We noticed that you're using an unsupported browser. The TripAdvisor website may not display properly.We support the following browsers:
Windows: Internet Explorer, Mozilla Firefox, Google Chrome. Mac: Safari.

“Needs Improvement”

Best prices for -
Check In mm/dd/yyyy Check Out mm/dd/yyyy
Prices are for 1 room, 2 adults
Show Prices
Compare best prices from top travel sites
and 2 more sites!
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
Ranked #4 of 17 Chittaurgarh B&B and Inns
Kelkheim
Level 2 Contributor
5 reviews
3 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 1 helpful vote
“Needs Improvement”
Reviewed February 9, 2012

Hotel is in Bassi and not in Chittorgarh as many links seem to indicate. Bassi is about 20 km away from Chittorgarh, direction Kota. In Bassi the driver need to watch out for the signs of the hotel carefully. It is difficult to find.
The Hotel is not in the old palace. It is a newer development on the side. Rooms are very colorful and bathrooms are typical Indian Standard.
Personnel has all intentions to deliver the best service as possible. But the possibilities are limited.
Food was good Indian standard.
It is a good hotel compared to all others in the area. Second only to Fort Bijaipur.

Room Tip: All rooms are good. Some are bigger than others but that does not make a big difference.
See more room tips
  • Stayed February 2012, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
1 Thank ToBoWi
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Write a Review

139 reviews from our community

Traveler rating
    35
    32
    29
    27
    16
See reviews for
44
54
7
3
Rating summary
  • Location
  • Sleep Quality
  • Rooms
  • Service
  • Value
  • Cleanliness
Traveler tips help you choose the right room.   Room tips (34)
Date | Rating
  • Dutch first
  • English first
  • French first
  • German first
  • Italian first
  • Any
English first
Bangkok, Thailand
Level 3 Contributor
16 reviews
12 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 17 helpful votes
Reviewed February 8, 2012

During March 2011 we had a business trip to one of Cement Factories at Chittaurgarh. We were a group of four including a foreigner. It was the first time for any of us to Visit Chittaurgarh so weren't really aware of the hotels in the city or nearby. Also the office Admin couldn't help much as Chittor is not place which is visited by many from my company.
After doing some Google search we found this place as it is marketed by ITC Welcome group.
Overall it located around 40kms from the Chittaurgarh (our work location) and is on a foothill in Bassi Village.
As you enter Bassi village, it is a typical village scene in India and for a moment you where we have landed up? But As you enter the hotel premises, you get a better feeling.
This hotel is an old family palace, a part of which is converted in to a hotel. People stay in other parts of the palace and structures are may be having their last breaths,
However the part which is been converted into the hotel is kind of refurbished. The reception, staff were very courteous. Now coming to the rooms, if you are looking at an experience of staying in a 200 year old property, it is not the full experience. As the old(actually 200 year old) part of the rooms are just the living area and the actual bedrooms are an extension of the old structure which is built recently with RCC walls and slab. The owners have tried hard to give the newly constructed rooms a heritage feeling with wide windows or 'Jharokas' and have painted the rooms in traditional Rajasthani culture.
Overall the rooms are quite big the cleanliness is above expectations.
Most amazing part of the stay was the food which is served in an open air garden.
The food quality was really good for dinner as well for breakfast. One of the important points is they serve alcohol til late night which infact is bonus in Rajasthan where you find it tough to get alcohol post 8pm.
The owner of the property is a retired defense professional and if you are lucky enough, you will have a drink together listening to the owner and history of the palace.
We stayed for three nights and due to our work schedules could not spend much time in the hotel but once we returned before 6pm to the hotel and were welcomed by a bunch of peacocks in the garden and this was an unforgettable experience. Let alone the foreigner with us, we being born and brought up in urban areas, it is delightful sight to walk into your home and are welcomed by such beatiful birds in their natural habitat.

Overall, the hotel really nice and value for money and would like to surely return to this hotel with friends and family.

Room Tip: Ask for Ratan Mahal
See more room tips
  • Stayed March 2011, traveled on business
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
3 Thank Rohan87
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Bengaluru, India
Level 3 Contributor
13 reviews
5 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed January 29, 2012

Situated in the village Bassi , this small palace hotel is just at the foot of the hill where the fort stands. Its main attraction is ofcourse its old-world charm , we were excited to get the garland -tilak welcome and the tasty jaljeerah welcome drink.
The room and the entire courtyard displayed real rajasthani culture with different paintings and old model furnitures. The room was big and very neatly kept. Our food was prepared fresh and simple and tasted excellent .Both veg and non-veg food were served.Though unlike in big hotels,we did not get a menu with a long list -to choose from, we thoroughly enjoyed the authentic taste as well as freshness of dal, different veg fries and chicken curry.
We had the supper served outdoor which was again a very pleasant experience. When we got up in the morning we could hear a call from a peacock and my son was thrilled to seethe beautiful one- so near on the terrace.
As we had taken our car ,travelling to chittorgarh and the sightseeing in bassi village was not a problem. There is an old temple and a pond with steps built all around it in bassi village itself.Bassi is famous for painted wooden toys which portrays ramayana and other epics on them.
The service was good .The entire atmosphere was one of serene beauty & peace and help you to relax and experience a travelling back to a different era , though for a shortwhile.

Room Tip: Our room was on the very front side with a long verandah on the ground floor.It was very good.
See more room tips
  • Stayed October 2011, traveled with family
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank bpal71
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
York, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
149 reviews
45 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 121 helpful votes
Reviewed January 14, 2012

I stayed here out of season and more or less had the place to myself. The palace is lovely and the rooms, thoough a bit dark are traditionally decoratedand very atmospheric. Food is excellent and traditional but I would reccomend insisting on eating on the veranda or terrace as the dining room is gloomy and hot!

I have to say, the hospitality I expereinced here was some of the best I have ever had in India. I got chatting to one of the family who own the palace and ended up being taken on a personal tour of the village with its temples and the Gaitor (burial ground) of the ruling family.

I couldn't have wished for more! And I paid less than 3000INR for two days.

Room Tip: I cant imagine there is a truly bad room, they all seem to be quite dark, but that was a blessing in...
See more room tips
  • Stayed May 2011, traveled solo
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Yorkie1970
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Kuwait City, Kuwait
Level 6 Contributor
102 reviews
22 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 40 helpful votes
Reviewed December 29, 2011

This is perhaps late to write. We visited Rajasthan, India in Sep-Oct 2009 and stayed for 1 night at this palace turned hotel partially. The owners still live in their quarters on upper floors.The amenities here are very basis - there is TV though. The staff was cooperative and the food served was quite authentic. It is far away from the town and one must have a vehicle for convinience. There is a small market to cater to the locals. We had an evening tea with the owner couple and had a good time, one of whom was also the villiage head at municipal level, then. Overall it was OK but one must not expect a lot from the place or the hotel. Good for a little adventure.

Room Tip: Choose the room which is at the leftmost corner as you enter.
See more room tips
  • Stayed September 2011, traveled as a couple
    • Value
    • Location
    • Sleep Quality
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
2 Thank Navraj07
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
1 review
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 5 helpful votes
Reviewed December 20, 2011

bassi fort is good place i visit fort 12/11/2011.fort owner is like chipku fort owner co. Randheer singh is good but randheer .fort staff is very good . Room is very good and new manager narendra is good and very kind and he is very honest .i forget my mobile in my room. He call my driver and give mobile.thanks narendra

  • Stayed November 2011
    • Value
    • Location
    • Rooms
    • Cleanliness
    • Service
Helpful?
5 Thank chachal
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.

Travelers are raving about these Chittaurgarh hotels

Show Prices
Show Prices
London, United Kingdom
Level 6 Contributor
108 reviews
107 hotel reviews
common_n_hotel_reviews_1bd8 84 helpful votes
Reviewed December 7, 2011

Bassi Fort Palace looks very impressive in its hillside location above the village of Bassi, and the courtyard in which one arrives and where one eats is very pleasant. The hotel is easy to reach from Chittaurgarh – save for the last km or so through Bassi village, the road is good and fast. The hotel will arrange a pickup – but we would recommend reminding them on the day to ensure they do not forget.

The staff are friendly, but poorly organised, so this is not a very satisfactory place in which to stay. The rooms are full of character, but not well maintained (and not too clean). The bedding did not fit the bed. The electricity supply failed several times in the evening, with noticeable voltage reductions between the power cuts; there was no backup power in our room. The aircon unit was small for the size of our room, which would have been a problem had the weather been hotter. The plumbing did not work well - there was no hot water while we were there, and no water at all when we got up. It took two requests to get towels; despite two requests, we never got soap.

The hotel is building a swimming pool; the money would have been far better spent on the rooms and staff training! With such investment the hotel could be really good.

Stayed November 2011, traveled as a couple
Helpful?
Thank MSDSK
This review is the subjective opinion of a TripAdvisor member and not of TripAdvisor LLC.
Hotels you might also like...
Also consider these accommodations in or near Chittaurgarh
9.1 mi away
Justa Lake Nahargarh Palace, Chittorgarh Resort
15.4 mi away
Fort Begu
Fort Begu
#1 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
147 reviews
10.1 mi away
RnB Chittorgarh
RnB Chittorgarh
#2 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
126 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices
13.2 mi away
The Elegance Resort
The Elegance Resort
#3 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
37 reviews
13.5 mi away
Hotel Meera
Hotel Meera
#7 of 10 in Chittaurgarh
54 reviews
8.5 mi away
Castle Bijaipur
Castle Bijaipur
#1 of 34 in Chittaurgarh
244 reviews
Show Prices
Show Prices
Show Prices

Been to WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace? Share your experiences!

Write a Review Add Photos & Videos

Additional Information about WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace

Property: WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace
Address: P.O. Bassi, Chittaurgarh 312 022, India
Location: India > Rajasthan > Chittorgarh District > Chittaurgarh
Amenities:
Fitness Center with Gym / Workout Room Free Parking Children Activities (Kid / Family Friendly) Restaurant Room Service Spa Swimming Pool Airport Transportation
Hotel Style:
Ranked #4 of 17 B&Bs / Inns in Chittaurgarh
Price Range (Based on Average Rates): $
Hotel Class:3 star — WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace 3*
Number of rooms: 15
Official Description (provided by the hotel):
Unfolding the History of Chittorgarh: Chittorgarh is a city in Rajasthan which is located on the banks of river Gambhiri and Berach. The district was bifurcated and a new district namely Pratap Garh was created with certain portion taken from Udaipur district in the newly created district of Pratap Garh.This city of Chittorgarh is the epitome of pride, romance and spirit, for people of Chittor who always chose death before surrendering against anyone.WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is the epitome of the glorious history of the Chundawat clan. It was built way back in in the 16th century by Thakur Jaimal of the Sisodia dynasty, cousin of Maharana Pratap who is a distinct part of the history, founder of the Bassi principality. The 16th century WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort is just a fleeting distance of 25 km from Chittorgarh. It is amidst the hills of the Vindhyachal ranges and makes a perfect break and an embrace of Hritage India. ... more   less 
Reservation Options:
TripAdvisor is proud to partner with Cancelon, Agoda, TripOnline SA and Hotwire so you can book your WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace reservations with confidence. We help millions of travelers each month to find the perfect hotel for both vacation and business trips, always with the best discounts and special offers.
Also Known As:
Bassi Fort Palace Chittaurgarh
WelcomHeritage Bassi Fort Palace India/Rajasthan - Chittaurgarh

Is This Your TripAdvisor Listing?

Own or manage this property? Claim your listing for free to respond to reviews, update your profile and much more.

Claim Your Listing