We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Old world charm”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
Ranked #5 of 17 Chittaurgarh B&B and Inns
Reviewed January 15, 2013

Bassi fort palace hotel is located in the bylanes of Bassi village around 25 kms from Chittorgarh. Our first glimpse of the hotel from outside was that of a run down hotel and we were not expecting much. However, when we entered the courtyard, it was as if we were transported through time in another era...
The rooms were very spacious with an old world feel. As we had come from Jaipur after seeing the lifestyle of the royals, we could identify with the rooms which though not as grand as the Jaipur city palace, were definitely their lesser cousins... The bathrooms could use some renovation but overall the rooms were clean and neat.
What really tipped us in favour of this small getaway was the superb service we received from the staff... Excellent food where they indulged our request for authentic Rajasthani cuisine and served us daily with different Rajasthani specialities - right from appetizers to desserts.. The lovely ambience coupled with excellent service makes me recommend this place to people who want to experience history with peace of mind but without much frills.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank ReshDC
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review
Reviews (140)
Traveler rating
Traveler type
Time of year
Language

61 - 67 of 140 reviews

Reviewed January 11, 2013

This hotel is a little removed from the city. It is in a small village called Bassi. We wanted to reach early but somehome got delayed due to the roads. The rooms are large and nice. the palace has been renovated well and the family resides in the adjoining rooms. the breakfast was wonderful. Worth a 2 day peaceful stay.

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank rohitmb
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed January 4, 2013

The good part: The owners are apparently descendants of Rao Chunda (hence Chundawats), the magnanimous crown prince of Mewar who gave up his rights to the throne to honor his father's word to his step mother that his step brother would be king. They are real gracious hosts and will take real good care of you, regale you with family history, chat you up during breakfast etc. So you get to meet & greet, wine & dine with royalty of the region!

The bad part: The place is simply not what is touted on their website or their catalogue.

It is an old haveli which is not in the best of conditions. The furniture & decor is old & it's not the 'good' old. Everything, including the furniture, is painted in gaudy color coordinated patterns. There was dust on the furniture such as the side tables, the sofas in the foyer etc. The upholstery is not what you'd associate with luxury.

As you wander about the place, nothing gives you a sense of the claims on their website:

'Set picturesquely amid hills, the quiet luxury of the palace offers a retreat into an aesthetically beautiful environment. Its towering gates, domes, arches, corridors and Mahals takes one back to the Royal Magnificence of the past and the age of chivalry'

The expectations are set very high, but reality is much much humbler.

'Landscaped multilevel gardens with waterfall and sprawling lawns are very enchanting.' -

Only the backyard had any lawns. The open veranda is completely concrete and the initial landing (car park) is just mud. No waterfalls in the immediate vicinity.

There's construction material lying around possibly because of the swimming pool under construction which would be nice when completed. But it's in the middle of an artificial terrace cut into a rock without any nice backdrop or great views.

The whole property is set next to a village/shanty with a terrible approach road. Nothing to wander about into and discover a quaint bit of history/culture. There is very little fort.

The bathrooms are very basic with old fittings. Not at all pleasant or inviting. There was no heater in the room nor tea/coffee maker. There is no phone line provided to contact the reception/house keeping/room service.

At Rs.4000 a night, we were left feeling extremely short changed. Neither the decor nor the environs are pleasant/charming/quaint as claimed on their website! If you do decide to go based on their website/catalogue, please go with heavily discounted expectations of the place.

Stay: 3/Jan/13

  • Stayed: January 2013, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
3  Thank Woodface
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 22, 2012

I had booked royal deluxe suite double for 30th dec.2012 for 2n 3d package for they have send me the confirmation email on 15th dec.& on 21st dec.i am receiving an email saying that your confirmation was done by mistake & as we are totally sold out. This kind of resort management cannot survive long. I request to all visitors to avoid such places as they don't have any credibility. There should be some place where we can complain to take necessary actions to avoid such experience to anyone else.

Stayed: December 2012, traveled as a couple
Thank apal18
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 19, 2012

What a lovely quiet place to stay. A little difficult to find but worth it. The owners are very friendly and helpful. The evening meal in a moonlight courtyard was freshly made from local organic food and very delicious, especially the tomato dish. I found the rooms large and comfortable and had a good nights sleep in the quiet sleepy village away from the main highway.

Room Tip: We had a ground floor room which was fine
See more room tips
  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Thank dorothy k
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 12, 2012

The Bassi Fort Palace hotel sounds grand, but the accommodation is very basic. We have a Deluxe Suite- it is spacious with working AC. The hot water was plentiful with good pressure, but the shower head was very poor. The bed was uncomfortable because it was only hardwood with a thin piece of foam, not a real mattress. On our second day of our stay, the room was only cleaned at our repeated requests. The place is inefficiently and unprofessionally run by a woman who was the mayor of Bassi. In the evening the lights in the courtyard were lit, so offering a pleasant dining environment. Our first lunch was not good, but food improved at dinner after we requested insistently that we were served with authentic Indian food. Our stay in Bassi was disappointing. Bassi is not an interesting place to linger. We could have easily skipped it and gone straight to Udaipur.

  • Stayed: November 2012, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank Caroline D
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Reviewed December 6, 2012

A wonderful heritage property set out at Bassi – mere 20kms from Chittorgarh.
If you are looking for a calm holiday and have a plan to visit Chittor – you must stay at Bassi.
The property has a touch of old Rajasthani heritage – set out on a quite big area. The rooms are quite big and have Rajasthani paintings and touch in the same. Quite cozy and comfy.
The courtyard is big and nice. The backside has a nice garden.

They are coming up with a swimming pool which will be quite unique in its own way. Simply dip yourself in the pool – enjoy a drink or lemonade and get a 360 degree view of the surrounding hills and the fort while in the pool.

Coming to food – it’s delicious and mouth watering. A bit overpriced but again at such a remote place and with such ambiance – it’s compensated.
And above all the hospitality of Colonel Singh – the owner of the Property and his wife will make your stay a very memorable one.

Visit Chittorgarh from Bassi and get back to Bassi for the night stay. 1 or 2 night stay here with trips to surrounding places will be a nice experience - rather something different which you will cherish for a long time.

Room Tip: Rooms and Suite on the first floor are more better.
See more room tips
  • Stayed: December 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
1  Thank RajibSengupta_Kol
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
9.1 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
15.7 mi away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
152 reviews
14.4 mi away
Hotel Amrit Manthan
Hotel Amrit Manthan
#4 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
28 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
11.2 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
138 reviews
13.2 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
43 reviews
24.6 mi away
Ranbanka Heritage Resort
Ranbanka Heritage Resort
#1 of 5 in Bhilwara
69 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace

Address: P.O. Bassi, Chittaurgarh 312 022, India
Phone Number:
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #5 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chittaurgarh
Price Range: $34 - $44 (Based on Average Rates for a Standard Room)
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfolding the History of Chittorgarh: Chittorgarh is a city in Rajasthan which is located on the banks of river Gambhiri and Berach. The district was bifurcated and a new district namely Pratap Garh was created with certain portion taken from Udaipur district in the newly created district of Pratap Garh.This city of Chittorgarh is the epitome of pride, romance and spirit, for people of Chittor who always chose death before surrendering against anyone.WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is the epitome of the glorious history of the Chundawat clan. It was built way back in in the 16th century by Thakur Jaimal of the Sisodia dynasty, cousin of Maharana Pratap who is a distinct part of the history, founder of the Bassi principality. The 16th century WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is just a fleeting distance of 25 km from Chittorgarh. It is amidst the hills of the Vindhyachal ranges and makes a perfect break and an embrace of Hritage India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Hotwire, Agoda, Cancelon and TripOnline SA so you can book your WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassi Fort Palace Chittaurgarh
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing