaikanl from 8th to 10th April 2010 with wife, 2 year son and in laws.
Had reserved this in advance from Bengaluru. Selected this hotel after an internet search and previous reviews. The good part was that the hotel hosted a website http://hotelspringvalley.com/ with contacts even if it was smaller compared to the luxury hotels/resorts there. I called them and checked on room availability & tariff. The staff on phone was polite and advised me to transfer advance as tourist season was starting. I did so with 1000 Rs after receiving thier ICICI bank a/c number. Please note that the hotel does not accept Credit card payment. Only cash.
We reached the place around 15:30 in the afternoon by car. Its located in the beginning as you enter kodaikanal but doesnt have signboards. You might need to ask locals for directions. The approach road to the hotel and others there like Mountain view etc is the Worst that can be in kodaikanal. Muddy, rocky and full of potholes. We had a flat tyre on 1 evening and driver had to replace it with stepney under a lampost. There were also frequent power cuts in kodaikanal and hence dead street lamp posts. So we also had to use our mobiles as troches to fix our punctured tyre. It was a a pity that the 5 or 6 hotels/cottages there could not get it repaired.
We dint expect nor recieved any grand welcome at checkin. The staff was busy with check in check out guests. But they were courteous to send boys to pick up our luggae to the room.
The family suite is the best room in the hotel and the reality was as close to the pictures on the website. Very economically priced at 1550 per night. The good thing was that
the 2 rooms were new, clean, neat & tidy. The 2 bathrooms were also good. The only difficulty is that hot water is available only from 11 pm to 11 am. There was 1 cane sofa and 2 cane chairs and centre table in addition to the double beds, side tables and cupboards and 2 TV's. The cable connection was off most of time. No beautiful view from any of the rooms in the hotel but nice rooms to relax and enjoy with family or friends. They gave only 2 towels for 4 adults and 1 baby. When asked at checkout staff said they do give but was not the case with us.
But we had to move to 2 standard rooms next day due to full reservation. The rooms are nothing but a double bed a TV and a dusty chair & table. Bathroom was also less cleaner in quality. We were in for a surprise after the family suite. Since we dint have time, patience or energy to look for another hotel that too in season time we decided to stay there. One of the rooms even had a tap protruding out of the wall which hinted that the room was probably designed for a bathroom. The other sad part is that these 5 rooms are in the basement and you have to cross the car parking to reach there. Felt like barracks or prison cells in a row. Ours was the last room and after that was common bathroom or area where there was water leakage. appeared to be a big sigdi like setup for hot water. Also kodaikanal is cold otherwise it could be very stuffy and suffocating in these rooms withour proper ventialltion. The deluxe, executive or family rooms on above floors are much better. Did not complaint much for a night's sleep at Rs 600 per room. Also note that you have to checkout at 9 am irrespective of what time you checkin. The staff will politely remind you thru room intercom esp during season time and rush.
The restaurant is very small and cooks mainly for advanced orders. We did not get anyt lunch at 4 pm on check in which was not a surprise. The snacks like sandwiches, french fries etc were almost twice thrice the market price. Also room service was good but you need to have patience due to a small kitchen. Dont expect quick service esp during rush hours. We also had breakfast on last day before checkout but the onion dosa was a mistake both in ordering and cooking ! Idli was ok and only Poori was nice. We did not try any lunch or dinner. Something i would avoid in case of a btter choice outside.
Overall a good package in budget category esp in off season when prcies are economic.

  • Stayed April 2010, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank smanishin
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
bangalore india
Level Contributor
5 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 19, 2010

It was really a nice experience to stay there. One of the best hotels I have ever seen. Other amneties were excellent. Would rate it 2. Really great experience

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank nitu_pre06
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#41 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.5 of 5 bubbles 90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#62 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 19 reviews
0.8 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.0 of 5 bubbles 223 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.4 mi away
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
Hotel Grand Paradise Inn
#63 of 76 in Kodaikanal
3.0 of 5 bubbles 26 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#23 of 76 in Kodaikanal
4.5 of 5 bubbles 162 reviews
0.5 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spring Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spring Valley

Property: Hotel Spring Valley
Address: 25 Laws Ghat Road | Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #43 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Spring Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spring Valley is one of the best budget hotel in Kodaikanal which offers a place for renewal and rejuvenation. Each room at Hotel Spring Valley is designed around the soothing, simple yet intricate patterns found in nature. Color, space and design converge to bring order and balance to an otherwise hurried world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spring Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing