We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“nice place to stay”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
Hotel Spring Valley
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Chennai
Level Contributor
3 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“nice place to stay”
Reviewed March 17, 2010

We were a group of 9 people and stayed at the hotel for 2 days. the rooms were very clean and we had hot water running in the bathrooms. the linen in the room was also clean.The furniture was also good and neatly arranged. there is no provisions for heaters but the woolen blankets provided were good and we were able to sleep well.

the hotel had an attached restaurant from where we can order food. Though i wouldnt say the food was great, it was pretty decent. Food needs to be ordered 30 mins before. however adhoc requests for tea/coffee were attended.

the staff was very courteous and responsive to all our queries. They had arranged for a tour operator to pick up up from kodai road and also show around.

The hotel is also close to the shopping centres in Kodaikanal. However the hotel rooms do not have nice view of the valleys. but this dint matter to us

i would definitely recommend this hotel for others

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank hussain27syed
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

141 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    29
    56
    37
    9
    10
See reviews for
68
42
Solo
0
2
Rating summary
  • Sleep Quality
  • Location
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (37)
Date | Rating
  • English first
  • Any
English first
kerala
2 reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 4 helpful votes
Reviewed March 12, 2010

This was my 5th visit to Kodaikanal ,But it was the first time i took a room in hotel spring valley .I am extremely unhappy with the stay and the staff behavior .we were 4 people me my wife my friend and his wife.so we took a family suite with two partitions .while check in we asked the receptionist regarding check in check out timings and he said 24hours check in checkout. and he asked us to pay the rent in advance.after receiving the amount the receptionist began to brief that there is a power cut from 0600am to 0800am and hot water will be available only from 1100pm night to 1100am next day morning in between there is a power cut also.he could have very well told us all those things before collecting the money .That was a crooked act from the staff part.
even then we agreed.we our self took all the luggage inside the room even the room boys came for help.After entering the room we found the bed sheet and pillow cover was not cleaned so we asked them to change it .by this time i kept my cannon digital camera worth Rs8400 on the table attached to the bed. an old lady and one boy came and replaced the old bed sheet and pillow cover while we were standing near the door talking to a small kid(some staffs kid).after changing the bed sheet the lady and the boy went back.after 10minutes i realized that my camera which i kept on the table was stolen.we complained it to the hotel authorities and they questioned the boy while the lady was gone home.hotel people said they don't know her house.we searched all around the place and we even asked the hotel staff to check our luggage but they refused to search.later we went out and came back to hotel at 0840 at that time the receptionist was telling that he went to the ladies house she do not take the camera.
the lady and the boy totally refused the offense.we told them we gave a petition in the police station just to frighten them actually we don't want to hurt anyone so we don't gave any petition.that incident spoiled all our happiness.
After two nights stay Thursday morning we got a call from reception to vacate the room check out time is 0900am.actually we checked in at Tuesday evening 0500pm and while check in receptionist told us 24 hours check in checkout so we had time left up to 0500pm.after creating some problem in the counter he agreed to give room up to 1200pm.we felt very sad and we checked out at that time itself.
we had some food from the hotel restaurant the price quoted in the menu was wrong so we had to pay more money .whatever food you have you should confirm the price with the restaurant people while you place the order because there are some discrepancies in the menu.
and when we checked out the receptionist had no intention to give the bills.we had to ask for the bill then only they gave it.
who ever is the the owner of this hotel you have to take necessary steps to avoid such situations at your hotel other wise it will affect your business.
apart from all those things mentioned above
rooms were very neat and clean we enjoyed sound sleep despite some rats noise came from the roof stp

  • Stayed March 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
4 Thank diyashaz
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hotelspringvalley, MD at Hotel Spring Valley, responded to this review, March 20, 2010
We are sorry to hear that you have lost your valuable camera. But unfortunately, you are trying to put blame on our staff. Most of our guest used to inform us to clean their room when they are going outside and we never got such complaints from anyone. In your case, you were nearby when our room service staff were changing the bedsheet and you were seeing when they left. Then how can you say it was stolen by our staff?

Also, you have personally interrogated our staffs and if you were not satisfied with their response you might have lodge complaint with the police. We strowngly believe that you have missed your camera somewhere before you reach our hotel and that is the reason you did not make any complaint. So, please dont put blame on others.

Regarding your other complaints please find below our response.
- As you know the power cut done by Tamil Nadu Electricity Board and we have no control on it. But we have UPS and generator as backup during night time.
- Our check-out time is 9:00 am irrespective of check-in time. Sometimes, we will allow late check-out without any extra charges, if the room is free.

Thank you for your appreciation regarding neatness and cleanliness of the rooms.
Report response as inappropriate
This response is the subjective opinion of the management representative and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Kodaikanal hotels

west Bengal
1 review
Reviewed February 28, 2010

Specially the sight seeing experience is awesome. The Travel assistant is very nice and helpful

  • Stayed February 2010, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank sanny21in
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
1 review
Reviewed February 16, 2010

Hi,
I have been stayed there for 2 days.... Rooms are very good... Though they will tell you there won't be hot water in between 11 AM to 11PM, You'll get hot water during that time (if you waster 2-3 buckets of water). The qualify of food is good in reasonable prices... They will arrange for CAB for sightseeing in a very cheap price when compare with the outside travels.... If you book a room they will call you in the previous day and inquire about your travel (they will arrange CAB if you want from the nearest station like Kodaikanal, Madurai...etc). Staff was very good and helpful.... Only thing is they won't accept credit card's at their hotel (but you can use while booking online).

City is awesome to visit.....

Just go there and Njoy the place....!!!!

- Mahi

  • Liked — Staff, Food
  • Disliked — Accepting Credit cards, Internet
  • Stayed November 2009, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank SreeMahi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
hyderabad
Level Contributor
22 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 9 helpful votes
Reviewed February 14, 2010

The best hotel one can get at the optimum charge of Rs 450. Although located little bit inside from the main road but the room conditions are extremely good which also provides scenic view of Kodaikanal city. The hotel staff is very friendly and the food at the restaurant is also very tasty and available at nominal price. Truely go for it if you have budget constraints and still want to enjoy your vactaion.

Stayed December 2009
Helpful?
Thank dr_reddy
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
chennai
1 review
Reviewed January 21, 2010

if u go with your friends we can enjoy a lot..food is bad,,,,, other than food everything is ok..

  • Stayed January 2010, traveled with friends
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank ASHOKPUPPYY
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Chennai
Level Contributor
5 reviews
4 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 3 helpful votes
Reviewed January 16, 2010

hotel room are quite spacious but food quality is not good in the hotel restaurent.

  • Liked — rooms are spacious
  • Disliked — food quality, most of the time we ordered food its quality is not good and its cold and we wait for long time to get it.
  • Stayed October 2009, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Check in / front desk
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
Thank swapn
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Travelers also viewed these Kodaikanal hotels
0.7 mi away
Royal Hotel
Royal Hotel
#25 of 76 in Kodaikanal
201 reviews
0.0 mi away
Hotel Gurupriya
Hotel Gurupriya
#41 of 76 in Kodaikanal
90 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel JC Grand
Hotel JC Grand
#61 of 76 in Kodaikanal
19 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
0.5 mi away
La Flora Highland Paradise Resort
0.8 mi away
Richwin Hotels
Richwin Hotels
#12 of 76 in Kodaikanal
225 reviews
0.7 mi away
Hotel Grand Palace
Hotel Grand Palace
#23 of 76 in Kodaikanal
165 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to Hotel Spring Valley? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about Hotel Spring Valley

Property: Hotel Spring Valley
Address: 25 Laws Ghat Road | Near Zion Matriculation School, Kodaikanal 624101, India
Location: India > Tamil Nadu > Dindigul District > Kodaikanal
Amenities:
Business Center with Internet Access Restaurant Room Service
Hotel Style:
Ranked #40 of 76 Hotels in Kodaikanal
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:2.5 star — Hotel Spring Valley 2.5*
Number of rooms: 22
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Hotel Spring Valley is one of the best budget hotel in Kodaikanal which offers a place for renewal and rejuvenation. Each room at Hotel Spring Valley is designed around the soothing, simple yet intricate patterns found in nature. Color, space and design converge to bring order and balance to an otherwise hurried world. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Priceline and Booking.com so you can book your Hotel Spring Valley reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing